We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Son Matias Beach

Save Saved
You added Hotel Son Matias Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Son Matias Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just got back today , this hotel is as near to perfection as your gonna get.The quality of the food is superb with sea views for everyone .Entertainment is good but some nights are better than others,well done Ivan .Staff are great AND the people staying there are friendly too .One minor issue ,given there are a lot of older people staying there , i think slip mats should be fitted in all the baths.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views but some overlook the pool as well,we preferred the ones directly facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    433
    126
    40
    16
    7
See reviews for
47
448
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Spent a lovely long week end here towards the end of September.
I have stayed here before, and it is nothing short of perfect.
Could not be better situated. It is right on the beach, every room has sea view,
The hotel is spotless, the food plentiful, and the staff are really polite.
The Hotel is adults only - can be a bit on the elderly side.
Close to shops bars and restaurant.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, well be going again here - very soon.

Room Tip: Every room has a sea view and the corner suites are large - with a double balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed in the Son Matias Beach after a week on cruise ship, and we were glad that we read Trip Advisors reviews before we booked this hotel is the best hotel we have ever stayed in, all the staff are so pleasant the food is first class the rooms are lovely with sky tv. And free wi-fi tea and coffee facilities in the rooms, stayed in hotel Santa Lucia last year but not so good as Son Matias because they had an all inclusive option which spoiled it and was a bit rowdy at times. We stayed in Son Matias at the end of August and are booked to go back next year so thanks again Trip Advisor your reviews were SPOT ON

Room Tip: Every room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

we have stayed in many hotels in different countries,and this is the best yet, as it is an adults only hotel,customers come back year after year and this was our 8th year and already booked for next year the hotel is situated right on the beach and in walking distance of bars and shops, food and entertainment excellent,staff very friendly, roll on june.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Spent a great 3 nights here on a last minute break this weekend.

Myself and my friend were by far the youngest guests as we are in our late 20s however this did not bother us in the slightest.

From the moment we arrived every member of staff we encountered was friendly and provided an excellent service.
The room we had was fantastic and the views over the bay from our balcony was exceptional.
The food was excellent and varied and the restaurant area was very clean.
The location is amazing - I'd easily say this is the best hotel in Palma Nova.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I have spent the last 14 most wonderful days at your superb hotel. we were given a fantastic room on the lower floor 104 (at our request) overlooking Palma bay.
We would like to thank the management and all the staff for your kindness shown to ourselves and all your guests and always with a smile, that counts for so much today. the whole hotel is spotless, the food is great, so much choice. Many of your guests return year after year and you can see why. This was our second visit to your hotel and we will return next year to see you all again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortaillod, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What can you say which have not been said before? Central location. Don’t rent a car for you will not need it. The bus to Palma stops on the side of the building. Friendly and very clean. Room 707 has spectacular views of the beach. I spent most days just sitting on the balcony, reading books and getting a spectacular suntan. Paid for all-inclusive which included b-fast and dinner. Most clientele are British so most accommodations are pointed in their direction. I had no problem since I have lived in England for 5 years. Usually buffet style with roast beast and full English and a few local dishes that I gobbled up in abandon (especially the deserts). Pay attention to the video screens for it will announce activities and menu items so you can plan your day in advance. This is not the Four Seasons and they do not pretend to be. Very handy-capable so if you have movement issues I don’t think it would be an issue. You can even rent an electric scooter, which is stationed in the front.

Room Tip: above 3rd floor. beach side has better view but the pool side has direct sun longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Address: Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#4 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Son Matias Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.