We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viva Palmanova delivers again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Palmanova

Save Saved
You added Viva Palmanova to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Viva Palmanova
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Ca's Saboners s/n, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Viva Palmanova delivers again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My family and I spent a week in the Viva Palmanova and had a wonderful time. The staff are excellent, from the lifeguard who kept a discreet eye on our 3 year old when he decided to change pools without telling us to the restaurant staff who were so friendly and helpful.

Overall, the good points:
Very family orientated, great facilities for children (and for adults if they have the time to use them!)
Excellent food quality and variety for buffet.
Good location with shops, supermarkets, bars and restaurants nearby.
Close to the beach (unless you have a buggy, very frustrating to be so close but to have to go the long way due to steps).
Good standard hotel, especially when you see the competition nearby.
Very good environmental policy and set-up.
Mini disco for the kids is great, we're still singing that BUFO song...

The bad points:
The balcony doors are locked by simply pushing them shut. We were horrified to see this as the parents could lock themselves out on the balcony after the kids had gone to bed (or any other time). We had to be incredibly careful not to shut the door fully, but it would be a nightmare if you did so accidentally. Also, by having the door open, the air con would stop, so when the kids were sleeping and the adults enjoying quiet time on the balcony, the apartment was heating up.

Wifi, freely available in the lobby area, but once you stepped outside this area, nothing. It would be great to see them extend it to the seating area outside at least.

Cleanliness; we were a little disappointed with the standard of cleaning throughout the inside of the hotel (outside was fine). Upon arrival in our room, our baby crawled around to explore and when we picked him up his hands and feet were filthy. Not a good sign, floors were swept clean but not washed it seemed. We also saw food on the floors in the dining area that was obviously from the last meal (cornflakes at dinner time, and again the next day). Somebody in a position of responsibility needs to check this job more thoroughly.

Overall we would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel, but certainly think there is room for improvement.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    100
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
214
58
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savonlinna
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent a fabulous week at the Viva Palmanova hotel in early June this year (my review comes a bit late, I know). We were me, my wife, our 8yo daughter and my wife's brother. None of us could really find anything significant to complain about. Well, the only thing would be the noisy late night program of the neighbouring hotel (can't remember its name). Our rooms were facing that direction, and every other night we would be stay wake until after midnight because of the loud music they played there. But that didn't spoil our vacation.

We had all inclusive and the buffet food was great, not too repetitive. We loved having lunch at the pool bar, order whatever we wanted from the list and everything was free of charge. :) Be warned though; if you want to eat your evening buffet outside at the terrace, you're entering an a la carte area and have to pay for everything you order, even with all inclusive. We were unaware of this until the moment we began to order, and at that point it would have been too embarrassing to leave. It's a bit nasty that you can't eat your evening buffet meal outside as the indoor restaurant tends to get quite hot and noisy when filled with people... but this didn't spoil our vacation either. :)

The hotel facilities are lovely! Great pool area with a luxury pool for adults only with no kids screaming. Our daughter simply loved the 0,9m pool - had it been her up to her she wouldn't have got out of it. The staff is friendly and have a good sense of humour everywhere around the hotel. Rooms were spacious with air conditioning. Palma Nova is quite your typical tourist centre, but not annoyingly much so. It was nice to walk along the beach and enjoy the hot weather. The beach - actually there are three of them in the Palma Nova area - is very clean and so is the water. I don't remember swimming in such a clear sea water before!

Only one thing made us sad at the end of the week - why didn't we spend two weeks?? This was one of the best holidays ever!

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the noisy night program of the neighbouring hotel, request a room from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Firstly this is a family hotel that despite having a spa and adult area is very much geared towards those with children! you have been warned... they have thought of everything - ikea style plastic cutlery etc if you want it for those with younger children, lifeguard, splash pools etc.

The hotel is very clean, we upgraded our room to a roof terrace with hot tub, we had an issue with the hot tub being a little cool and were reimbursed fully the cost of the upgrade - they could not offer us an alternative as they were all booked. That said the rooms were adequate, a super king bed with a sofa style bed and pull out bed in the lounge area. If we could have asked for one thing in the room it would have been an english speaking tv channel.

We also went for the AI option as this has proven more convenient in the past with having two children aged 8 and 9 years, it affords a degree of freedom for them when ordering drinks and ice creams etc. The food was of a good standard and catered for all appetites. The alcoholic cocktails were made with named brands and very strong!

The whole hotel and facilities is set in a fenced area and we felt able to let our children decide where they were going to play - the ship style water pool, football pitch, mini golf, park area or the main outdoor pool area, this was the least favourite of their choice as it was cold! The indoor pool however was heated it just lacked atmosphere!

Palma Nova has some great beaches, unfortunately it lacks any culture or atmosphere whatsoever - we knew this and used the hotel for what it offered and really didn't venture out. If you like English style bars with 'Only Fools and Horses' being screened then put it to the top of your list!

The staff work hard to please and the management are very much involved in the day to day running of the place, everyone we encountered were friendly and receptive to children. Would I go back? No, however I would recommend this hotel if you want a family holiday with a short transfer.. I would however visit one of the other Viva hotels in the north of the Island.

Top tip - book your return transfers with Gulitrans (info@galitransmallorca.com)

Room Tip: Either book a room on the ground floor which is pool facing - this will give you a small garden area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from a visit to the Viva Palmanova Hotel (myself, my mum & my 7 yr old daughter) and have had a really great time. We had a self catering apartment, which was quite well equipped. It had a microwave, 2 hobs, cutlery, bottle opener, washing up liquid and they even left a bottle of water in the fridge for our arrival! The reception staff are lovely, as are the restaurant and cleaning staff, very polite and helpful. The entertainment was good and the kids club didn't start too early, 8pm. The pool area is stunning, and has great equipment for children of all ages. I would definitely like to go again and will be trying all inclusive next time. I can't think of anything negative only the man with the noisy leaf-blowing machine going past outside at 6am! There weren't even any leaves on the pavement! Apart from that, a fabulous week was had by all!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the road can be noisy with bin collections etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nice apartments with space enough for 2 adults and 2 children. Clean and nice hotel and friendly staff. Nice outside area with several pools and facilitis7activities for the children.
The beach was only 3 minutes walk away and plenty of restaurants in walking distance. October was nice and quite and the weather was still sunny and warm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland,england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Me,my partner and our 1 year old stayed here for a week in September. I would highly recommend this hotel.
From the moment we walked into reception we were greeted by the friendly staff who were also happily greeted my son.
We booked the royal terrace room and it is amazing!good size living room with kitchen and small dining table.We were welcomed by complementary champagne and fruit. Up on the terrace area was sofas and dining table with a louger bed with a jacuzzi tub.
The hotel is brilliant for kids with a kids pool & slides,a play area with slide,trampoline & bouncy castle.
The location is close to the beach,shops,restaraunts etc.
We were all inclusive & the food was gorgeous with a brilliant choice for kids (also kids plastic bowls & cutlery etc)
Overall I would suggest you book this hotel and pay that little extra for the terrace room which needs to be booked direct with the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

just spent one week here , the best hotel we have been in ,my 4 year old son loved it great for kids the staff were top class,rooms very clean,food very good ,the kids club and entertainment were excellent,nice friendly people,will go back next year .......

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viva Palmanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Palmanova

Address: Avda Ca's Saboners s/n, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viva Palmanova 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 20 kilometres from Palma lies the magnificent tourist resort of Palmanova. And in its centre, just 200 metres from its magnificent beaches, Viva Palmanova Aparthotel can be found. Recently renovated, this establishment is the best choice for families and couples seeking maximum comfort, a full range of amenities and great entertainment for all. Viva Palmanova has three different swimming pools: a general pool with a large sun terrace, a children’s pool with water games and a Pirate Boat, and an exclusive chill-out pool with Balinese sunbeds. Also the Viva Palmanova boasts a complete range of sports and leisure facilities: sports ground, gym, indoor pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, children’s playground, and recreational games, while an abundant and varied cuisine can be enjoyed in any of its restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Viva Palmanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Palmanova Palma Nova
Viva Palma Nova
Viva Palmanova Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Palmanova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.