We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine if (like me) all you need is a place to crash” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lively Mallorca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lively Mallorca to your Saves list
Lively Mallorca
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Calle Paris 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
N Devon
1 review
“Fine if (like me) all you need is a place to crash”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I visited this hotel between the 6th-14th of September. Me and my gf, 23 and 22, respectively, arrived and were greeted by a "I have had enough this season" attitude from the receptionist when I failed to produce a voucher with details of my stay, despite him having his own record of this on file. Admittedly, this was my own fault although I dont recall reading anything saying this particular email needed producing at reception. Luckily, a quick glance at my emails using the free wifi (by far this hotels most lucrative asset!!) solved this.
The room was one of the dirtier rooms I have stayed in on holiday, panels missing from the roof of the bathroom and random holes in the wall from previous mountings, but all in all ok. We had three single beds pushed together though they did slide all over the floor due to their wheels!!?? Free air con always a plus in this proximity of Magaluf, and wasnt switched off throughout our stay.
If i had arrived in this hotel with my friends for a lads holiday, I would have been very disapointed. I visited Magaluf twice in the two years preceding this one at the same time of year, staying at the fiesta jungla, and Mallorca rocks hotel, both of which were signifcantly more lively than the so called "lively Mallorca". The rooms are nicer in the exemplar hotels too! There was no entertainment round the pool and there wasnt many people around it, just loud music blaring. My balcony did not overlook the pool so sound levels were not an issue.

The location is great, literally on palma nova beach, and a 15 minute walk from the Magaluf strip which was ideal for me, close - but far enough away from the bustling strip.

Overall, I could not recommend this hotel to anyone due to staying in nicer/livelier hotels in previous years for similar prices. However, if (like me) you only use your room to sleep then the drawbacks of this hotel can be overlooked. I would urge any 18-30 groups to stay at Mallorca rocks, or the Fiesta Jungla, both very lively by day with a fantastic pool 'vibe'.
If younger couples can overlook the generally unfriendly nature of the staff, and sacrifice luxury for location. The 'lively' and I use this term very loosely, Mallorca could be just fine.
Me and my Gf had a fantastic time.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are louder during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    17
    7
    11
See reviews for
1
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My friend and I were pleasantly surprised by the room as we were expecting less! Beds comfy no complaints. Originally the bus transfer tried to drop us off and 'lively magaluf' and the driver was very persistent to leave us there but if this happens show the driver your accommodation information and he took us to the right lively. Pool is nice and the beds round are comfy. These were taken pretty much by lunch time but plenty of sunbeds! - cant take food or drink by pool as the staff will take this off you. Free wi-fi by the pool and in our room was another bonus and air con in the room was good. We ended up knowing every song played by the pool as they are on repeat haha they particularly like 'if God had a name what would it be' lol but they aren't played no later than 11pm. Some of the reviews that say music is played 24hours is a lie as in the morning it was quiet and then turned up about 12pmish. We had noisy neighbours..not the hotels fault. ***Only negative is you have to pay a 100 Euro Deposit which you receive back if your room is in the same condition. Beside this negative - as we weren't informed about this - the hotel is in a great location as the hotel isn't situated in crazy noisy magaluf but only 10-15min walk :) Mini fridge in room no extra cost but a safe is available at extra cost. The local beach, bars and shops are 1min away. Prices for food and drinks isn't expensive and by the pool the price of 3euro for soft drink, burger and chips is pretty cheap! We became friends with Lisa the English speaking staff member and she's awesome, made us feel welcomed just like all the staff and helped us with any questions etc. Buses are close by and are 3euro to travel in to Palma City which is beautiful! no longer than 30mins travel. We ventured also to Porto Pi which is a shopping centre (few stops before palma city) being girls we enjoyed a bit of shopping and was nice to get about for the day :) .Overall I would 100percent recommend this hotel if you don't want to be situated in maga itself and based in a nice location.

Room Tip: We stayed on level 3 - the top floor so we only heard noise from either side . I would request not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Hotel was great, free wifi in room and around hotel, breakfast was so so but for free you can't complain. Air Con is included in the room price which also very good. Music and drink prices at the pool were really good and the hotel is only a minute walk away from the beach! Only issues are you need to ask the maids for towels or they dont replace them and it is a small walk to magaluf strip! great base for a holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Right! Well stayed at this hotel in July for a week, it was actually mental! Annoying thing was we was charged a 100 euro deposit which we were not told about, so be prepared for that (we did get it back in the end) Music is literally blaring out 24 hours a day, and rooms are pretty basic to sleep and get ready in. After a crazy night in magaluf all u want to do is sleep- which is pretty impossible as the music is so loud at all hours of the day. The pool is shallow all the way round and we even found glass in the pool which was ridiculous! the meals served at the pool are perfect if your hungover- and so cheap (3 euro a meal) which is pretty much hotdogs,chips and burgers. The drinks are also super cheap! This hotel is close to all the shops, the walk from the beach to the hotel is so Long around 20 mins. Cabs to the strip are around 5 euro max which was pretty decent. The breakfast was HORRIBLE the sausages were soggy an the egg tasted like rubber. I suppose if you want a cheap holiday with pretty basic everything it is ideal. Our towels were not changed once and neither were the sheets. I would not recommend this hotel to any families or older people, strictly teens who will be drunk and going crazy all day/night long! Our safe also did not work which was pretty annoying, And at times the shower was only cold. The Aircon isn't too good either and it can get pretty hot. I suppose on the plus side we got to see tinchy Stryder as he visited randomly, and the party atmosphere really gets you in the mood for the night ahead :)
Hope this helped!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here with a large group of 19-20 year olds from 11-22 July 2012. This hotel is perfect for groups of young people out on a party holiday, it is just a 15 minute walk from magaluf strip, and €4 in a taxi. The hotel bar is very cheap, €1.50 for a beer and €2 for alcopops. The pool area is small, but in general quiet. Sun beds aren't the best but there are about 10 double beds with cushions and matresses which are ideal for groups during the day. Music is played from about 11 in the morning to 9 at night, this is good at the start, but can get irritating if you want to sleep in, however it does give the pool a good atmosphere during the day. In the 11 days we were there, there was a foam party, 2 WKD promotion days and an erotic dance show (definitely not suitable for children). There are a number of cheap shops and restaurants around the corner from the hotel, including a spar which had cheap food and drink, also Kompas restaurant was a favourite of ours, with good food starting at around 2.50. Breakfast in the hotel is from 10-12.30 each morning, while not the best breakfast in the world, it exceeded expectations, with cereals, fruits, hot food, juices and breads. While the pool area was excellent, the rooms were basic but functional with sufficient cooking utensils and cutlery. The premises consist of studios and apartments, would definitely recommend an apartment as the studios are quite small. Cleaners weren't too great, didn't come in all the time, and only did the bare minimum, mopping the floor but without sweeping it properly, but we didn't mind too much as we weren't the cleanest ourselves and couldn't expect them to clean all our own mess. Towels however, were stained so I would definitely recommend bringing your own. The hotel staff were okay but not overly helpful. Our group was lucky in that we got an 11 day stay for €150 which was well worth it, but I'm not too sure what the prices are usually. All in all, our group had an amazing holiday, which was definitely improved by the hotel pool and proximity to the strip. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone out for a party, but not for anyone who will be expecting a good nights sleep every night and a spotless modern apartment, because you probably won't get it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Originally we were supposed to be staying in the Belle Vue Vistanova hotel, but on arrival were told it was fully booked so were sent here, i am aware my views may be biased as we already started our holiday on a bad note but there are some issues to raise. Our booking was with www.travelrepublic.co.uk by the way so never ever use them unless you want to stay somewhere you didn't book, that's a whole other issue. On arrival the hotel looks decent, the reception and bar area is good with cool seating and a nice pool area with ample sun beds and computer access etc. The Hotel wants a 100 euro deposit incase you break anything (upon leaving we saw a coupe not get their deposit back as someone had banged on the wall and a mirror had broken) we refused to pay this as we weren't supposed to be here in the first place and did not have to pay at the other hotel, so after a dispute we agreed to keep our passports at reception instead of paying the deposit. When you go up stairs that's when it all goes down hill, the walls and doors are falling apart and have bits broken off and damaged, the balcony door has no lock and the bathroom door doesn't shut. The peepholes on door also allow people to look into your room!! I have just seen photos of the hotel from a website and the bedrooms look literally nothing like that, no resemblance at all it has to be a different hotel. The beds are almost broken and take up so much space - we had 4 beds when only 3 per room so we ended up putting one on the balcony to make some space. The fridge had rust and dirt splattered all over it and the air con is so thick with dust it doesn't work, there was hair all over the bathroom floor and dirt, it was clear it had probably never been swept. The shower was freezing cold all week, not from running out we just never had hot water, the towels were never changed all week - we had to complain about this and get send new ones but when they did finally come they just left the old ones in the bath! Cleaners do apparently come most days but all they do is make the beds nothing gets cleaned, we even had to ask for more toilet paper. 90% of the staff are horrifically rude and do not care about any issues you might raise. It is also miles from Magaluf which i know it says its in palma nova but we actually booked to stay in magaluf so had to get taxis all week, it also feels very unsafe. One morning we came out in the corridor to cups of feces everywhere and condoms. Overall an awful hotel and it really put a downer on our holiday. Magaluf was amazing just don't stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

14 of us went to this hotel from the 4th - 11th july and it was amazing , Cheap drinks around the pool all day whilst they played music cant ask for much more! The staff were great and helpful, Free breakfast between 10ish till 12 but gave that a miss most days as it isnt the best but for free its good!The only downside to this hotel is its a 10/15 minute walk from magaluf strip but at most a taxi is 4 euros if your too lazy to walk like i was most of the nights! Plenty of shops next to the hotel for bottled water and there is alot of cheap cafes and bars aswel for pre drinks or food!

Would definitely Recommend this hotel !!!! (As long as your not taking children or looking for a peaceful get away!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lively Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lively Mallorca

Address: Calle Paris 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lively Mallorca 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lively Mallorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lively Mallorca Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lively Mallorca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.