We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Son Matias Beach

Save Saved
You added Hotel Son Matias Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Son Matias Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Lancs
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I am really struggling here trying to find something new to say about this hotel but I can't, I can only agree with all the good reviews and say that this is the first hotel that my wife would agree to return to. Every good thing that people have written about this hotel is true. I only have one suggestion and that is to buy a little more land so as to allow more sunbeds.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the beach are quieter than those near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    133
    44
    16
    7
See reviews for
50
500
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I returned from the Son Matias Beach last weekend, by the next day we had booked to go again. It was the best Hotel we have stayed in (so far). From the Reception to the House Keeping Staff everyone was so friendly and polite. So clean and airy - yes most guests were probably 60 plus but that's no bad thing. The evening shows were very good, but if you didn't want to go these there were other places outside the Hotel ie Bars etc. The beach was lovely and the water very clear and calm and across the prom. and you were back in the grounds of the Hotel. A good idea regarding the pool loungers as some people were known to put towels on them and go off for the day in peak season I think this would be rather annoying. We had no problem finding a lounger. The pool was lovely and the fact that there were steps down into it proved very good with someone with a bad back or walking problems. We had a wonderful time, great food (the best) and now looking forward to returning to the Son Matias and enjoying another wonder time.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer to the beach would probably be quieter, we had one near the front of the Hotel and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

have just returned from week at son matias the staff and food were excellent and it is spotless I am 44 and travelled with a female friend made me feel about 70 ! came home and booked for my 87 year old mother everybody over 60 and the people in the restaurants that we went to in the evening laughed when we said where were staying . stayed in the premier inn in Liverpool the night before the flight rooms in matias no better only with a balcony . if you go to your room for a shower or for the loo they put a ticket on your lounger and take the towels off even though I told the lady at the pool I would only be 10 mins . would go back in 20 years ! pimp my zimmer

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you need a relaxing holiday, marvelous view, great hotel, beach in front of you and still be in the prime position there is no better place in Palmanova. And I'm pretty confident, as we have been in 5 different hotels before this one.
Still not convinced? Did I mention nice pool + jacuzzi, enough sun beds and love seats, free wifi and a pool bar serving English draught beer?
Service is very good, staff and waiters very helpful, food is very British but not exclusively with an extensive desert choice.
It is visible that the hotel has been recently refurbished, as all seems contemporary.
Rooms are small, interior very nice - all rooms have a sea view.
Some constructive comments and warnings: at 4-star level you cannot charge for safe deposit box and usage of refrigerator and please have some Italian-style espresso.
Helpful hints: close your balcony doors if you want to sleep (especially on Saturday evening), as you risk to be woken by future wannabe star returning from Magaluf.
And big thanks to Cala Blanca management for not being flexible and making us discover this hotel.
Looking forward to next year and return to Son Matias!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had asuperb holiday.Look forward to going back in the near future. Resteraunt was five star,food delious,much better than on ship.Cleanise execlent Entertainment was very good.It
was noisey sometimes early morning when the outside clubs came out,otherwise excellent.

Room Tip: We had a good room on the 4 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is ideal for a relaxing time.we were b&b.there are many eateries nearby, the tribute groups are very good each evening and the staff very helpful re bus times to villages.The rooms are clean and buffet breakfast good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent hotel, perfect location,,cannot fault the food. Entertainment very good every night and very friendly Management and Staff.

We have been going over 11 years and have just arrived home from our 21st stay at the hotel so that should tell you all you need to know.

Room Tip: All the rooms are facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Address: Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#4 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Son Matias Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.