We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Shame about the Pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Son Matias Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Son Matias Beach to your Saves list
Hotel Son Matias Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
GreenLeadersGold level
Birmingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Shame about the Pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was our first visit to the Son Matias and on arrival we were really pleased with the hotel and location. The staff are excellent, rooms are clean and we could not fault the food as I believe there is something to suit everyone. However the situation with regards to the pool needs to change. My partner and I are early risers and would go for breakfast at 7.30ish, we could not believe that people were queuing to get their favourite spot when the gate to the pool did not open until 9.00am (way too late in my opinion). On the one day we did get a good spot in the sun we witnessed people placing their towels and then going for breakfast or walks, on some occasions placing towels for friends also. This resulted in us having to pay 13.5 euros a day for beds on the beach when we are not really beach lovers. I understand that some guests have been holidaying at this hotel for years, and a new system may upset them, but if new guests aren't happy with little things then they won't return, and new guests opinions should count if Son Matias wants them to be future returning guests. I think that if people have been for breakfast early they should be given a pass to enter the pool and not have to waste an hour or so of their holiday a day queuing (your room card gets swiped each time you go for a meal). For this reason only, I would not return to this hotel unless the pool policy changed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    137
    46
    16
    7
See reviews for
54
539
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Hotel Son Matias is a wonderful Hotel. My husband and I stayed for 2 weeks in May and we both had a very enjoyable stay. The Hotel is very clean and the Rooms are bright with attractive furniture, comfortable beds and tea/coffee making facilities.There is a large balcony with a table and comfortable chairs and every room has a beautiful sea view. The Entertainment at night is very good with something to suit all tastes.Outside there is a good sized Pool, a Jacuzzi and comfortable sun loungers.The food is excellent in both quality and variety and the staff are very efficient and helpful. The Thompson Rep was especially helpful. The Son Matias is superbly situated with the Promenade right outside, which was ideal for me as I have mobility problems. We can wholeheartedly recommend this lovely Hotel and we have already booked again for next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Wonderful Hotel, superb location, excellent food, great facilities for wheelchair users. Very friendly and helpful staff! Especially the two Entertainment Staff: Jess and Kelly, they help to make the holiday that extra bit special!!
This was our first time at the Son Matias Beach and we have already booked to go again next year.
Thanks for a brilliant holiday!
Kevan & Lynne Baker

Room Tip: All rooms have superb views and we found ours - on the very front of the hotel, facing the beach, ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Clean, very profesional staff all round. We stayed for two weeks which was a shade too long as we felt the staff were focused on business only and did not have the friendly touch, especially the bar staff. We are in our sixties but the ambience of the hotel felt much more senior than even we are. We will not be returning, We'll leave it to the regulars.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Hotel very nice, food really good lots of choice, rooms very comfortable, and clean ,as is all the hotel.but to many rules made me feel like a child , myself my husband and 4 relatives chose this hotel because it was close to our very pregnant niece , on arrival we asked at reception if our niece could sit with us around the pool on a chair (not a sun bed) we were told yes that was ok however the next day a member of the entertainment staff told us that someone had complained that our niece was a visitor and should not be in there, We were very upset as her grandparents were looking forward to spending some time with her, as they won't see her now until next year, we payed a lot of money to stay in this hotel and can not believe they were so petty about this,I am to believe the complaint came from not one of the guests BUT a member of the entatainment staff, I will not be returning to this hotel it spoilt our holiday ,,,

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea chose a high floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

First time at this hotel. One of the best we have ever stayed in. Staff very helpful. Rooms superb with tea making facilities complete with starter pack of water, milk and biscuits. Selection and quality of food excellent. We both like porridge and were pleased to see this as a breakfast choice. Hotel location ideal right on the beach. All in all we had a wonderful holiday and can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My heading says everything about the " Son Matias ". It is a superb hotel with an excellent staff who work hard and are extremely friendly.
The food is cooked to a high standard in a clean and immaculate dining area - part of which is in the open air.
Although we have grandchildren, it is pleasnat to enjoy a relaxing week around the pool that is child free.
We have already booked for 2015.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view so there is no preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Address: Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#5 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Son Matias Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.