We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy & Thieves at work” 1 of 5 stars
Review of TRH Magaluf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added TRH Magaluf to your Saves list
TRH Magaluf
3.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   C/ Martin Ros Garcia, 15, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly TRH Palmanova)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Noisy & Thieves at work”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a large group, but for some reason we were scattered all over the hotel rather than put in rooms near each other.

The first night was a taste of things to come. After a day of travelling and then a night out, we returned to hotel at 2am, but didn't get to sleep until gone 6am. Sleeping in the bedroom it felt like people who were in the corridor talking were in the room with us, and every time the neighbours buzzer was pressed it was ridiculously loud in our room. For the rest of the stay we slept on the sofas in the lounge area, with cushions up against the front door to block out some noise and the power off so the buzzer couldn't be pressed. Every night it was the same thing, with people running around shouting/screaming/knocking/buzzing until gone 6am. The frustrating thing was that the hotel staff did nothing to stop this. We also had a barrage of reps knocking on our door every evening, with one even approaching via the roof next to our balcony (again none of the staff seemed bothered that guests and reps were constantly up on the roof and getting ever closer to the edge)!

The rooms were very tired, and we found blood splatters in various locations around our rooms that had clearly never been cleaned up (eg the curtains, walls, sofas). The cleaner only visited twice during our 7 night stay, and we only received "clean" (blood stained and dirty) towels twice during our stay.

During our stay many people had things stolen from the "security" boxes at reception, and they were treated with the same disregard and given the same excuses as have been detailed in previous reviews. The rooms were no better, with people reporting that their stuff had been rifled through while they were out. We returned to our locked room several times to find that the room had been unlocked by someone and then left unlocked in our absence.

Another worrying security issue was general access to the hotel. We found that anyone would have been able to enter the hotel, and that anyone could ask for any room key at reception without needing any ID.

The food at breakfast and dinner was edible, but a bit of a random selection. And as detailed in other reviews, you could not have drinks at the evening meal unless you paid for them, and if you tried to take your own bottle of water in with you then they took it from you or refused to let you into dinner.

This hotel did spoil our holiday. A lack of sleep and a constant real fear of items being stolen, meant we were unable to totally relax. I would NOT recommend this corrupt hotel to anyone, especially if you value your sleep and possessions!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    149
    139
    72
    119
See reviews for
35
82
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Food on the first night was much better than I was expecting, but as the week went on, dinner became part guessing game and part lucky dip. What I originally thought was scampi turned out to be battered cauliflower, a new Spanish delicacy maybe? The following day my eyes lit up at the sight of onion rings (a well know favourite of drunk men), which some how transformed in to battered squid once it touched my tongue. I mean seriously, how hard is it to label food?! I was also suspicious of re heated Brussel sprouts from the previous day as they were ridiculously soft, almost verging on mushy peas. And the desserts were so florescent in colour they could have been radioactive. Breakfast scrambled egg, I honestly don't know how they messed that up so bad, soggy and tasteless, the only thing I can think of was that it was make from powdered egg. Having said that there was enough selection I never went hungry, and the Squits held off till day 4 (however this maybe due to other things ingested).

The room :- despite a few ants dotted around the place, and there only being one key between 4, I didn't mind the room too badly. sleeping before 3am isn't really an option, if you are a family I seriously advise against this hotel, it is full of 250+ party animals banging on the wrong door trying to find a bed.

All in all if your going to party in magaluf and looking for a cheap deal, this hotel is great value in a great location (2min from beach and strip) but don't expect something as good as travel lodge. 2 stars

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Within week 3 people in our group had money/phones/ID/bank cards stolen from the safes at reception. When this was reported to the staff they were less than helpful and in fact laughed in our faces. In addition to the obvious organised (inside job) theft the staff were very grumpy and despite being a young persons hotel they clearly hated us all especially at meal times. Also we were on half board and they refused to even provide water with our evening meal and forced us to buy water if we wanted a drink with our food.
Unfortunately this awful hotel made our nearly perfect holiday significantly less enjoyable. If you have the option avoid this hotel wherever possible and definitely don't leave your valuables in the "safe".

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Do NOT stay here! In our group of friends, we had at least three safety deposit boxes stolen from, with money and credit cards going missing. The boxes were not forced open, and so must have been an inside job. If that wasn't enough, the attitude from the staff was horrendous, with them laughing in our faces, and not caring in the least. If you had any complaint, they couldn't give a damn. Belongings in rooms were also riffled through, however the "safes" in the reception area were the worst hit.
On booking this hotel, I did not believe the bad reviews, and wish I had paid more attention to them. Please do not book here, there are many better options available in Maga.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

went to this hotel with a big group of friends, first impressions were basic but fine, food was good, pool is great but as the week went on multiple things were going missing every night from the safes that you pay extra to hire, with no sign of forced entry, the staff through the night were helping themselves to 400 euros, iphones and credit cards. The manager was useless and no staff took any responsibilty, just saying they had been lost not stolen. No security cameras worked and you have to pay for an interpreter to report anything to the police! DONT GO HERE IF YOU VALUE YOUR VALUABLES!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week as part of a group of 70 uni leavers. Our first impression was not good, the rooms were dirty and smelly with non- functioning air con. We decided that for a budget holiday we could live with that and move on.
The food is very average, the pool is small, the music at the pool is very loud from 10am til 10pm (which we didn't really mind) and the location was good. That is about as positive as I can get about the place.
We had all been encouraged at checking in to purchase a key for a "secure" locker which were located at reception as the safes in the room weren't working. We had to pay 26 euros, 6 of it we got back as a deposit on the end. Three days into our trip my friend and I went to get more cash out of our locker and when we opened it to our horror over 400 Euros which we had been keeping safe had been STOLEN. Passports and a debit card had been left behind.
We went straight to the front desk who claimed this had never happened before and that it was impossible. The lady at reception was very sympathetic but her superior (not the manager) was not sympathetic at all. He just shrugged his shoulders, said it was impossible and refused to give us a full refund on our locker or take any responsibility for the theft.
THERE ARE ALSO NO SECURITY CAMERAS IN RECEPTION. When I questioned this, I was told that the boss could not be bothered spending money on this.
So we were left with no more cash for the rest of our week, no compensation and no chance of an insurance claim as the lockers were not forced - i.e. as much as the staff claim they have no spare key, someone had been letting themselves in.

The next day another of our group had exactly the same story but with her iPhone stolen from her "secure" locker. When she informed reception, the man there laughed in her face and accused her of being careless and having lost it.
Yet again the day after this another girl in our group had her credit card stolen from a different locker with the same response given by the staff.

The shameful treatment of their customers and blatant lack of security or any interest in any breach of security makes this place a no-go for anyone who values their valuables.

GO HERE AT YOUR OWN RISK - BUT DONT BLAME ME IF YOU LEAVE WITH LESS THAN YOU ARRIVED WITH.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I'm not usually someone who would leave a review, however, this hotel has unfairly received such rubbish ones on here I feel like I ought to set the record straight! After reading the reviews I was apprehensive about staying here, however, it actually is such a nice hotel, its not the Ritz but it was amazing for the money! The decor etc aren't great but the rooms are clean (you get new towels nearly every day), the beds are comfortable and they have everything you need in the room (except they could do with more plugs and mirrors so maybe worth bringing a special adapter and a mirror with you). The pool is really nice, it's big, clean, has lots of sunbeds around it and has decent music playing all day from about 11 (it has BCM dj's there for a pool party too twice a week!) so don't know what more you could want really! The pool bar isn't cheap but they never are, the receptionists are really nice, have good English and you can drop your key in when you go out and they will give it to you when you get in. We didn't have any issues with anything being stolen but we didn't leave money or anything lying around and our safety deposit boxes weren't touched, however, we did hear a group of guys had a camera and money stolen however I do believe this was by a cleaner and they'd left it in their rooms. The hotel is in a great location, the hill really isn't bad at all (people must be really unfit as was expecting Kilimanjaro lol) and there is a good value shop underneath and another one up the road. When you walk down the hill the beach is down a set of steps (it takes about 5 minutes to get there and it's lush) the strip is another five minutes down the road which is ideal although you get hassled by so many PR's trying to get you into their bar on your way down but they are everywhere! We didn't really have a problem with the hotel being noisey, it wasn't quiet but when you come to Magalluf it's not really expected that you will sit in your room all night so if your out until 6am or so you won't have any problems and the hotel pool isn't busy until like 12 so you won't be woken up too early! Overall I think this hotel was such good value for money and we would all definitely go back! Thank you TRH!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms come with a pool view but not all are sunny so ask for a sunny balcony if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TRH Magaluf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRH Magaluf

Address: C/ Martin Ros Garcia, 15, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly TRH Palmanova)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TRH Magaluf 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your TRH Magaluf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trh Palmanova Palma Nova
Trh Palmanova Hotel Palma Nova
TRH Magaluf Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRH Magaluf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.