We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gabarda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gabarda to your Saves list
Hotel Gabarda
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roses Bermejo 26, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“2 night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Me and my fella Just stayed 2 nights for a cheeky weekend away, didn't expect a lot as the price was so cheap, was very surprised as it's a really nice place to stay, yes it's a budget place but very friendly clean and in a perfect location, 5 mins from the beach and 15 mins from magaluf, would deffo stay here again for the price but only for a few nights as the walls are paper thin and could hear everything in the next room so not a lot of sleep....wouldn't bring children here either unless it was for a few days at the end of season...

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    87
    30
    12
    10
See reviews for
26
94
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
coatbridge
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed for the October school week b&b for under £150 for us both,staff where the nicest and helpful people i have came across at any hotel and i have been to loads,from the maids,bar staff,reception,cook to the boss they were all very friendly.

Breakfast was great you had 4 choices from a full english,continental,cereal with fresh fruit,or toast and eggs,nothing was to much bother for christine,

The room was basic no tv, fridge or hair dryer ect but for the price you cant expect it,they could be hired from reception at a decent rate,the room was spotless maids came every day with clean towels ect,we had a balcony facing lovely hills and was quieter at that end rather than over looking the pool,

The only thing was that the soft drinks were over priced 1.80 euro for a can of pepsi and crisps 1.60 but suppose they have to make a few quid somewhere as the bar is open 24 hours so suppose its only fair.

All in all i will deffo go back to this little gem we had a great week with lovely weather well done the gabarda

Room Tip: If you a light sleeper request a room not facing on to the pool and bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Well what can we say!! We were very surprised on arrival at how great this hotel was.
I requested a double room and to stay in the main block (after reading some reviews) when I booked, I was so happy that we were given this.

The 2 girls on reception are fantastic, very helpful and lots of advice about everything. The bar staff were just as friendly and we especially liked Hulian. He made us smile everyday and his cooked breakfasts were yummy!!

The room was fine, lovely bathroom, really big bed and huge balcony. We were on the top floor and got the sun in the afternoon. Would recommend this floor but not so good to carry your suitcase up. We had a problem the night before we left with the pressure in the shower. My boyfriend reported it straight away and it was sorted within minutes. The customer service at this hotel was 5 star and we would highly recommend this hotel. My boyfriend gave the hotel 4.9 star as they didn't sell cider in the bar :-)

The hotel is a 5 mins stroll to the beach, bars and restaurants. A bit longer if you want to go into Magaluf.

Overall fab week and great hotel!!! Thanks guys!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed in the Gil apartments next door. The staff in the Gabarda were all friendly and made us feel very welcome. The room was very very basic, just 2 single beds, very basic furniture and a small shower room. The room itself was clean and staff came in every day. However we felt that due to the lack of fridge and the very poor shower that would prevent us from booking again. Also, although we did not need it on this occasion, it would be unpleasant without air con in the summer.

The breakfast was included and again was basic but fine although it did not include a drink which was disappointing. No fresh juices were available, just really coffee and other soft drinks. We did not like the fact that other guests were smoking at the breakfast tables, although we acknowledge it was outside.

The location of the hotel was great for us, 5 minutes from the beach and the seafront. We enjoyed a walkout to eat each night. It is also easy to find in the car driving in from the main road. The hotel bar was also well priced and friendly for a pre or post night out drink and has free Wi-Fi.

Overall good, some slight niggles but perfectly fine for the money. It is a budget hotel and probably delivers slightly more than we expected for what we paid. However due to the lack of fridge in the room and the dreadful shower we probably will not book again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at the Gabarda in the middle of October. First impressions were good as the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Room size was fine and we had a balcony although no view. No air con, just a very noisy fan which we weren't able to have on while we slept as just too noisy and this made sleeping difficult due to the heat.
My main complaint was the beds. I didn't get one good nights sleep as they were just so hard, no comfort from them at all. Also, people were coming in at 4 and 5am and making a real noise which woke us up every night, nothing was done about this.
The breakfast was good from the Scottish cook, no complaints. It is a bit away from the action and you do have a bit of a walk to get into Magaluf but there is still plenty within reach. I recommend this hotel if you aren't bothered about the beds as it is very good value for money but just for the beds alone, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

A long time ago we decided to take no notice of star ratings for hotels because we have had great hotels with 2 stars or less and not so good with some 4 stars. This October we booked 5 nights bed and breakfast in the hotel Gabarda having read a variety of reviews on Trip Advisor. Let's get the bad points out of the way first - the pool is tiny and only gets sun in the afternoon. Also there is no lift. The good points are - rooms are quite a decent size and are kept very clean , no air con but a good ceiling fan that was more than adequate in early October. All the staff from the 2 English receptionists to the Irish cook (a real character) and the bar staff are very helpful and pleasant ALL the time we were there. The entertainment at breakfast time from Christine (the cook) who had quite a dry sense of humour was absolutely brilliant. If star ratings were decided on value for money quality of food and helpfulness of the staff this place would be worth at least 4 stars in our estimation.So good we are looking to book again next year

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pershore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

OK so only a one star because of no lift and no air con-but it does have a fan,is spotlessly cleanand brekkie (you pay for drinks) is good.A little away from magalluf and torrenova but bus is regular and only 1.50 .Palma nova a bit quiet end october but during the day plenty to do but you needed to go further to get live entertainment at places like the fountain bar and finnegans .Back to the hotel-its in three bits-the gabarda where the food etc is,the gil-older property and the Matinez-apartments -all nice and clean..Very helpful receptionists and a brilliant cook -you do need to get your brekkie voucher from reception each morning and a slight queue but its all cooked to order .Buses to palma or magaluf very close ,a 24 hour bar on site ,bar snacks in the day .Any trouble is clamped down quick as to be expected close to magaluff.We went as we wantd a good cheap base to explore that side of the island and it fitted the bill perfectly .would recommend if you take on board my comments

Room Tip: front catches the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gabarda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabarda

Address: Roses Bermejo 26, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Gabarda 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gabarda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabarda Hotel Palma Nova
Hotel Gabarda Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gabarda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.