We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be returning next year” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martinez Apartments

Save Saved
You added Martinez Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Martinez Apartments
2.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   Calle Calvia 3, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
Lincoln
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Will be returning next year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We needed a short cheap break at the last minute and I booked this entirely based on the reviews I had read on Tripadvisor. I was not expecting much and were only staying for 4 nights so just needed a base really. These apartments far exceeded our expectations, they were extremely spacious and spotlessly clean and the staff were all friendly and helpful. What a fantastic find. The bar is open 24/7 and the prices are very reasonable, we used the snack bar one dinnertime and the food was good and again very reasonably priced. When we book again we will go self catering as you had to queue up for a while for breakfast and there was everything provided in your apartment to cook for yourself or it was cheap enough to eat out. We walked into Magaluf on the first 3 days which took about 30 minutes and on our last day walked in the other direction to Portal Nous harbour (again about 30 mins), to see how the other half live. If you are interested in boats don't miss this place, it beats Palma harbour for quality boats. All in all we had a fantastic break and will definitely return for a short stay. Do not expect luxury because you are not paying luxury prices but this has everything you need for an enjoyable break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the block you will get the sun on the balcony all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I went with my husband in September to the Martinez, the actual apartments were very basic, and was dissapointed by the awful view we had, of a room with lots of shoes thrown onto it, obviously by people who had stayed in the apartments before us. To the side of us where private apartments which were quite scruffy, and in between the view of a main road. Our hotel had a sister hotel the Gabarda just around the corner which we had to go to for our breakfast, you had to tell the receptionist if you wanted your breakfast and she would give you a ticket, then you would present this ticket to Christine the cook, who cooked the breakfast as you waited, she would then shout your name for you to get it, after you have finished you had to clear your own plates and stack them. Just reminded me of being in school..... The pool was not much bigger than my bath at home, although for 3 days me and my husband had the pool to ourselves, then a party of 14 women came and took over the pool, as there was now no sunbeds....The Martinez was only a 5 min walk from the beach area and restaurants, but for entertainment you would have had to go further, we used to even jump a taxi up to Fountains Bar in Magaluf for entertainment. I recomment though Natalies Restaurant which was not far from the Martinez on the beach front. The two British receptionists where very helpful. We did however have ants in our room, also when we first arrived we found lots of dried blood outside our room, this however was removed after a cleaner seen it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night weekend stay at the Martinez Apartments. Our party of 3 woman were really impressed with what we found when we arrived.

Martinez Apartments are situated in a residential area along with the sister Hotel Gabarda, just around the corner. It's really quiet so is fantastic. You are close enough to the fun of Magaluf (€6 in a taxi and 5 min drive) but far enough away for peace in the daytime!!

This hotel has everything you need for a few days in the sun! The pool is small but we never struggled for a sun lounger and were often the only ones around the pool anyway! The thing that strikes you about this place is what you get for your money:

Free Wifi ( in both hotels), aircon in the room (€20 deposit for the remote), 24 hour bar (sister hotel), use of facilities at both hotels, spotlessly clean, late check out if needed (€20), food on sale 24 hours, friendly helpful staff, pool open til 9pm, vending machines in both hotels.

We'd definitely go back here again - I've no idea why it is so cheap or why it hasn't got the 3* or 4* eating it deserves?

The two British ladies; Adele and Tanya on reception are so friendly and would do anything to ensure you have a good stay. They could teach a lot of hotels about good customer service.

No complaints, it was a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Further to our previous visit and because we have friends living close to these apartments,we chose to return for a longer break ( 2. Weeks) and were not disappointed.
This time we opted for an apartment on the first floor( remember no Lifts in these apartments).

The layout was identical and so we felt immediately "at home" once the booking-in with Adele at the nearby Gabarda Hotel..

Prior to our booking we looked at other TA reviews and noted they were for the most part very complimentary
Hopefully this review will also be seen as complimentary and positive.

The apartments cater for all ages and tastes (Hen/stag parties included) and all seem to blend together well.
Clean Towels every two days and linen changed each week.A special thanks to the considerate and efficient ladies who cleaned and changed the linen.... a job well done .

The only complaint we heard was that there was a queue for breakfast when everybody arrived at the Breakfast bar area at the same time.
With one person only, cooking to order, this would not be surprising and many of those same complainants( "mostly middle-aged gentlemen reliving their past perhaps?.) found plenty of time to queue at the adjacent bar for their "Breakfast Beers and similar Alcohol refreshments".

There are no major changes to this value for money accommodation and it seems all the staff are as attentive and hospitable as on our previous visit.
Hopefully when we visit Palma Nova next we will be able to re-book at the Martinez Apartments

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

10 girls have just stayed here for 3 nights for a hen weekend it's clean and apartments sleep up to 4,they are very spacious,pool area is small but very clean it's located in a residential area so you have to keep the noise down, we used the sister hotel to have lunch and drinks Christine the Irish Cook is lovely all the reception staff were lovely and friendly too, Palma nova is a short walk away and so is the beach we went into magaluf for a nights out this is 5 minutes in a cab costing 5 euros had a brillant time:)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for 7 nights and i can say that the Martinez apartments are great choice. They are nice,clean and specious two room apartments cleaned every two day.Breakfast is served from 9 am to 11 am. You have five choices for breakfast and if you go around 10:15 to 10:30 you need to wait for around 15 minutes because there are a lot of people that are waiting for their breakfast.I am very satisfied with the apartment and i can recommend to everyone who wants not so expensive accommodation in Palmanova. The location is very quiet and the apartments are on the start of the first beach at Palmanova, just 5 minutes from the beach, but it's about 35-40 minutes walking to Magaluf. The apartements are equipped with refrigerator,toast, basic kitchen utensils, hotplate but there is no oven.

Room Tip: Kindergarten is very close so sometimes you can not sleep in the morning. Pool view is greater choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

it was a mums and daughters holiday Sept 2013.... what can I say.... Fantastic. This place is very clean all the staff are friendly. The pools, because you've got the facilities of the Garbana (sister hotel around the corner), a little small but well kept. Can't fault this place for couples or groups who are looking for valve for money. Would have reservations if small children were going as can be a bit rowdy at weekends with stags and hens and there's not much play space. Rooms are spacious, air con (you need to pay deposit for remote) safes are payable but are in the lobby. First beach is 5-10min walk Magaluf is a steady 30 min walk or a 5E taxi, great for a party night out and a quietish decent sleep whatever time you find your bed.... We WILL begoing back there... Hopefully soon..... If you don't include your breakfast on booking take advantage of it there 14E for the week. Can't go wrong.....

Room Tip: Ask for extra pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Martinez Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinez Apartments

Address: Calle Calvia 3, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Martinez Apartments 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Martinez Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinez Apartments Hotel Palma Nova
Martinez Apartments Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martinez Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.