We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Break of March 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Son Matias Beach

Save Saved
You added Hotel Son Matias Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Son Matias Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Break of March 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have stayed in Son Matias Hotel at March of 2013. It was time out of season so as this hotel is popular there had been older generation.

Room - was really nice, with a beautiful view through the window. Just cleaning services - sometimes looks that cleaners even did not visited a room ( cleaner did not laid the bad, left rubbish bin in the middle of the room, did not change bedding whole week).

Food - amazing, various meals, deserts and so on.

Staff- really friendly and polite. The thing I did not like that someone was making noise and we have got a complain because of the reason they did know room exactly it was, so they did send complain;s letter for everyone. I did not feel good when they blamed as for the thing we have never done.

Location - Good. Not so far from Magaluf and capital of the city. Around there are markets, shops. Hotel located on the beach.

Extra facilities - hotel organize interesting entertainments, has additional bar and Jacuzzi.

In general, i would come back to this hotel as it left basically good experience about it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    472
    132
    44
    16
    7
See reviews for
49
482
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Good hotel. However the guests there are mostly elderly couples. Wouldn’t recommend it to young people. 2 nights before we left we had music on in our room and elderly people from the room next to us started complaining because apparently the music was too loud even though it wasn’t even ON!!!!! Also they complained because apparently people were knocking on their room shouting ‘Steve!’. We understand that some elderly people might be a bit deluded but we found this so rude and annoying. Young people should be placed on the lower ground rooms and old people should be on the top rooms, maybe this would cause fewer misunderstandings. Some staff members from the restaurant also seemed a bit rude and annoyed with us because we ate a lot at dinner time as it was a buffet. Everyone in my group spoke English only but I can speak Spanish and at one point I heard one of the restaurant staff members complain to the manager about us trying every single dessert and eating so much. Also every night they had entertainment for the elderly people while the youngsters had to stay in their rooms or just spend time somewhere else outside the hotel. I am aware that during this period it is low season and no young people really go to Mallorca as it is still a bit chilly, however they knew that we were going to stay for a week so why not let us have some entertainment.
To conclude, amazing food and room service however I would not recommend this hotel to anyone that’s younger than 40. Reception staff EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

It was a lovely environment and everything was amazing however i think the hotel is catered for the elderly.

We went as a group of 30 and i felt the staff were very mean and were not pleased about us visiting. Most staff were very friendly towards the other guests however not with us. Sue at the bar was really nice to us and looked please to have us there. However most staff at the restaurant were very rude and kept giving us dirty looks.

We had many complaints in my room (204) yet we were very considerate.

Would i stay here again? I would love to however i don't think it caters for me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

hotel, area and infrastructure was perfect. But some of the staff, especially the dining area gentlemen and one lady waitress were extremely arrogant and not at all helpful.
They were even backbiting about us in Spanish, not realizing we were students on a Spanish learning trip.
Not only that but the same waitress lady with short gingerish hair had a very demeaning attitude towards throughout our visit.

Otherwise everyone especially the host lady at the dining area were great and encouraging made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great hotel, great food, Great rooms, great entertainment.
BAD THING
If you are on a late flight home, you are directed to the toilets in the receiption to get a shower or freshen up. Not a good thing to do when people are using the toilet right next to where you are showering. If the hotel provided a permanant courtesy room it would make the hotel PERFECT.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puerto pollenca
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here once again and everything was as good as ever.Ever room overlooks the sea and are always clean and comfortable.Breakfast and evening buffet superb.Entertainment great. Reception and staff can't do enough for you.All in all a superb weekend and we will Return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just returned from a weeks return trip to the Son Matias. Still an exceptional Hotel.
Rooms, Staff and Food cannot be faulted. People return year after year and if
there is any criticism, it is not of the Hotel but some of the guests who tend to ram it
down your throat and taunt the acts that also are regulars. Its a must on anyones
list of holidays to do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Address: Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#4 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Son Matias Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.