We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Girlie Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ponent Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ponent Mar to your Saves list
Ponent Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   CL Marques de la Torre 9 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Blackpool Lancashire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fab Girlie Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My Daughter and 3 Friends stayed at the Ponent Mar for Three nights. They all said they had a wonderful time. They loved the location as it was in a quieter part of Palma Nova but still with nice bars and nice places to eat. They were self catering but enjoyed food on offer around the pool at Lunchtime. They also had great flights from Blackpool Airport with Jet 2

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    93
    25
    9
    2
See reviews for
99
73
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week in Ponent Mar. Paid for a sea view apartment and got one overlooking the swimming pool aswell as the sea. Staff friendly, rooms are a little outdated as is common in Spain. The only gripe was that there were no where near enough plug sockets, just two spare behind the TV, which were quite well hidden. As someone already mentioned a kettle, microwave and toaster are now in all rooms, but with so little plug sockets (none in the kitchen) there wasn't really anywhere to plug them in. Kitchen had adequate utensils for cooking simple stuff, air con worked well, rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels and sheets etc. Hotel is situated on a small incline but nothing too challenging. The food at the pool side cafe was very hit and miss, i had a salad which was lovely but my husband had a burger which looked and tasted like a very poor quality frozen burger. We paid for breakfast one day and it was just OK, would have been disappointed if had gone bed and breakfast. Location just down the road from Palmanova's main strip. Few things going on in the hotel for both kids and adults (if you like that sort of thing, we don't) like a water gym session in the pool, spanish dancers performing etc. Overall we were quite pleased with the hotel and are thinking of going back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week in Ponent Mar. Paid for a sea view apartment and got one overlooking the swimming pool aswell as the sea. Staff friendly, rooms are a little outdated as is common in Spain. The only gripe was that there were no where near enough plug sockets, just two spare behind the TV, which were quite well hidden. As someone already mentioned a kettle, microwave and toaster are now in all rooms, but with so little plug sockets (none in the kitchen) there wasn't really anywhere to plug them in. Kitchen had adequate utensils for cooking simple stuff, air con worked well, rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels and sheets etc. Hotel is situated on a small incline but nothing too challenging. Good location just down the road from Palmanova's main strip. Few things going on in the hotel for both kids and adults (if you like that sort of thing, we don't) like a water gym session in the pool, spanish dancers performing etc. Overall we were quite pleased with the hotel and are thinking of going back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Visited the Ponent Mar with my husband and 3 children , aged 16,10 and 12 . We booked a superior sea view self catering apartment for the five of us .
The room was nicely decorated with good quality fittings and very clean ,it had one bedroom and an open plan kitchen and sitting room with three sofa beds (one of the beds at the side of the kitchen breakfast bar ) a bit cramped and not suitable for 5 people .
The kitchen was very unfunctional a small fridge and sink with no draining board and not enough cupboards to store food in .As other tripadvisors have mentioned yes you now may get a microwave and toaster and kettle ( no kettle for us ) but there are no plugs apart from one on the breakfast bar which was taken up by the microwave so everytime you want a cuppa or toast you have to wait and mess about unplugging all the items , very frustrating and dangerous .
maybe you could use the bedroom plugs to plug in your kettle ,but rather not .
Our apartment (more of a room )for 3 or 4 people in my opinion was on the ground floor and had a nice terrace/
balcony which did overlook the sea apart from a large conifer that interrupted our view slightly.
here we had two chairs and a sunbed ( again not enough chairs for five had we wanted to sit out and eat on our balcony .?
The bathroom was ok , modern and clean but beware you have to breathe in to get into the shower its a glass door which im not sure which way its meant to open ,and when you finally get in the shower its powerful but the shower tray is so shallow it floods the bathroom !
all in all I have to say we paid over £2000 euros for a room only basis and we didn't feel this was good value for money .
However the hotel has many good features , The pool area is nice (however same old problem with the reserving of sunbeds from 7am every morning ) but we always managed to get a couple late morning.
There are a few nice terraces to sunbathe on too away from the pool so its nice and quiet .
The hotel provides entertainment on an evening which is low key but just nice
also water polo and aqua gym three times a week .
We ate in the restaurant a couple of evenings and the food was very good ,we had the international buffet which I would highly recommend .
The hotel has a small supermarket on the ground floor which is great for essentials like big bottles of water and drinks etc
There is an eroski supermarket just down the hill about a 5 min walk but its well stocked and you can get everything you need there ,also a really big hypermarket near the hotel son caliu about the same distance as the eroski ,this is great and very well stocked of fresh produce and bread
.
The staff I found to be professional and mostly friendly at the hotel..

We had a late flight home and the hotel has a check out time of 12 noon we were a couple of minutes late as we were getting our bags together but were reminded by a knock on the door and a lady with a walky talkie showing us her watch and asking us to leave .
Ive never come across this before in a four star hotel ?

The hotel has a shower room downstairs for you to change and offers clean towels but there was
approx. 8 people waiting to use one shower .

We did enjoy our stay ,the weather was perfect and the little beaches nearby are lovely ,Son Caliu is a nice area very relaxed .clean and low key .

Room Tip: sea view room a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I visited for a mini break. 15-18 August 2013 It was really lovely we were also upgraded to a sea view apartment and the hotel was spotlessly clean. The staff were always busy and never sitting idle. The breakfast was fresh and I especially liked the fact they wore gloves when cooking & changing food over. We will return with our young children next year. We had a very pleasant stay & the staff were very accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just returned from a 10 day stay at Ponent Mar, basic but adequate, Read reviews beforehand so took a travel kettle - a couple of days into the holiday all apartments were supplied with Kettle, toaster and microwave.Not much room for them but never the less made available. Plenty of sunbeds round the pool area and we were always able to get some. I found all staff very friendly.

A very safe feeling for young children. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Myself and 2 friends booked a short break (5 days, 4 nights) at the Ponent Mar and I really cannot commend it highly enough. The staff are clearly experienced and really do care about their guests. All were very friendly and helpful. Our apartment was clean and spacious, with basic equipment for cooking (don't forget to take washing up liquid though, or buy some). The hotel shop stocked everything that we required, for very reasonable prices. The pool was lovely and clean, with spectacular views. Breakfast had everything you could wish for (including chocolate Nesquik!), and the pool bar did some lovely food (we tried the Spanish omelette and a salmon and prawn salad). The apartments were a short walk down a hill to the harbour, and within easy reach of lots of restaurants for delicious dinners and cocktails. There's a beautiful cove just beneath the hotel for swimming and crabbing. For a short relaxing break with friends we really couldn't have wished for a better hotel in a better location, I will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We didn't make any specific requests although we heard others doing so and most requests seemed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ponent Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponent Mar

Address: CL Marques de la Torre 9 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#9 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ponent Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ponent Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponent Mar Palma Nova
Ponent Mar Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponent Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.