We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from noise, but near beach and restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ponent Mar

Save Saved
You added Ponent Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ponent Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   CL Marques de la Torre 9 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
Alesund, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Away from noise, but near beach and restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Palma Nova has a nice beach with clear water. And in the area there are different types of restaurants. And the apartment hotel Ponent Mar is only a 5 minutes walk away from this.
It´s located on a little hill so you are away from the noise of cars and shouting people who have drunk too much. We also combined trips to Palma, easy to reach by the local bus.
The pool is large enough for the number of guests and for once enough sunbeds.There is also a heated indoor pool which we didn`t try. The service in the restaurant was better than the food, but usually we made our own breakfast and had dinner at restaurants near the hotel, among the best: Port of Call and My Thai.
When we arrived we visited the room we had got, but asked to be shown an upgraded room. And it was worth upgrading for the 20eur per day.
The service at the reception varied quite a lot. Two middle-aged men I would recommend a new course in service or they could learn a lot from the other receptionists.
There´s a small supermarket in the hotel (buy the water there) and a large one 10 minutes away.If you´re not interested in partying and Magaluf, this is a hotel for you

Room Tip: I would suggest ocean view. Look at the room before you decide. We upgraded and didn´t regret
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    91
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
96
70
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Came to this hotel in september for five days with my mum and brother. We wanted an apartment as a base and I felt this hotel was perfect for what we wanted.

On arrival we were given a bigger room which was a bonus. The hotel was in a nice posision out of the way from the resort and lovely sea views. It was a ten minute walk into the centre of palma nova and a cheap taxi ride to magaluf.it was a perfect hotel to relax, could always get a sunbed. There was a lovely peaceful terrace to sunbathe overlooking the sea. Never ate in the hotel or seen the entertainment so can not comment. There is an onsite shop selling essentials but its a ten minute walk to mercadona which has a better choice. The pool area was nice and could always get a sunbed. Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby, we went to stadium bar on our last night which in in the centre, different tributes on every night, motown was brilliant. Would definatly go back to this hotel if I go back to palma nova.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funky,england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Excellent location,good food not expensive,lovely bar area,great staff very helpful and friendly, spotlessly clean and beautiful views across the bay,only downfall being we didn't stay long enough! Can't wait to return

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have visited this area lots and eventually decided to go self-catering each time as it gives us more freedom and the buffet restaurants can be a bit hot / noisy / impersonal.

Regarding Ponent Mar, I can only comment mainly on the room and location of the hotel as we didn't use many of the facilities.

Location: Palma Nova is a lovely quiet bay area, that eventually joins onto Magaluf (Wild Party Area). This hotel is about as far from Magaluf as you can get if you are at the Palma Nova end. To walk to Magaluf would take about 15 minutes. So lovely and peaceful, but if you want a mad night out, it's an easy walk. The hotel is on a slope, just above the Palma Nova Marina.

Room: We opted for a Superior Room, mainly because we wanted a guarateed sea view. These are slightly larger and many have been refurbished, so I can't compare them to a standard room as I didn't see one.

Our room was lovely - very clean, with new furniture and new kitchen & bathroom. Bathroom: fantastic huge shower (no bath in ours), clean towels daily. Decent hairdryer.

Large sofa bed, dining table, 2 single beds (very comfortable and clean), flatscreen TV (only news channels in English though), plenty of storage.

Kitchen: Not very well equipped - fridge, 2-ring hob. No kettle, no toaster or microwave. Didn't bother us. We took a travel kettle anyway. Plenty of plates, bowls etc. All nice and new.

Balcony: Nice sea view, large balcony with table and chairs and a re-tractable washing line.

Cleaning daily Monday - Saturday. Sheets changed every 4 days.

Salon / Spa:I booked a massage - was reasonable at 30 Euros for 30 minutes. Was in a wierd place down in a quiet storage-type area near the indoor pool, but the man was excellent. Knew his stuff. I felt great afterwards.

The indoor pool is only open from October. There is a nice outdoor pool area.

We had dinner at the steak / pizza restaurant on site and it was reasonably priced for the quality - I would recommend. Give the steaks a go - they bring out a big hot slab of stone and you cook the meat off yourself, to your liking. Yum !

There was entertainment on around the place - not very English-orientated I don't think. Not our cup-of-tea anyway. We tend to go out.

Personally I would definitely go back. It's a little more than we would normally pay for self catering apartments here but you get what you pay for :-)

As an afterthought, the only real negative was that the Superior rooms are all on the bottom floor and the people above were noisy - scraping furniture and toddlers stomping around ....... take earplugs just in case...

Room Tip: Superior Upgrade recommended - all have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath Ire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel was extremely clean. We were very impressed with the cleanliness. It was exceptionally well kept. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. There was a very relaxed atmosphere in the hotel.

The pool was very clean. Lots of sun lounger's no matter what time of the day. Guests were asked not to pre-book them, which is great. The view from this area was stunning. There was a lower area a little away from the pool for sun lounging, equally as beautiful and a little more private. There were toilets outside in the lower area which were the cleanest outdoor toilets I’ve ever seen.

There was aqua-gym in the mornings and this was tailored more to age and fitness of the group on the day. The evening entertainment catered more for an older crowd.

The majority of the guests were around 50-60, some younger couples and a few families. Most people were from German, Norway, Sweden and some people from the UK.

It is close to beach. Only 5 min walk. So it is a great location. There is a hill, the hill is about 1-2 mins. It is not very steep, but just a little hard on the knees if you bad knees or have any mobility issues.

We stayed in a basic self catering apartment. It was spotlessly clean. There was a faint smell of possibly the drains. It wasn’t a sewage smell, more like water run off. It was only noticible if you were out for a few hours with the door closed. It was faint enough.

There is lots of TV channels, mostly Spanish and others such as German, French, only 3-4 English channels. The English spoken channels are all news & stock market channels. CNN & BCC world news etc. It would have been nice to have something to escape the news for a bit.

The safe was €15 for the week, then a €3 deposit. (You only get €3 back). Pricy for something that is usually included in the price with most hotels worldwide.

For anyone self catering. There is a supermarket in the hotel. Handy for the big 5L of water save you lugging them around. There is a LIDL 10 mins walk away! Super stuff. Walk straight out the hotel door (Carrer del Marquès de la Torre) and keep going straight on this street until you can go no further, little island with a bank, go around it and straight thro the roundabout, the street is Carrer de Còrdova, Lidl is up this road on the right hand side.

It is a very relaxing stay, I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel. I would go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel was ok but not what I call a 4 star. We stayed in a standard apartment and it definately needed refurbiishing. I have a 10 month old baby and there was extremely loud music on till 11.30 most nights which kept her awake so I wouldnt recommend for young children.I wont be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have just returned from a week at Ponent Mar. The hotel is located at the edge of Palma Nova up a small hill with lovely views over the sea. It is 5 minutes walk to the beach and the boulevard with lots of restaurants and shops. The pool was very clean and there were loads of sunbeds available at all times of the day. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean but quite basic, there wasn't a kettle so we just boiled water in a pan instead but otherwise it was well equipped.
I would recommend this hotel if you want to go to Palma Nova.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ponent Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponent Mar

Address: CL Marques de la Torre 9 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#8 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ponent Mar 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Ponent Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponent Mar Palma Nova
Ponent Mar Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponent Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.