We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gabarda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gabarda to your Saves list
Hotel Gabarda
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roses Bermejo 26, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“May Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My fiance and I have stayed here on 3 occasions now, and go back because of the friendly and helpful staff and excellent location.
It has an excellent bus service just up the round and fares are very reasonable. It takes less than have an hour to get to the capital Palma, well worth a visit.
Majorca is a beautiful Island and staying in Palma Nova is ideal as a starting point for visiting many places in south of the island.
The first sunday in may has Europe Day which is well worh a visit, with lots of stalls, activities and music, making it a brilliant day out for all ages.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    87
    30
    12
    10
See reviews for
26
94
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights in June (2couples 2rooms), we were delayed by 2 days flying out (because of the French) when we eventually arrived we were greeted by Adele who is brilliant, very friendly and helpful. We explained that as our flight out was delayed we would be leaving a day later so we'd need to stay another night which was no problem but that we'd have to move to an apartment across the road as the hotel was fully booked (not an issue). After we checked in we went to our rooms, they were clean but were very warm, there's a ceiling fan but the room seemed to retain heat! The breakfast was really nice, there's a choice of meals and the chef is brilliant!! There's some pc's for internet access, I think it was €1 for 15 minutes. One problem we did have was one of our rooms was right above reception and at night the main door would BANG whenever someone came home, there were some drunk girls outside one night and we mentioned our issues to Adele the next morning and she said we could move to the apartment early if we'd prefer - so we went to check out the apartment, Martinez. Amazing! It was a 1 bed apt, 4 beds rather than a sofa bed, so it was fine for 4 adults - it had air con, a kitchen and massive balcony and the complex was a lot quieter (if you prefer that) and you can use all the facilities of the Gabarda! There's no reception or bar you go to the hotel to check.
Overall the Gabarda was nice, clean and really friendly - I couldn't really fault it for what it is and for the price of the rooms its hard to find somewhere better but I preferred the Martinez.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor are a bit noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Had an opportunity to have a 7 day holiday, chose to fly out early June on a 3pm flight rather than an early morning start or night flight, So a stay at the Garbarda,Palma Nova won the choice, a bit of a hitch during the French Air Traffic controllers, with us arriving at the hotel much later than expected. Greeted at reception by the staff and assisted to our room in the Gil. Next morning greeted by the friendly english receptionists. It is a one star rating, do not be put off, the welcome is big, the staff friendly, willing and helpfull with everywhere clean. Our bathroom I would think had just been refurbrished, bedroom equiped with a ceiling fan and a small window to open to assist the air circulation. Have to say we enjoyed the stay and it exceeded our expectation, well done to the team, take a look at the appartments managed by the same team.
Turn left you have a short stroll through the residential area which then brings you out at the harbour, or straight across follow the main road down to the roundabout, turn left taking you to the beach or the bus stop with frequent buses to Palma. Also noted that people do walk back from Magalulf after enjoying an evening at BCMs but we are all on holiday.In resonse to the makeover comments in other review, they must remember the Garbarda has only a short season of occupancy.

Room Tip: Christine will soon get to know your breakfast requirement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here this week 15/ June
I have to say thought it looked a bit away from every thing but after getting our bearings it really was not that far away from it all.
The hotel it self was lovely,clean,towels and bedding changed daily,staff very lovely.
The food was lovely and chris the chef was fantastic the meals was a lovely size and cooked to order.
The hotel is about a 5/10 min walk to the beach in palma nova and only a 10/15 min walk to the strip in magaluf ...
I have to say adele the receptionist is a darling...and went the extra mile for me so I must say a massive thank you to her

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in the first week of May 2013. Hotel was fantastic for what we paid. I wouldnt however recommend a stay longer than 4 days, solely due to the size and facilities. Overall staff were lovely. Adele and Tania on reception were fantastic and from day one felt like friend's. Christine is a jem and makes a lovely breakfast which is great for the price we paid. Room was clean with sheets and towels changed daily and a fantastic size with large balcony. Pool was freezing though after witnessing stags urinating in there whilst being watched (undisturbed) by hotel staff... I wasnt really wanting a swim. Overall great for the price we paid though would not pay anymore to stay here. We had a lovely time and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

just returned from 3 days at the gabarda arrived in the afternoon hot and bothered and was given a lovely spotless room within minutes by the lovely English receptionist who told us to come down when we were sorted and she would tell us where everything was, room cleaned every day with fresh towels , lovely cooked breakfast in the morning and you can double the size for 2 euros if you have a big appetite, and Christine with her broad irish accent who does the breakfasts is such a character it just would not be the same here without her ,sitting by the pool in the morning and hearing her shout gurlzzzzz breakfast gurlzzzzz made our mornings a nice little hotel bar open 24 hours for drinks or a bite to eat nothing was to much trouble.
ideal location 5 minutes walk from the beach 10 mins into the main bars and restaurants but such a lovely walk it doesn't seem that far.
anyone loving an indian meal must try THE CURRY LOUNGE , what a place apparently newly open and its gorgeous, we had a drink either beer wine or soft drink, chicken pakora, chicken tikka beautiful basmati rice and cheesy naan bread for 11.50 euros , could not believe how nice it was we went back a second night as it was such good value and the food was the best indian ive ever had , the staff were so accommodating and friendly they couldn't do enough.
would defiantely return to the gabarda and the curry lounge in fact already planning to
if you have booked to stay here don't have any worries loved the place and so will you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days in may for a girls holiday. We didn't want to stay in the centre of magaluf so opted for Palma nova! Was perfect only a 10/15 minute walk along the beach and a taxi back was 4/5 euro! Rooms were very basic, only thing that really let this hotel down! Could have done with abit more room but overall ok! For a girls holiday perfect but would not recommend if family or couple holiday! Breakfast was nice and the staff were always really friendly! Would return if a tiny bit cheaper as we found out we could have stayed in Mallorca rocks for the same kind of price

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gabarda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabarda

Address: Roses Bermejo 26, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Gabarda 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gabarda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabarda Hotel Palma Nova
Hotel Gabarda Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gabarda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.