We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly not a 4 star hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ponent Mar

Save Saved
You added Ponent Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ponent Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   CL Marques de la Torre 9 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
Warwick
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Certainly not a 4 star hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel was ok but not what I call a 4 star. We stayed in a standard apartment and it definately needed refurbiishing. I have a 10 month old baby and there was extremely loud music on till 11.30 most nights which kept her awake so I wouldnt recommend for young children.I wont be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    83
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
91
63
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have just returned from a week at Ponent Mar. The hotel is located at the edge of Palma Nova up a small hill with lovely views over the sea. It is 5 minutes walk to the beach and the boulevard with lots of restaurants and shops. The pool was very clean and there were loads of sunbeds available at all times of the day. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean but quite basic, there wasn't a kettle so we just boiled water in a pan instead but otherwise it was well equipped.
I would recommend this hotel if you want to go to Palma Nova.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Ok so we requested one of the new refurbished rooms and got 1 as ther is only ment to be 2! Definitely worth asking for one as they are lovely and modern. The beds were really comfy, but don't know what they would be like in the older rooms. there wasn't a toaster and as we went self catering we wanted toast for breakfast so we hired one for 10euro.

Some bad points was that there was literally 3 English tv channels and they where only the news which was so annoying as we had 3days rain and had nothing to do during the day also the shower smelled really bad everyday but we where told it was to do with the drains??? Had a few sleepless nights as the people above us kept moving things around but that isn't the hotels fault. We did askd to get moved as the noise was on going but when we looked at the new room it was an old one and such a downgrade that we thought we would stick it out.

Besides the few minors the pool area is lovely plenty of loungers and umbrellas and the hotel is kept well. The hill everyone is talking about is not as bad as I thought it was going to be.

Lovely surroundings with the sea and rocks behind hotel and out the front down the hill the beach and harbour. We ate out every night and never got a bad meal.
One restaurant we remember was Natalie's we ate there twice lovely homemade English food and staff are so friendly.
Taxi into magaluf was around 5or6 euro and definitely worth it as the walk is really long!
You can also rent jet skis down at the harbour for 50 euro.

All in all we found that there was barely any English people there and no English tv channels so i don't think it realy caters for us. Palma nova and magaluf are lovely and would def return.

Room Tip: Request a refurbished room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just returned from nine very relaxing days at Ponent Mar Hotel. We stayed in a deluxe seaview studio which had been recently renovated to an excellent standard. The view was amazing from the terrace. The staff were friendly and the hotel was kept exceptionally clean. The pool is busy but there was a lovely sun terrace down from the main pool area looking out to sea which was really tranquil and we never struggled to get sunbeds even after 11am. Would definately return to this hotel if in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Had a lovely stay here, very clean. Staff very nice, and the view is amazing. However whatch out as it is located on a very steep hill, which proved to be a killer in the heat.
The bar prices are very expensive.
Stayed half board with drinks. This was one bottle of wine with dinner and thats it. Thank god for air conditioning which was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have to say this hotel is decent enough. The reception staff try to be friendly, but clearly do not have the time. The minimarket clerk was the only one with no language skills other than spanish. The hotel is situated on a small cliff, and by using the stairs you are able to go to their "own beach" or swimming place. However, you do not want to swim there, since it is filled with sharp and dangerous rocks and is therefore not suitable for anyone. A topless beach is nearby. It takes less than 10 minutes to walk to Palma Nova centre, but you probably want to take a taxi(14€) to old town of Palma. The breakfast at the hotel is okay, and only costs 8€. The bar serves beer for 3,50€. The rooms are decorated in a 90's fashion, but are clean. Balconies are just right for two persons. If you can, ask for a room from the top floor. We payed for a seaview, and got a room facing the pool(and sea...) The top floor neighbour kept throughing beer cans at our balcony, and one night also a wine glass that of course broke all over our floor... So yes, the top floor rooms are better. The pool is pretty nice, but families use it 7-19. So if you want to take a swim, do it after 7PM when the sun is set. Every night they have shows etc.for the guests, and for kids they offer games and such. The kitchenette in the room is, sorry to say, a bit of a joke. If you really want to be self catering at all times, for lunch or dinner, you should really prepare to use your imagination. We did not try the hotel restaurant for dinner, since there were so many nicer restaurants nearby. We got the value we wanted, since we only payed approx. 600€ for one week/person.

Room Tip: Top floor or sea front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Just returned from ponent mar, the hotels views are amazing, it is up at the top of a cliff so you need to walk down to the beach which was hard work in 40degree heat, the rooms were cleaned daily and the maids were excellent, they filled up the toiletries every day so there was no need to take shampoo, shower gel etc...... The drinks at the hotel where very expensive but it has it's own supermarket which was really reasonable although a pain as you had to keep going back to your room to get a drink.. We was room 408 which over looked the pool and right by the the tree hammocks which where a god send for the shade and it was nice to sit there in the evening.. We went half board and although the food was very much the same every day and morning it was nice but just got a bit fed up with the same thing every night.. I would recommend the curry house (taste of India) it was very nice but again a bit pricey. You can hire towels for 1 euro a day so you don't even need to take towels for the pool or beach. The air con was excellent and well used as it was baking.. The beach was beautifull and the warmest sea I have ever been in and the kids enjoyed the platform in the middle of the sea.sunbeds on the beach were really reasonably priced 12 euros for two and a parasol all day.. The beach is very close but you do have to walk up and down the hill to get to it.
There wasn't much to do for the children in the evenings but to be fair ours where so tired by 9pm we didn't bother much... The hotel tried really hard to entertain people during the day and lots of kids joined in the animation.
My only criticism would be unless you was up and out by 7.30am you would not get a subbed as everyone reserved them, they where also stacked very close together so you felt like a sardine and there wasn't much room to move them around...... Maybe less sunbeds or a bigger sunbed terrace would have been better.......
All in all a very nice hotel and no major complaints just sunbed niggles!,,,,

Room Tip: The refurbished rooms overlooking the sea if you are lucky enough to get one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ponent Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponent Mar

Address: CL Marques de la Torre 9 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#7 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ponent Mar 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Ponent Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponent Mar Palma Nova
Ponent Mar Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponent Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.