We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly placed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Lunamar Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Lunamar Apartments to your Saves list
Sol Lunamar Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Cas Saboners 8 | Calvia, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfectly placed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed last September and while it was very comfortable and reasonably quiet, although busy, it was absolutely in the perfect position. Great for the bars and restaurants of Palm Nova, very close to the lovely golden beach and warm Mediterranean Sea and, not too far from a rather different evening in Magaluf (if you dare). And so inexpensive. The pool is good although you may struggle to get a couple of beds together If you don't get up before your breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    146
    56
    16
    10
See reviews for
64
161
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed last July (2012)- and reading the reviews we were very much looking forward to our stay.
We had book two rooms arrived - not together- this wasn't ideal but it didn't matter too much
- only one room had pool view- the other room someone was in it already - so that wasn't great.
Beds were quite uncomfortable- water went off once when we where there- Staff were friendly- pool was nice

Room Tip: -Pay for the A/C well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in July 2012 and to be honest i was'nt expecting very much.....we paid £200 per person for 1 week in the middle of July and as people say you get what you pay for....well we got more than expected!! Good location...staff are very helpful....pool and area is big and spacious...food is good and some good prices for alcohol at the pool bar! You are roughly 3 minutes to Magaluf and I would defs recomend 'Wee McGhees' for breakfast which is just out the back gate which your room key lets you in and out. You are about 100-200 metres from the Palma Nova beach. I would defs come back to this hotel again!!!

Room Tip: request a room between 307 - 312 or 407-412 xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have been to Palma Nova/Magaluf at least 15 times and love the area. We always stay away from the places that attract the young and lively and May 2012 was the first time we stayed at the Lunamar.
As soon as we arrived we noticed the whole place reeked of strong air freshener. They used it everywhere. It was so bad we could taste it and it was like that everyday.
Our room was just off the reception and I am sure that the maid had used a full can of spray in it. We opened the balcony doors and could not get rid of the smell. It got on our clothes and we were reluctant to unpack. I got a headache within the first 20 mins and my husband who never likes to complain agreed we needed to be moved. The management eventually found us somewhere that hadn't been doused in air freshener and made a note for the maids telling them not to spray our room. That was fine for about 4 days then it was back to being sprayed again. Everything else we could deal with. The rooms were basic but we had a kettle, toaster and some pots and pans. Clean towels every day, maid service and the rooms were cleaned.
We got some noise from other guests but but it was not enough to put us off going again. What has put us off is the air freshener and that is a shame. The Lunamar is in a good location, good value for money and handy for both resorts, so next time we will probably go to the Ca's Saboners across the road where we stayed a few years ago.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We made a fairly late decision to have a weeks holiday in palma nova and found what I thought was a good deal staying at the Sol Lunamar apartments. Beware if you want self catering becausethese apartments are VERY basic when it comes to the provision of things that we take for granted when at home. We had 1 small saucepan 1 large saucepan and 1 tiny frying pan and a 2 ring hob. There was no microwave no sieve for draining things and a very limited supply of plates, cups etc..
I must admit that I found it quite amusing that we had a dustpan and brush but no tea towels or dishcloths.
If you want to use these apartments as a base on room only and eat out all the time then fine, but if you do want to do any cooking (bar making tea and coffee) then stay elsewere.
All in all a pleasant holiday that could have been even better with better facilities in the apartment.
We did find a few good places for food and entertainment like El Mecca piano bar, Loro Verde(especially for girl singer Marta in the evening) and Diana Bar.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view room, but only if no extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Nice room with a pool view. Supermarket is very near by. Rear gate poolside for access to bars cafes and beach is just across the road. Staff friendly and hotel is clean. Nice pool area too. Reasonably priced and conveniently located. Would recommend and return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice hotel and facilities, good security, - very friendly staff rooms are a little basic and expensive charges for extras,
The sol lunamar are very attractive apartments from the outside with lovely gardens and pool area and lovely views (if you get a pool view room or high floor) the reception area is very smart and first impressions are exceeded, the staff would say hello at reception nearly everytime you are walking past to go out and the bar staff are friendly.
The rooms are okay, basic, for what the apartments cost - you are basically paying for the hotel facilities and not the room as such.
We had studio for 2 on the top floor with pool and sea view - bare in mind its 16 euro a day for room with pool view, ( thats what was advertised on the poster in the lift ) studio was card key operated and secure with lock the living area has a television and 2 sofa beds which were very uncomfortable we asked for them to be changed and for extra pillows, what you see in the pictures is exactly what you get, the kitchen is too small and very basic you get a kettle and a toaster but we had come from a 2 key apartments while we were there and the kitchen was massive compared to this, overall the kitchen i would rate 1 key its basic and there is no space to anything its barely enough to manage with on a self cetering holiday, the bathroom is spacious and very nice, the balcony is nice and is just the right size, th so bare this in mind. the apartments themselves i feel need abit more TLC and a referb as our patio doors were broke and did not lock, its just missing them few little things.
Now to the extra's - 9 euro to rent an iron for 3 days + 10 euro deposit ??? we nearly fell through the floor. for a late check-out 1400hrs this was 15 euros !! these are just some of the extra's on offer but avoid them like we did because its extaution.
Overall the sol lunamar are good apartments and make a good base for a good holiday.

Room Tip: try to get room on top floor for sea view, remeber the white gates by the pool to avoid all the step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Lunamar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Lunamar Apartments

Address: Avda Cas Saboners 8 | Calvia, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palmanova
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#11 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Lunamar Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sol Lunamar aparthotel is located in Palmanova, on the southwestern coast of Majorca. Privileged sea-side location less than 50 m from the Mediterranean sea and right in the city centre of Palmanova. 4 km from reknown Puerto Portals and the Casino Paladium, and very close to the sports facilities in Magalluf. Surrounded by various golf courses within 2 to 20 km distance, in an area ideal for R + R. 13 km from Palma and 24 km from the international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Melia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sol Lunamar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Lunamar Apartments Hotel Palma Nova
Sol Lunamar Apartments Palma Nova
Sol Lunamar Apartments Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Lunamar Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.