We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute bargain!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ponent Mar

Save Saved
You added Ponent Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ponent Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   CL Marques de la Torre 9 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolute bargain!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

When we booked this hotel, we thought.... 'There must be a catch'. At less than £90 each for 3 nights there had to be.

But no, amazing for what we paid. Very impressed with pool area, hotel, location and apartment. Little supermarket downstairs was fab! The view from the pool terrace was breathtaking.

Reception staff very helpful, was able to shower downstairs in the inside pool before going to airport home, do able to relax in sun for last day!

Only one down side, beds very uncomfortable, so solid. Had a sore neck for first 30 mins everyday. But this wouldn't stop me from coming again!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    85
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
92
64
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for 4 days at the Ponent Mar and can honestly say it was a pleasure We had apartment 431 It was spacious, comfortable and clean. The location is amazing with fabulous with sea views and a cove for swimming in the sea. The pool area was a little noisy with young children but that was not an issue because there are 3 terraces you can escape to where the noise can not be heard. No need to take your beach towels as you can hire them for 1 euro per day which was ideal for us as we were there on a mini break. Food and service in the al a carte restaurant was excellent. You are a stroll away from the bars, shops and restaurants of Palma Nova. Lovely hotel would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have recently stayed at the Ponent Mar and have no complaints at all. It was a girls holiday for 6 but we wanted to stay outside of Magaluf as we didn't want to be close to the noise and shenanigans of the strip. The hotel was so chilled and there were lots of families around - perfect for relaxing but not recommended if you want a crazy, lively hotel. Only 20 minutes away from the airport and a 25-30 minute walk to the Magaluf strip (or a €6 taxi). The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, everything was very clean and I would definitely recommend it! Amazing views, very close to the beach, a lovely pool area and a generally lovely atmosphere! I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Lots of lovely restaurants very close buy and amazing value for money. We were self catered and found the kitchenette areas to be very well equipped with toasters and kettles etc. I also felt safe the entire time as there was 24h security. All in all very impressed with the Ponent Mar, I cannot praise it enough.

Room Tip: I requested a refurbished room and it was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been going to the restaurant for years. 20E per person all you can eat and great food.
We have been going for 20 years and it was ideal when the kids were younger.
Avoid Wed and Friday
We really like this place and great for kids.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed from the 15/6/14 to 30/6/14. This was my first visit to Ponent Mar after it being recommended to me by an elderly couple who regularly frequent this hotel.

On arrival we were greeted by Mona, who was very welcoming and helpful with any questions we had. Mona, along with other reception staff (Gabriel, Jordi and others) were always so happy to help and any issues we had were solved with no problems whatsoever which gave my partner and I great peace of mind.

Our room was on the "inside" of the hotel, facing the pool. We had spectacular views from our room although large trees just outside our balcony meant for little direct sunlight, not a big deal though as we were out of the room most of the day.

We ordered room service once which was lovely, quickly brought up to our room and tasted fab. We also ate in the poolside restaurant twice, towards the end of our stay, regrettably because the food was so delicious we wish we'd have been earlier! We tried a burger, a pizza and roast chicken and all were spot on.

One thing I really liked about Ponent Mar was the fact that people aren't queueing up at silly o' clock to reserve sunbeds leaving you with nowhere to go. Ponent Mar doesn't allow sunbeds to be reserved which was such a breathe of fresh air because all hotels I've previously stayed at never had any spare sunbeds because of people getting up at the crack of dawn to reserve sunbeds only to go back to bed till God knows when!

The pool is a good size so there's always room in there even at the busiest points of the day.

It is very easy to spend a day at the hotel with a fair few things to do there, such as sunbathing, going in the pool, playing pool/table tennis, using the hotels free wi-fi (in public places) to going down to the hotels own rock beach for peace and quiet or a dip in the water. They also showed a lot of World Cup games which was a huge plus!

On departure day we didn't leave for the airport until the evening but were able to leave our luggage in the luggage room and continue to use the hotels facilities and were given towels to use the hotels showers before we left which was great.

Negatives:

Nothing major, just a few little bits.

The in-room Wi-Fi was quite weak the further away from the door you got, becoming very slow on the balcony, not a big deal, just would have been nice if it was slightly stronger.

Only allowed in the pool until 7pm - I was quite disappointed with this because I'd have liked to be able to go in the pool later on in the evening when it was much quieter.


Aside from them two very minor points, I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Ponent Mar and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone! I will definitely be returning, thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy County, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 10 nights from 20/06/2014 in superior studio with sea view.
This was our 7th stay at the hotel we have stayed in all apartments and would recommend paying a little extra and going for the superior apartments or studios with sea view.
I think first impressions go a long way in all walks of life and this hotel creates a great impression from the moment you arrive the staff are all familiar faces to us now and the continuity of staff is always a good sign in any business.
The reception staff are all friendly and very helpful mona Gabriel and yordi is always especially helpful and I must mention all the other staff cleaners bar and restaurant workers
who are all highly trained in customer services.
Spent most of are holiday chilling out at the hotel the hotels own rock beach and bay are great for snorkelling.
There are good sunbathing facilities around the pool and table tennis and pool table facilities as well the pool is a great size and there is always plenty of room for a dip.
There is a quieter terrace area to sunbathe as well if you need to chill out.
The hotels food is excellent value and of a very high standard.
There are good beaches restaurants and bars within a 5 min walk from the hotel and an excellent supermarkets the mercidonia 10 mins from the hotel.
I will guarantee you will not be disappointed with this hotel we are hoping to return in September.
Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had superior studio on bottom level. 12 nights last 2 weeks of May. My son and I snorkelled almost every day. We fired air rifles and pistol shooting on the roof with Angie twice a week.Lots of sockets in room for gadgets remember 2 pin adapters. Washing machine next to gym by indoor pool below reception, shop also and ask reception if you want to use sauna,

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
Romantic, Beach...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Viva Palmanova
Viva Palmanova
#2 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
City Center, Lu...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca
Suites, Pool, F...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis
Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis
#6 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quiet, Suites...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Quiet, Pool, Mi...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#3 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Luxury, Beach...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Sol beach house Cala Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponent Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponent Mar

Address: CL Marques de la Torre 9 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ponent Mar 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Ponent Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponent Mar Palma Nova
Ponent Mar Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponent Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.