We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel back in october” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ponent Mar

Save Saved
You added Ponent Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ponent Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   CL Marques de la Torre 9 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
cleethorpes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great hotel back in october”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

stayed for 10 days in july self catering we had a sea view apartment fantastic views of the bay.Good clean hotel with good service room cleaned every day but sunday..Only 4/5 euros if you want to go into Magalluf or a 25min walk.Many nationalities staying at hotel and no mad rush for sunbeds.Would highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    86
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
92
64
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stopped at this hotel on a family break for a week (5 children under 12 and 5 adults). Cannot fault this hotel. Was exceptionally clean with a friendly maid service everyday apart from the Sunday. Pool area, restaurant etc all excellent. Most of the staff very friendly. Palma Nova lovely place for a family holiday. Also totally recommend the indian restaurant next to the nearby supermarket!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Ponent Mar are clean and comfortable but there isn't much atmosphere and there's a curfew at 12 midnight and 11pm on Sundays, the lights are turned out on your balcony and in the public areas of the complex at this time so you can't sit out on your balcony and havea few drinks. You can't control your balcony light so you can't just switch it back on! I'd recommend staying in San Mattias Beach area of Palma Nova instead.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We have recently returned from a 10 night stay at this hotel. This was our 4th visit to Mallorca, but our 1st visit to this hotel and this area of the island. After this holiday, I doubt very much that anywhere else we stay in Mallorca at the price we paid, will exceed our experience at the Ponent Mar.
We didn't pay for a sea view - our room was on the side of the building - but by simply turning round the chairs on the balcony, we had a sea view after all!
The room was spotlessly clean, and was serviced daily. There was nothing even slightly shabby about it, unlike other places we have stayed at in the same price bracket.
The entertainment was more cultured than raucous, but sometimes all you want is a quiet evening - there's plenty of higher octane fun in the pubs and bars in Palma Nova for when you fancy a big night out. Importantly, the other guests were respectful of others, and we weren't kept awake by people coming in at all hours, unlike other places we've stayed at.
We ate in the restaurant only once, and it was excellent.
On leaving the hotel to go out for a wander, the obvious thing to do is turn left, down the the sea front. On our 5th day, we decided to explore in the other direction, and just round the corner we found Zanzi's Bar, which offered shade from the sun, good company, great service, and well priced drinks. Inside there is a Wii with a wide selection of games, which kept our son happy, and allowed him to make friends with kids of his own age, and gave all the parents some time to chill out too - perfect recipe for a great holiday!
We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We had a great stay at this hotel for 5 nights. This was our first experience going self catering and we had a good time. Hotel is very clean and the reception staff are very friendly and speak great english. We got upgraded to a room with a seperate kitchen/living room and bedroom and although it was dated it was clean and well equipped.
Pool area also good, the pool was a great temperature, it wasn't cold - was just very refreshing. Fantastic views over the sea.
We didn't eat in the hotel at all but we did ask and it was 14 euros per person for the buffet and another restaurant with menu/seperate prices. There is also a snack bar around the pool serving food at fair prices.
There is some evening entertainment such as quiz / dancers but we didn't go to these so can't comment! Plenty of daytime entertainment too.
Location is fab, it's at the quiet end of palma nova but only a few minutes walk from the shops, bars and nicer restaurants and also the beach. Would recommend going to the supermarket out of the hotel to the right (5-10 min walk), a lot cheaper and bigger selection.
Taxi is around 33 euros from the airport... be careful not to get ripped off!!
Lots of daytime/evening trips in the area too - there's always something to do that is nearby. Pirates show is brilliant.
Would definately recommend this hotel and would return without a doubt, good for a cheap deal and for getting out and about in Palma Nova. Magaluf is walkable (25 mins?)but also a cheap taxi ride. Really recommend the Stadium bar in Palma Nova for great tribute acts!
Basic but very clean and accomodating.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We got a good deal on booking.com and really didn't expect much at all. However the location is excellent - convenient but nice and peaceful. Found the staff to be very nice - reception and bar. Our room was spacious with comfy beds and a sizeable balcony. The pool area is spacious and the water temperature refreshing as it was pretty hot. Only complaint really about the hotel is that there were some hairs on the bathroom floor when we arrived and on one day our room didn't get cleaned (that was not a Sunday). We didn't eat at the hotel as we like to get out and about. The beach (5 mins walk from hotel) is large and clean and the water a nice temperature. We went to Magaluf for the bars/nightlife - can walk it in about 25 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Well, where do I start? The hotel is not renovated since the 70`s. It feels depressing and actually a bit scaring. You know what I mean if you book this hotel and go for a walk passed the closed indoor-pool to do your laundry. The fitnessroom is also in this area. We never tried it though. The pictures tells you all. The room was a oneroom superior who is located partly underground. It has a seaview and the beds are ok but the room was not clean when we arrived. There was not any eqiupment to to wash the cups and plates in the kitchen. Many cups and plates was dirty. The corridor outside the room was dark and depressive. The service on the hotell was terrible. Well.......I strongly recomend to stay away from this hotel for your own sake.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ponent Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponent Mar

Address: CL Marques de la Torre 9 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ponent Mar 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Ponent Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponent Mar Palma Nova
Ponent Mar Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponent Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.