We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Palmanova

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Viva Palmanova to your Saves list
Viva Palmanova
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Ca's Saboners s/n, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Went for a week AI and had a great time. We have stayed at the Viva Hotels before and we were not disappointed with this one. The rooms were excellent, clean and large enough for a family of 4. We were just a couple so plenty space for the 2 of us.
On our arrival we got towels for the pool and key for the safety deposit box in the room, these are paid for at check in. The staff treated all guests as if they were special, they worked some hours but still always had smile on their faces.
I would recommend this hotel for couples and families alike.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    108
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
224
65
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Mearns, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just 20 minutes by taxi from the airport, check in was quick and easy. Our room, a standard one had a double bed room, with space for a single bed for our toddler, a bathroom, lounge/kitchen/dinner and a balcony overlooking the middle of the hotel (pool, stage etc). It was very clean. We stayed on an all inclusive basis, with breakfast and dinner fairly standard holiday buffets of good quality, lunch was a la carte and with plenty on offer my highlight. The drinks on at AI were plentiful and not restricted to local only. We did almost no queueing.

The pools (4 outside) were excellent, our nearly 3 year old loved the kids pool with pirate ship and 9 slides! There was always sun beds available. My only criticism of the whole holiday was the smoking around the childrens pool that was ignored but the staff even with signs up clearly saying no smoking. I don't like the fact many parents smoked over their children but I really disliked them smoking over mine.

The evening was dominated by childrens entertainment which was enjoyed by all of them! The girls that provided this were energetic and made the kids evenings, our son didn't join them by day but I'm sure they were equally good then as well.

We don't generally return to the same place but this holiday was so hassle free we may well be tempted in early summer next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here 23rd to 31st Aug and fell in love with the place! It took minutes to check in and when we got to our room we had big smiles on our faces! We had one of the royal terrace apartments on the top floor - wow. It was clean and beautifully laid out. It was me, my fiancé and our 3 year old son and it was perfect. Our son slept in the bedroom and myself and my fiancé slept on the sofa bed in the living room which was no problem, very comfy! There was a modern kitchen area which we never used as we were all inclusive. Then up the stairs in the apartment to our own private terrace complete with jacuzzi and Bali bed! The hotel itself was very well laid out and was completely orientated towards children, which was just what we were looking for. Our son spent most of the holiday in the pirate kids pool and the playground, both of which were fantastic. The only thing I would say about the pool was that it would have been nice to have been heated, also there was a couple of pieces of equipment in the playground that needed replaced due to being broken, but didn't stop our son having fun! The food was delicious and extremely varied, we eat like kings every day. I loved that the glass bottle of coke with dinner were included in the all inclusive, and the jack Daniels for the evening entertainment! The only issue we had was after our 1st night, we went to go to bed and realised the cleaners had taken our duvet that we were using for the sofa bed! It was 1130pm, I phoned reception and she was very helpful, and within 20 minutes the manager came to our door with a brand new duvet still in the packaging! Overall a lovely hotel that gave us all a 1st class holiday, would love to return!

Room Tip: Royal terrace apartment, may be more expensive but 100% worth it. All the royal terrace room overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Great for families with small children, patio rooms on ground floor great with big sunbeds and table with chairs. Nice bathrooms, separate bedroom and living room. Working kitchenette. Pool area, activities and entertainment very nice. Did not have all inclusive but hotel restaurant served good food. Free self service laundry.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the Viva this year from 21st-31st August on an All Inclusive basis. Walking into the hotel you can see immediately it is beautiful and well maintained and looks amazing. The grounds and décor are all fantastic and it is spacial with lots of lift/stair access to all the different levels. It took us about 5 minutes to get checked in and the reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room was away from the entertainment area overlooking the car park but there were still 4 different exit routes (stairs & lifts) to get to the dining room/pool and bar all accessible within a couple of minutes depending which one you needed. The rooms are cleaned 5 days of the week and there are hotel towels available so you needn't bother taking your own which we did and took up space un necessarily! We checked in at 11.10am and were at the pool by 11.20 with loungers available. We had a 2 year old and 5 year old with us who absolutely loved the pool/play areas and it was the 1st holiday we've let our 5 year old just go off to the stage/entertainment bit/park or middle size pool (chest height for a 5 year old) without worrying as you could easily see him from most angles or know where he was depending on what the kids club were doing - the kids club entertainers were amazing, they treat all the kids equally and even let our 2 year old play the mini games etc even though the age starts from 4 - she loved being part of it! The girls absolutely earned their money working from early morning until late and keeping the kids AND adults busy. There are exercise classes, aqua aerobics and pool games for all ages.

We could not believe the variety of the food on offer from ordering fresh from the menu at lunch time or going to the buffet which also had 'show cooking' where the chef made it for you on request. We never had a bad meal and there was always a wide variety and plenty of it! The drinks come in large or small and there is no question if you want to take 5 or 6 away unlike some hotels which limit you to one or 2 per person. The alcoholic beverages were also a positive point - passionfruit cocktails in the hot weather for a little treat are a must!!

The evening entertainment starts off with the kids discos and handing out certificates/t-shirt paintings/medals and adult games medals then follows with a different show each night from about 9.15pm. When the show starts the entertainers are usually around to do things with the kids such as make bracelets, watch a movie inside or paint faces which is nice so you can relax and enjoy the show!! After the show the entertainers get the kids back up to dance the club songs and then that finishes about 10.30pm but the bar is open til midnight and they hang about chatting to the kids and parents.

We didn't really feel the need to venture out because of the standard of the hotel being so good but on a couple of days we went to he beach and just ordered take away food to take with us which they make for you and put in sealed containers, that and a few bottles of water and you needn't spend any money!

We did the glass bottom boat which coz about 40 euros for the 4 of us and lasted 2 hours. You get the chance to jump off and swim half way so take a snorkel and you'll see some lovely fish!

We went to the western water park for one day which was about a 20minute walk from the hotel, or you get free travel when you buy tickets from a ticket office. I will say don't bother hiring the rings - there are plenty available on the rides and we didn't really use ours much so wasted the money hiring them. Also TAKE YOUR OWN FOOD!! We left before the takeaway service started at he hotel so didn't get a packed lunch and it cost us 29 euros for 2 hamburgers and chips and 2 kids hot dog meals and that was without drinks! (Our fault for not making a packed lunch though).

Overall, this is the best holiday we have had together as a family. It cost a bit more than we usually spend but in hindsight was worth every penny and just goes to show you get what you pay for. Anyone who leaves a bad review for this place needs to take a closer look at what they're complaining about as every holiday will have its minor flaws but even though we didn't encounter any, I know they would have been dealt with efficiently and apologetically. They get 5 out of 5 from us and we will most definitely be returning to a Viva hotel next year :)

Room Tip: The rooms facing the entertainment will probably be the noisiest with the bar not closing until midn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hotel - my 7 year old words when entering the lobby "wow we must be rich", however on entering the room he said "oh no we aren’t". The hotel and grounds were lovely, but we had paid extra for a privilege garden room which was not worth any extra money, the room was clean but very small, the grass was all patchy, the room was dated, in my opinion an ok 3* standard.

Room - The room was 3001 and this was the problem, we were next to the hotel downstairs lobby and communal area, so everyone walking past could look into our room, moreover everyone would smoke outside this area which was not pleasant when having our breakfast or lunch outside on the patio. We complained when we arrived but there were no other garden rooms available until the last 2 days of our holiday, later we complained again and in fairness to the management they offered to change our room to a higher floor albeit this would be a downgrade, they therefore offered us half board as compensation. This was a good offer from the management but instead we decided to check out. This was not the fault of the hotel but mainly because the area was not to our liking. Instead we choose to book into a hotel in Palma City for the rest of the holiday which was beautiful.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone who likes Palmanova as it is probably a good standard hotel for the area. We did not like Palmanova, there was only one decent restaurant which we found which was called the Port O'Call.

The hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the beach and 15 mins to the centre of Palmanova, it is more on the boarder of Magaluf which is chav tastic !

Sorry we can't say anything better about this hotel but just didn't suit us as a family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hotel has a lovely swimming pool set in the middle of the grounds, along with an adults only pool and a fun pool for the children. Play area also for the children suitable for all age groups. Hotel is centrally located and a short walk to the beach, bars & restaurants. Grounds were immaculate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viva Palmanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Palmanova

Address: Avda Ca's Saboners s/n, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Viva Palmanova 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 20 kilometres from Palma lies the magnificent tourist resort of Palmanova. And in its centre, just 200 metres from its magnificent beaches, Viva Palmanova Aparthotel can be found. Recently renovated, this establishment is the best choice for families and couples seeking maximum comfort, a full range of amenities and great entertainment for all. Viva Palmanova has three different swimming pools: a general pool with a large sun terrace, a children’s pool with water games and a Pirate Boat, and an exclusive chill-out pool with Balinese sunbeds. Also the Viva Palmanova boasts a complete range of sports and leisure facilities: sports ground, gym, indoor pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, children’s playground, and recreational games, while an abundant and varied cuisine can be enjoyed in any of its restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Viva Palmanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Palmanova Palma Nova
Viva Palma Nova
Viva Palmanova Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Palmanova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.