We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel Faultless. We would happily return to this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Son Matias Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Son Matias Beach to your Saves list
Hotel Son Matias Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
GreenLeadersGold level
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel Faultless. We would happily return to this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a week early November. We went half board and it cost us £350 with Thomson (we bought flights seperately through Monarch) and found it to be amazing value. I could not fault this hotel at all. Service was great, food was great, the room was excellent (with free fast wifi). The clientel is elderly but we found this to be a bonus, no rowdy kids! I cannot stress how impressed I was.
This was our fourth holiday this year, we have been to Tenerife, Menorca and Ibiza with our kids but wanted a quiet break on our own. This is the first hotel in years that we have visited where we would gladly return.
There are events all day but we did not koin in any of them we just relaxed and went for walks and the odd beer. We never eat out of the hotel because the food was so good. We had a massive English breakfast (too full to bother with lunch!) and a nice evening meal. I have seen people moan about the food but on the first night we had soup then my wife had roast beef and yorkshires etc and I had sausage, mash and yorkshire puds with onion gravy followed by profiteroles and cream, How could anyone complain about that? You can stick your beefburgers and chicken nuggets we loved the English food. Absolutely the best.
Five Stars

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    146
    51
    16
    7
See reviews for
55
578
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

All these lovely comments are all true, but not EVERYTHING is as it should be.
I loved the Hotel and Holiday overall but there are some things you may want to know before you go:-

ROOM – The double glazing is not of a high enough grade to cut out the noise from shouting youths at 1 and 6 o’clock in the morning. EAR PLUGS will be useful.
Pigeon droppings en-mass attract BITING insects to the Balcony (bites that cause infection) and the Maids do not automatically clean it up! Yuk! Phone Reception every day to get it removed.
The Fridge is a little cramped for standard 75cl Bottles of wine and water etc.

RESTAURANT – Some of the BLACK serving Spoons become extremely hot under the food heating lights! I had to drop them instantly a few times to prevent burning my hand.
Some of the Meat and Fish dishes become overly dry under the heating lights try to get a fresh one!
When the meal time is over the available Food is QUICKLY whisked away without warning, so keep your eye on the time if you don’t want to miss out on your favorite sweet!

BAR – Quite often the sliding window to the Smoking Area is left slightly open and Smoke drifts right around the Dance Floor.

SHOWS – The seating is limited because the Tables have 4-seats but are usually occupied by 2 people only and newcomers don’t like to impose on others.

POOL – More Parasols needed as at every other Hotel.

BEACH –Because the Sun Loungers are not stacked away and chained up like at other places they attract noisy disruptive youths at 1 and 6 o’clock in the morning! (see ROOM comment)

EXCURSIONS - the free excursion is disappointing, too long in the sales room and not long enough at the sites of interest. Go on a paid excursion if one is available, it's not worth wasting your valuable Holiday time!

These points are why I can only give 3 stars, 1 for the Lovely Staff, 1 for the Magnificent Building and 1 for the Location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

This was our third visit to this hotel,I can not praise it enough.We meet up with many returning guests. Thanks to the hotel team the holiday was so relaxing and brilliant. Javier,Josepha,Carlos,Fidela you are so customer focused. A big thanks once again to Claire entertainments manager keeps every one busy if that's what you want.Food is very good something everything night for even the fussy eater.We also popped into the Miramar for lunch and drinks a couple of times Pedro ,Paco and staff greet you as long lost friends and the foods good too.It's up towards the marina.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Our 5th visit to this hotel so entitled to the Silver V.I.P! This allows discounts at the bar! The hotel staff are all very helpful and pleasant. The dining room and foyer has been renovated since our last visit and is much improved. The food is good and plenty of it. Entertainment each evening, some of it not too good ,but saying that it is free and you can always visit other local hotels.! Weather permitting games are held outside during the day. There is a small library where books can be left for other guests to read. There is also a smoking room with air conditioning. No children under 16 are allowed at this hotel which is what we like! All the rooms command great views over the beach and sea. The hotel has a swimming pool and a jacuzzi.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

We stayed here for 4 days in late Oct then moved to Santa Ponsa (this was the better hotel but cost far less than the other). I think that the reviews about the hotel are fair - the location is fantastic with immediate access to the beach and sea front walkway. I thought that the food was good but I did get the sense that staff wanted to clear dinner as early as poss - OK for older people wanting to eat at tea time but younger guests would have liked the chance to eat later at a liesurely pace. The food quality seemed good on the whole.

We had a room on the top floor and the view was wonderful. The rooms are basic but the only thing missing is a fridge.

In our early 50s we thought the evening entertainment was a bit dated (ballroom dancing and then a UK singer/comedian). Actually, once we'd moved to our next hotel we'd have been greatful for any entertainment (there was none there). As mentioned, the two ladies who do the entertainment do like the regulars but that said, they put some effort in. There's a quiz every day and a sideline (usually low level gambling activity) every evening.

All the staff were pleasant and despite us arriving at 10.00am, we had our room by 10.40am.

A lot has been said about new people not feeling welcome/involved but that didn't bother us and most of the regulars were sweet older people. Of course they want their routines, the same chairs and sun loungers - its what older people do.

If I could recommend one hotel in Majorca for my mum - this would be it, and I might even go again myself.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

This hotel has many positives and the location is second to none, virtually on the well maintained beach at Palma Nova. The building design means that every room has a great panoramic view of Palma Bay.Obviously the higher the floor the more this view is enhanced. During warmer weather the self service dinning area offers the opportunity to eat on the veranda "El fresco" for about 20+ covers.
The rooms are small but include good amenaties, kettle, safe flat screen TV and all rooms have a balcony.
The food choice in the restraunt is good and varied but geared very much to UK tastes. The staff are very effecient but the "Maitre De" is nothing short of a bully sceaming at staff to clear the tables for the next dinners. If you eat early the food is hot, but the later you dine it tends to be tepid.
The pool area is good but very small and suffers from the towel on beds "syndrome" and regular guests think it is their divine right to occupy the same bed every day of their stay.
The hotel has a 4 star classification and on a larger site has the potential to be 5 star, but for the following reasons the hotel in my opinion, is a typical 3 star and only its superb location justifies the 4 star.
The major issues are as follows.
The hotel policy is to encourage guests to return year after year and this policy offers price discounts, gifts etc to regulars. This policy and location attracts the older British guest many of whom lack mobility and a lot of them have the attitude that they own the hotel.
Many guests never leave the hotel during their stay and they develop this attitude of thats my chair and thats my lounger. They sit in the lounge area from 7.00pm until the main entertainment commences at 10.00pm with a bottle of water and when more guest enter the lounge seats are a premium.
The two large ladies (English) entertainers are very friendly, but focus only on regulars if you are not known they ignore you completely, which could be a blessing! The entertainment standard is fairly good but again all the acts originate from the UK and all use awful backing tape systems which has the feel of "kari -oki" In the two weeks of our stay we never saw any Spanish entertainment.
There only two lifts in the hotel and because of the age of guests these are fairly busy most of the time.
Other downsides include quite basic things such as 24 euro deposits for pool towels, if you want a fridge and a safe deposit box then you will required to depart with over 100 euros which is a fair chunk of anyones' spends budget in 2 weeks. Most of it is refunded but that money is not much use when you are departing for home.
There are kettles in every room but they limit you two one tea bag and one coffee satchet per day per person which is a bit mean especially when the weather is bad.
In summary we enjoyed our stay the weather was good and as stated the Hotel location is unbeatable for the beach and local ameneties, but the hotel is geared for UK guests and no under 18's are allowed once inside you could be anywhere in the UK. We paid over £2,000+ for 2 weeks (inc flights), but weather apart we felt as though we were in a British retirement home.
If you do go make sure you book a trip to Soller (by 1920's train/tram) which will provide you with a scenic delight and a real insight into true Spanish culture. Book via local agents in Palma and not your travel agents and you will save a chunk of money.
Dont be frightened of leaping on the local buses (TIBS red/cream) to see this beautiful Island. They are cheap and cheerful and very regular

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Visiting the Son Matias Beach hotel for the first time, the GOOD BITS we found it a very clean and pleasant hotel with lots to do, the entertainment was absolutley fabulous, Clare and Heather in charge of the games and entertainment were the best I have known, they were just suberb. The rooms were clean and bright with fantastic views over the bay, the pool area was excellent with sunbeds always available. All staff were very friendly and helpful. NOW for the BAD BITS, the food was a let down, with not much commitment from the kitchen, luke warm veg with not much of a selection to choose from,at breakfast the bacon was burnt, the fried eggs hard and sausages not cooked through properly, main meals mashed potato was instant and looked like porridge - all runny, the roast meat is hacked into chunks, and on roast lamb nights its kept under lights so long the meat was so dry it resembles tree bark. We did not see anyone check the food temperatures until a letter of complaint was written to the manager who never had the decency to reply. We complained to our rep who was most helpful, he helped us fill in a satisfaction form, only then did the meals improve a little.Many other guests also commented on the quality of the food and said the meals had deteriorated since their previous visits, The desserts were not too bad on the whole, but I think serving the same hot dessert ( there was always a choice of 2 ) on 4 consecutive evenings was a bit much. The salads were ok but could do with more choice. We understand that the Son Matias Beach is hoping to obtain 5 star status..... as it stands now, I think this unlikely due to the way the food is presented and the choice available. Lets hope Thomson Holidays and the two brothers that own this hotel pull their socks up because the location is fantastic and the hotel cannot be faulted in any other way. This is an honest assessment of what we experianced

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Address: Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Son Matias Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.