We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cruise and stay holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Son Matias Beach

Save Saved
You added Hotel Son Matias Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Son Matias Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cruise and stay holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel along with a weeks cruise. We have stayed in many Spanish hotels but I have to say this is the best one we have ever been in. The food was excellent with plenty to choose from and the decor of the rooms were lovely with everything that you need, Entertainment was varied. I do admit the age group of the guests were elderly but it did not spoil our time there and would have no hesitation in going back to son matias hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the sea we were on the second floor and it was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    433
    126
    40
    16
    7
See reviews for
47
448
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just returned from two week stay at the SMB. From reading previous reviews, most stated it was an over 50's age group. My husband and I are in our 50's and we were the youngest guests there for the first week and felt like teenagers. On the first night all we could see was white hair, walking sticks and zimmer frames. As the majority of the guests are repeat customers we felt like outsiders and felt unwelcome and that there was an atmosphere. I personally do not think the repeat customers are doing this hotel any favours.

Aside from the age group, the hotel is immaculate and in a stunning location, we had a suite on the third floor and the view was amazing. The breakfast was good, but unfortunately I cant really say the same about dinner. The soup was obviously out of a packet and was like dishwater and pretty tasteless. Only one fish choice and this was usually overcooked and full of bones. If you like steak and kidney pie and apple crumble (not what I want when on holiday, or at home) then you will enjoy. Overall I think the food is geared to the elderly guests.

I would certainly not return to this hotel early or late in the season because of the age group of the clientele, who apparently all go back again in September!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool United
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have just returned from our first visit to this hotel. We were very impressed. After a speedy and courteous check in, we found our room to be spacious and tastefully decorated together with a good sized bathroom with bath/shower together with a good supply of toiletries. There is also tea and coffee making facilities, which is unusual for a Spanish hotel. The cleanliness in this hotel is faultless both in our room and all public areas.

The location of this hotel is fantastic, just a short step right onto the beach with access onto the lovely promenade from the back of the hotel. A high floor is a must, the views are beautiful.

The food is some of the best we have had, a very good choice at breakfast and dinner. The hotel caters very much for the British taste (all British guests) and it was obvious that many came here year after year. I agree with a previous reviewer about the age of the guests, we are no spring chickens (60 plus) but I have to say, we felt quite young compared to some of the people staying there!

The pool area can get very crowded, no chance of a lounger in the morning, although I was very impressed with the rule they have of removing towels and belongings. If a lounger is left for more than an hour, a sticker is placed on the bed and if it is still there an hour later, the towels are removed. I wish other hotels implemented this rule, as it gives other guests a fairer chance of securing a bed.

The dining room is modern and airy, there are also tables outside and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. However, I was very surprised to see a few gentlemen in shorts at dinner, I don't think it is too much to ask for the gentlemen to wear long trousers at dinner, after all this is a 4* hotel.

Daytime entertainment: Plenty going on if you want to join in.
Evening " : Different artist each evening, very average but we did see an excellent tribute Neil Diamond, the best act of the week.

Jacinta and Megan work very hard to keep everyone entertained.

Would recommend Son Matias Beach Bar next door to hotel, ideal for coffees, drinks and snacks.

Incidentally, I was badly bitten by mosquitos on our first night there, they had a feast on both of my legs - take insect repellent!

Room Tip: Go for a high floor, some noise in the early hours from revellers returning from the bars. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Had a really lovely stay at this hotel,beautiful location,food was the best we've had at any hotel we've been to,if any criticism is the age of the other clientele I'm 60and I think I was the youngest one there,not really into line/ ballroom dancing,also think its a bit much when you have to pay for a key to use the fridge

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

lovely hotel, clean, we'll located, friendly staff BUT The Age profile of this hotel needs reducing dramatically. we have just come back from 2 weeks staying here and were glad to be relieved of looking after the elderly and very frail clientele. I thought we had gone to an old people's home instead of a 4 star hotel in Palma Nova. Line/ballroom dancing, not for me. I got fed up of people saying, "we've been coming here for 20/30 years, this is our seat, we have always done it this way! My husband and I are indeed pensioners ourselves, BUT we are not ready for the knackers yard yet!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam Warwickshire uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hotel right on beach with all rooms having sea views. Hotel room and bathroom excellent. Staff friendly and helpful and all spoke excellent English and nothing was too much trouble for them. A word of warning, this hotel does seem geared to accommodating the older and not so able generations , (hotel offers raised toilet seats and other aids)! Evening entertainment also leans this way but can't comment too much on this as we found a couple of very pleasant bars on which to spend the evening.

Food was excellent, a carvery joint every night along with copious other choices, puds to die for, breakfast was equally as good but would have preferred a bit more Mediterranean breakfast foodstuffs instead of a good old English 'fry up'!
Excellent idea of having antibacterial hand wash to be used on entry to restaurant.

Extra charge for the fridge in room should be dropped and would welcome decaff coffee and UHT milk instead of powdered in room.

Found it very easy to find way round resort and as we are a young and fit 60+couple walked into Magaluf and Portal Nous and drooled over the yachts of the rich!

All in all a very pleasant week's break in the sun. Would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room, as this will cut down on any noise coming from late night revellers walking ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

another fantastic 2 week holiday 1 week on the tompson dream and then back to son matias can,t fault anything the reviews speak for themselves 2nd year for us looking forward to next year in march saw a lot of familiar faces from last year including staff food excellent location dream like hotel brilliant a big thankyou to all the staff for a week of heaven good job we don't claim for weight gain !! not forgetting the choice of desserts yummy just 2 comments drop the fridge charges and sack aTOMic jones !!! he,s pathetic xxx

Room Tip: all rooms have a sea / pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Address: Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#4 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Son Matias Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.