We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Son Matias Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Son Matias Beach

Save Saved
You added Hotel Son Matias Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Son Matias Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Aberdeen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Son Matias Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had some doubts but they were blown away on the 1st day at the Hotel.
1st Class hotel, Hotel staff were very helpfull , the Hotel was exceptionally clean and the food was excellent, fantastic location with easy access to the beach if required.

Room Tip: Standard room is very good, twin or double, but Junior Suite is very worth while if you want that ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    133
    44
    16
    7
See reviews for
50
499
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyde, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a week at Son Matias Beach. It is as good as all the comments made. In particular the food. It was of a high standard and always a good choice but, most importantly, the food was always hot, where in some hotels it is only luke warm at best. The hotel is spotless, The majority of the entertainment was excellent. Could not be faulted. I did ask about availability for September but it is fully booked until end of October - that speaks for itself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent a week at The Son Matias Beach Hotel. The hotel and the surrounding areas were spotless. Our room was cleaned to a high standard everyday, including clean towels everyday.

The food was good. All buffet style, lots of choice in the morning cooked breakfast or cereals and lots of fresh fruit. Evening meals were also good,if maybe a little repetitive.

The pool area was spotless and there were plenty of sunbeds, even though people were queuing for them at 9.00 in the morning when the gate area was unlocked for the pool area to open.

Being an adults only hotel the guests were much older than us. 60-80's.Some of them would talk to you some wouldn't. There was a lack of atmosphere in the hotel I felt because of this, however there were a few younger guests.

If you like hanging with the oldies then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Loved this hotel, stayed for one week July 6th after a weeks cruise, the view from rooms is amazing. The food is great, staff are hard working and friendly the hotel is very well run. Entertainment good, nice pool area and always got a sun bed without queuing.Out and about there were plenty of places to walk lots of bars and restaurants, never been to Majorca before really liked it and will come again and will stay at this hotel could not fault it. Not going to mention staff by name as they were all good.

Room Tip: we came with two other couples and didn't,t specify a choice, were given rooms on second floor n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our 25th year at the Son Matias,you work all year and why hope you like somewhere ,my wife and i were blown away with the whole holiday Thanks to Fiedla for our room with the new power shower the new room interiors are light and the food ,i put on a lot of weight,big effort made by all staff for our 25th thanks to Andres for our gift ,pride of place at home you cant get better than this hotel the beach,the sunrise then at night some of the islands top shows.Big change on our last night the air con was put on in the drinks celler cold cold beer and cider.Spotless clean as ever from top to bottom it is like coming to see a extended family the welcome from the first entrance to the last goodbyes you can not get better at this resort as the list of hotels shows.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a long weekend at the hotel with 3 girlfriends had some reservations after reading reviews that we'd stand out a mile as all in 30's , very early 40's but have to say the reviews about it being all 'oldies' were simply not true - pretty typical mix of ages without the kids - perfect for a relaxing break. Met some really lovely people and anyone who can't enjoy a chat and activties etc with older people are lacking in social skills in my opinion - everyone was a great laugh.

We were booked b&b but ended up paying to eat in hotel on 2 nights 15 euros each and well worth it - house wine 8e a bottle too. No problem getting a sunbed , everything very clean and great staff across the board - really didn't want to come home ! I'll definitely be back with the hubbie

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

just returned from the son matias hotel after a 10nights stay once again another relaxing holiday
excellent food the cleanliness, is of a very high standard and the staff are all very friendly the entertainment was good we had a great holiday i would like to thank the hotel for the lovely champagne and card they delivered to my room for my birthday looking forward to returning next year and meeting up with all our friends

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Address: Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#4 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Son Matias Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.