We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay ((best for an older retired crowd))” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ponent Mar

Save Saved
You added Ponent Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
and 3 more sites!
Ponent Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   CL Marques de la Torre 9 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay ((best for an older retired crowd))”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great scenic view from pool and oceanview rooms..
I have been to many upscale beach resorts and this apart-hotel was nice. The rooms were spacious, clean and although the kitchen was very basic, we were able to cook some meals.

great outdoor pool and lobby HOWEVER:
1. the hotel gym was pathetic (no working machines except one squeaky old treadmill)
2. the saunas were constantly off and locked (need to reserve ahead of time= inconvenient during cold months)
3. the hotel buffet was 20 euros per person! (huuuge rip off).

Its a great place to relax and get away from everything as its located on the edge of a cliff and FAR from the center (BUSES TAKE FOREVER BEWARE)
The beach is about a 5 minute walk downhill and it was close enough to a Big supermarket and small pricey cafes

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    73
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
81
52
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here as part of Stephen Roche cycling holiday...... Excellent cycling, Majorca is wonderful to get on your bike. Be warned if you want to enjoy the cycling with the camp train before you go , this is not for the faint hearted. Saying that I am very glad I went, achieved more than I thought I could. Def going again.
The hotel had a wonderful breakfast but I found the evening buffet not hot enough for me....warmed my meal with the microwave.
The only thing that annoyed me was the room card/key failed to work three times and trekking back to reception from our room was a nuisance.

Room Tip: Sea views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Returned for our second visit for 10 days in March,standards have been maintained since last june.Ponet Mar has varied clients at this time of year more cyclists,golfers etc rather than families around the pool,
The view from the Bar restaurant overlooking Palma Nova is super,the Gambas with Garlic well worth waiting some of the best we have enjoyed in our visits to Spain & Canaries.

Room Tip: We stayed room only with sea view overlooking Palma Nova ,worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tring
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

we stayed at the ponent mar as part of the stephen roche cycling camp.the cycling is high standard and epic and the staff excellent. hotel very clean and fresh. rooms good - power shower and lots of hot water, beds comfortable and plenty of space.would recommend a travel kettle if you like an early morning cup of tea. food buffet excellent, with plenty of good quality, locally sourced food - perfect for cyclists. hotel in great situation, quiet area of son caliu, with beautiful sea views and lovely pool area. hotel has little supermarket for all your water and essentials - perfect. we will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have stayed here 6 times in the last 5 years. The accommodation is spotless and cleaned 6 days a week. The staff are welcoming and friendly and the food is excellent. Perfect for young children. It is a quiet hotel but a 5 minute walk takes you to the hassle and bustle of Palma Nova. We will be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

First time in Mallorca, will certainly use Ponent mar again, rooms clean, staff very good, food very good.I chose Ponent as it is the base hotel for Stephen Roche cycling training camp, which is excellent and highly recomended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visited Ponent Mar in the off-season. It has the rustic charm of old-time seaside establishments. It's not glamourous or flashy, but it's clean and comfy. Located right on the bay, the view is stunning. The staff are friendly, obliging, and, importantly, speak English. The meals are good, with great variety.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ponent Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponent Mar

Also Known As:
Ponent Mar Palma Nova
Ponent Mar Hotel
Ponent Mar Palmanova, Majorca
Address: CL Marques de la Torre 9 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#10 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ponent Mar 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel and Expedia so you can book your Ponent Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponent Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.