We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Son Matias Beach Hotel - 12th April -14” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Son Matias Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Son Matias Beach to your Saves list
Hotel Son Matias Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
GreenLeadersGold level
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Son Matias Beach Hotel - 12th April -14”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Have just returned from a great week at the Son Matias Beach hotel in Palmanova. A really friendly hotel with first class food, and superb position on the beach. First hotel we've been to that really cater for the British tourist. I would certainly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    137
    46
    16
    7
See reviews for
54
539
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We arrived on the 1st April and stayed 11 nights, this was our 1st Hotel holiday for some years we usually cruise, We had a truly amazing holiday, the hotel was immaculate and our room, had a wonderful veiw straight over the bay, there was always plenty of choice at mealtimes to suit all tastes, and great entertainment everynight with the exception of one, as it was early season the clientele were mostly retired couples so line dancing and tea dances most afternoons, but we were out and about so no problem there not too busy so always plenty of sunbeds, thanks to all staff we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed the first 2 weeks in April 2014. For me it was a holiday to recuperate and we couldn't have chosen a better place.

Most of the good things I want to say have all been said by previous reviewers and I can only agree with them all. Superb in every way - location, hotel, room, service, food, staff, ambience, attitude

Both my husband and I celebrated our birthdays whilst we were there and both of us received a bottle of bubbly, some delicious biscuits and a card from the hotel. It was a delightful surprise and very thoughtful.

Anything I could find to criticise would be just nit picking so I'm not even going to go there.

Room Tip: We had a pool view room and received direct sun from dawn until about 3pm. We sat on our balcony mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My birthday was while we were away and the hotel organised me a nice surprise of birthday card choc biscs and champagne in ice bucket left in our room. Had a good week very friendly staff, good food, comfy room and entertainment every evening.

Room Tip: all rooms have a sea view we were also looking over the pool which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

got back sat 19/4/14 the guests at the hotel are mainly from the uk.It is a very popular with guests going back very frequently The reception was very good altho we had to wait an hour for our room Keith (receptionist) kept us informed about the situation which was good so we had a few bevvies in the bar.The bar staff Darrell and Susan were just great all the time we were there .They certainly work long hours.The hotel is spotless the rooms are cleaned every day and bedding changed we also had a fridge no charge with complimentary water bottles 2 also there was 2 cartoons of milk The safe was 28 euros for 11 days but you got 6 euros returnable We had a room that looked over the pool and onto the son matais beach very nice to. The food you cant fault English breakfast every day and roast dinners at night and loads more besides I think we were spoiled as the weather was terrific we had 1 day which was cloudy the rest of the time it was 70+ we did venture out a few nights to explore the locality and there a few nice bars and restaurants very close by The sun beds were available as it was early april might not be the same later in the season .The entertainments at night were not bad considering but the star of the show is JESSICA she kept everyone amused with her bubbly personality and shes the worlds best bingo caller!!!! (got them lights fixed Jessie) also she entertains guests during the day darts,crazy golf,you name it Jess does it .all in all it is a good hotel the food the position it is in and the staff are all very good .Also it is adults only

Room Tip: pool view 4 floors+
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just back from a week in the Son Matias (12-19 April) + can honestly say we did not want to come home! This was our second visit having stayed before but some 10 yrs ago. The hotel has been nicely refurbished + although the rooms are not large they are more than adequate and nicely decorated, have tea/coffee making facilities, complimentary fridge with milk and water- which was good for having a refreshing cuppie on arrival after hours of travelling. There is a modern slimline TV which has BBC 1 + 2, ITV + Ch4, Sky News, small table + chair, dressing table stool/mirror, twin beds with slightly firm memory foam mattresses + ample storage in wardrobes. The bathroom was adequate in size, water always hot enough, complimentary toiletries, and lovely thick soft towels which were changed daily. Balcony has table/chairs and drying rack for clothes. Only down side was poor soundproofing between rooms as you did hear conversations/TV etc - but it didn't really bother us too much.
We were on 6th floor - all rooms have sea views but we also had pool view. Corridors are carpeted so no noise from other guests coming/going. Booking in was quick + efficient and Reception staff are friendly + helpful. Being on 6th floor we used the lifts regularly without any problem. The hotel is immaculate throughout.
Food is served in a light and airy dining room with ample room between tables (your room card is required for entering) or you can sit outside. The Maitre and dining room staff are all pleasant, friendly and efficient. Drinks can either be paid for after each meal or billed. The choice, quality and standard of food was very good both at breakfast and dinner, with the meat (lamb, steak, roasts + ham) actually having a taste to it...unlike some hotels. Only one soup on offer but a good choice of main courses + fantastic choice of desserts - as one guest commented it was like being in a sweet shop + wondering what to choose! Definitely something for everyone! So top marks + compliments to the chef + his staff for producing such lovely meals - the best we have had for some time in a Spanish hotel!
Although there is supposed to be a no reserving of sunbeds rule this is totally ignored, with lots of folk actually Q'ing for when the doors are opened at 9am - rather annoying especially if you want one of the comfy round beds with mattress + cushions....and see them lying empty for hours with towels draped over them.....so if you can't beat them....!! Water in the pool was cold so we were never in but the jaccuzzi was lovely and warm. There was daytime entertainment for those who wished to participate....mainly older guests, but we were not impressed with the rep as she tended to focus on her 'regulars' ....forgetting about new arrivals.....and this continued into the evening entertainment. As always there is usually one guest who constantly requires to be in the limelight throughout the stay...during our week it was 'Ron' who liked to perform....leaving his poor wife on her own......+ the rep kept encouraging him....amusing to start with but tedious by the end of the week :( Evening entertainment we found amateurish but we did watch a couple of the vocalists - drinks are overpriced - especially Bacardi Breezer (orange flavour only) which cost 5.50 euro and the sangria at 10.70 euro had no taste of any alcohol (maybe this was because it was on special offer!), gin + tonic 4.30 euro, bottle of san Miguel 2.80 euro and 1/2 pint cider 2.90 euro. Many older guests sat with one drink or no drink throughout the evening entertainment. However there are plenty bars/cafes with cheaper prices outwith the hotel + Magaluf is only 5 min walk - would recommend Finnegans Irish Bar for a good night of irish/popular music + tribute acts. Reps were available daily at certain times for booking trips/info etc and they were also friendly + helpful.
The hotel is well situated, with bus stop just outside - we took the local bus to Paguera - cost 2.70 euro single fare - nice beach + better shops - delicious Italian ice-cream from Tutti Frutti - who also have a shop in Palmanova :)
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Son Matias, would recommend it to others and would like to return again - maybe next year!

Room Tip: We requested a quiet, sunny room if possible + were given room on 6th floor which had pool and sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I don't normally write reviews but really thought I should as what a fantastic hotel it was!
We booked it very late so got an incredible deal (felt like we had robbed them!), when arriving we were all more than impressed at the hotel, as we were all in our early 20's we have stayed in magaluf down the road and what a difference a mile makes to the quality! Like many have said it is for the older generation but we didn't feel out of place at all, everyone was lovely and we even got involved in the games! If your well behaved young people who still want to party but return to a lovely clean/safe/quiet hotel after a night out, then it is perfect!!! Food was incredible, so much choice and always lovely, didn't have one bad meal! Only saw bits of the evening entertainment and was very good! It's only a few minutes walk to all the bars / clubs ect but wouldn't encourage groups of rowdy stag dos to stay here, it's far too nice!! Honestly can't find a fault, apart from the pool was a bit cold but probably down to the time of year!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Address: Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#5 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Son Matias Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.