We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gabarda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gabarda to your Saves list
Hotel Gabarda
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roses Bermejo 26, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A fabulous stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

On a girls break from the UK, we stayed at Hotel Garbarda for 4 nights. A clean and well-run hotel...The only downside; having no air conditioning in the room, was countered by the amazingly helpful, friendly and welcoming staff. We took advantage of the 24 hour bar, the breakfasts were freshly cooked and tasty and the menu for other meals was varied, all cooked fresh to order and very good.

Staff were available 24 hours as well. They answered every question, gave great advice about local amenities and arranged the trips we wanted to go on.

The first beach was less than a 5 minute walk away, next to 2 further beautiful beaches. There were many restaurants and bars within a few minutes. We spent a night on the Magaluf strip, about a 20-30 minute walk away!

I'd really recommend this hotel for short stays (due to the hot rooms). We are already looking to book next year with them again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni L, General Manager at Hotel Gabarda, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks girls! Glad you enjoyed yourselves. We hope to see you again next year :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    86
    30
    12
    10
See reviews for
25
93
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed for one week in August with my daughter. We found the hotel very clean, well organised and with very friendly and knowledgeable staff. The rooms don't have aircon which was a small disadvantage but not a problem out of high season. Close to all amenities, some noise from other guests and the road but we were right over the hotel entrance. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

You will receive the warmest welcome of anywhere you have ever been. It's like a cuddle from your Granny. Room is perfectly clean. Maid service EVERY day. For an extra fiver you can have breakfast(full English to fresh fruit.) Just to clarify, that's a fiver for the whole week, not every day. Cannae fault it! (PS if you are one of these people who want 5 star treatment for 2 star prices please leave those of us with an ounce of common sense alone.) And did I mention the 24 hour bar?

Room Tip: The big one on the end. (306)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

HOTEL OVERVIEW
Stayed here for five days. The staff are very friendly and are very knowledgable of the area. The hotel is clean and there are staff on the bar 24 hours a day which helps when reception is closed.

The rooms are very basic and you need to pay for any extras you might need such as a fridge etc. As the room has no air conditioning you can rent a fan but I think that it would be better if you could rent a portable air conditioning unit rather than a fan as this would cool the room rather than circulating hot air.

This hotel attracts a lot of young clientele and our last night here was hell! Arguing, shouting, banging on doors and running up and down. However this was the guests not the hotel and only happened on the last night but what more can you expect in Magaluff?

The only thing that let this hotel down for me was the shower in our room. The shower was completely pointless as there was hardly any water that came through and what did come through was changing from hot and cold continually. We did speak to reception about this and the handy man came and explained that it couldn't be changed as we were on the second floor and the water pressure was poor.

There was also free wifi provided in the reception area but this was unreliable. However, you could pay to use the Internet.

FOOD
All the food is aimed at a young market which is not a problem as this is the clientele. We didn't eat anything other than breakfast or chips in the hotel. We had breakfast included with our booking and this was a good hangover cure and nothing more.

LOCATION
The hotel is 5 mins walk from the beach and a number of restaurants. There is a Lidl supermarket around the corner and this allows you to buy essentials. If you fancy walking into Magaluff it takes 25 mins on the sea front or a taxi will cost you 8-10 euros but the walks nice and you can drink along the way. Around 11pm everything closed around the hotel and you need to head towards Magaluff for the bars that stay open later.

CONCLUSION
I would stay here again in the future but only in a room with good water pressure and if there were more of us. If your young and on a drinking holiday this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We arrived around 11pm on 29th July and were greeted by the night staff who were very helpful and friendly. We found out the next day that all the staff were as cheerful and accommodating. The room was very clean and the maids came every day to change the bedding and towels and we always returned to a clean bathroom. The breakfast that was included in the cost was lovely and set us up for the day. Special mention for Christine whose personality made us eat breakfast with a smile on our faces. The only thing that would stop me returning is the lack of air con, very uncomfortable for a 48 year old woman on tamoxifen ;) but I knew this before I went, I just hadn't anticipated the effect at this very hot time of year as I've never done without it before! I would certainly go again but would pay a but more and stay in the Martinez apps instead. We were very curious about the length of the walk into magaluf (as my daughter works there and I wanted to see her every day). It actually took us at least 30 mins each way but was a nice walk and certainly wouldn't put me off returning. A lovely little place and I would have said 3 star had there been air con. Thanks for a lovely week.

Room Tip: Use the pool at the Martinez appts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Arrived Monday 29th July and was met by Adele who was very efficient and always smiling just like all the other staff. We were a few hours early but within 45 minutes there was one room free and we were at least able to get our luggage up to one room and relax by the pool come dining area.
Lunch served by Christine brilliant lady great fun and good grub what more can you ask.
Rooms sorted everyone settled and as promised moved across to the apartments with air conditioning the following day awesome service. Given the temperature the hotel rooms were a little hot at night but ceiling fans were on and if you wanted a small fee got you a large stand up fan for the week.This was not just Gabarda but nearby hotels guests were also hiring fans after all it was between 35 and 40 degrees every day.
Was a good base for us with 3 teenagers in tow who all were quite happy with the hotel.All rooms are basic but were spotless and comfortable I have been in 3, 4 and 5 star hotels and have found numerous reasons to complain. You do feel like you matter at the Gabarda and that warm friendly feeling just can't be beaten.
Maids did a great job in the rooms ensuring everything was spick and span.
Limited menu in the small kitchen but Christine provides great food realistically a B&B hotel but I could happily have eaten at the hotel every evening had we wished to do so.Given the quality of the food.
Yes some reviews slate the Hotel for having outdated fixtures such as the batch being a little worn and mirrors being a little on the old side but I say to them get a grip and look at the big picture.......Great wee hotel where your welcomed and valued. great service. If your going with a family the Martinez apartments are air conditioned and sleep 4 between 2 rooms.
The Gabarda and Gil is well worth considering so book up relax and enjoy your stay. Bad reviews are by ill advised people or those who just expected 2 much from 1 to 2 star establishment.

Would I stay again yes. Will I go and stay again I sure hope so.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of Gabarda cool quicker at night, Room 204 has a wrap round balcony but was warm a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Arrived at the Gabarda 18 July 2013 for a three night break with my partner, bar and security staff were very friendly on arrival and directed us to our room within minutes. Room basic, spotless, no air con but had a fan on the ceiling, very comfortable and ideal for a little cheeky break. The following morning we went down for breakfast which was served with a lovely smile by a fab cook, lovely hot breakfast and a smile a good start to the day. Reception staff amazing also, very pleasant and helpful. Before arriving we had checked out the pool which was very tiny, something that did not bother us as we went down to the beach. Can only say the weekend was fab, lovely places to stop off and eat. My Tapas is defo worth a try, lovely ambiance, the British Bar round the corner from Banana Joes also is nice for a lunch time snack, served by Ann-marie, lovely friendly lady and if your legs can take the walking a nice stroll up to the Prince William, very reasonable there for drinks. Cant wait to go back to the Gabarda, if you need a base this is the ideal place to go and easy on the purse strings. My partner and I had a lovely few days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gabarda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabarda

Address: Roses Bermejo 26, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Gabarda 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gabarda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabarda Hotel Palma Nova
Hotel Gabarda Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gabarda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.