We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Son Matias Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Son Matias Beach to your Saves list
Hotel Son Matias Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
GreenLeadersGold level
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We have stayed here twice now & re-booked for 2014. The standard is first class, reception extremely helpful, all rooms have a sea or pool view, its an adults only hotel, the food is the best, so fresh and something for everyones taste and plentiful. The pool is a little on the small side but you have the sea directly outside the gate. PalmaNova is a pleasant friendly place, flat for walking, local buses are cheap and easy to use. It is only 2hrs from the UK which is great and the sun is always shining!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    137
    46
    16
    7
See reviews for
54
539
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed at the end of October. Clientele were definitely of elderly variety so entertainment geared to them Got a little tired of the playing of same line dancing music night after night. However view fromsea view room was superb. Staff were very helpful and friendly. A little disappointed that the resort began closing around us.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is our second trip to this hotel and we were very impressed by the improvements that have been made since our last visit. The hotel has a modern, contemporary feel and could not have a better location - right on the beach. The flat screen TVS in public areas provided useful information about the entertainment and daily menus etc. Our room was very comfortable, including the beds and even the chairs on the balcony. Our room was quiet and because we did not go in high summer we did not experience the noise at night from the promenade as has been suggested during summer months. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. The only slight negative is that the food was a bit repetitive and we were very disappointed that we were only permitted 2 teabags, 2 coffees,2 sugars and 2 milk per day in our room. Not good for a 4 star hotel.What really annoyed my husband was the fact that every time you went to the bar for a bottle of water or a coffee, the change was presented in a 'tip saucer'. No one minds tipping good service but just passing you a bottle of water is hardly deserving of a tip. Having said that, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This was our first visit to Son Matias Beach but it won't be our last! All the staff were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The bar and restaurant areas were clean and comfy. The food was just superb, more like a 5 star hotel. We stayed for 14 nights and not once did we have a disappointing meal. For us, the bonus was being able to eat breakfast and our evening meal out on the terrace, overlooking the beach.
Our room was clean, comfy and spacious, overlooking the blue/green sea, with a big balcony with table and chairs.
The Bali beds by e pool were lovely. The evening entertainment was good too.
Overall, one of he best holidays we have had, with the hotel exceeding our expectations!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny, with uninterrupted views of the beach/sea and the pool. This is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Again we had a great holiday at the son Matias hotel all the staff are great and they cater for you so well, it was my birthday when we were there and they brought me a bottle of champagne lovely touch we will be there again next year the hotel is in a great spot right next to beach and plenty around you the hotel also has entertainment thru the day in to evening well worth going to this hotel .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonypandy, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just returned from a fab holiday at the Son Matias Beach Hotel, and we had a wonderful time. We haven't had a holiday there since 2009, but the way the staff greeted us was as if they had seen us recently. We had beautiful gifts because it was our 5th visit as well. The staff are so friendly, and since we were there last the Hotel has been refurbished, and looks very fresh and modern. The food was very good too, quite a nice selection to choose from. We won't be leaving it so long for our next visit.. See you soon we hope....

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an uninterrupted view of the sea, the view is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Once again my wife and sister in law thoroughly enjoyed there stay at "The Son Matias Beach Hotel, Well catered for and looked after to such a high standard. The staff are extremely helpfull, wether it`s catering staff or bar staff even down to the maids, they all add to the experience.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter" "Corner suites are large and sunny" &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Address: Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#5 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Son Matias Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.