We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a must return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Son Matias Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Son Matias Beach to your Saves list
Hotel Son Matias Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
GreenLeadersGold level
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Definitely a must return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Have recently returned from staying at the Son Matias Beach,what a fantastic hotel.The staff are all so friendly and can't do enough for you.Every room has a sea view and it is right on the beach.The food is excellent,fantastic choice,could not find fault.Entertainment in the evening was varied and also very good.There was a different act each night,something for everyone.This is adults only hotel and really enjoyed it.We will be returning again Spring 2013,can't wait.

Room Tip: There are no bad ones as all have balcony and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    137
    46
    16
    7
See reviews for
54
539
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pencoed
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed at the Son Matias after a Thomson Cruise.

I was concerned that the Hotel was up to the standard of the cruise!

My fears were unfounded!! The rooms, food,pool and the entainment was first class. The staff were a credit to the Son Matias.
In conclusion I would highly recommend this hotel. .

Room Tip: High up overlooking beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed four nights April 2012,weather was good,hotel very nice rooms,lounge,restaurant etc,food was good and plenty of choice breakfast and dinner,had lunch outside as there are lots of good places for food and drink reasonably priced,central location on beach and nice walk to palmanova or magaluf,take a bus trip to Palma city,for marina,cathedral,shopping and good tapas bars,would return to son matias

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

'The best hotel in Palma Nova....superb food...'

We stayed at this hotel in October towards the end of its season, hoping for some late sun. Having stayed at many other 4* hotels in Europe and knowing it was an adult only on a lovely beach, we had high hopes for a lovely break.

Bu...no way is this hotel 4*. How on earth do hotels get their grades? The 4* we stayed in earlier in the year, and others of the same grade, had an indoor pool and spa, edible, hot food and decent indoor and outdoor spaces. The Son Matias has none of these. We lost count of the number of times we heard or were told that the Son Matias is 'the best hotel in Palma Nova' and that the food is 'superb/amazing/fabulous'. I can't comment on the best in Palma Nova part as we've never stayed there before but I can certainly comment on the food and other aspects of this hotel.

Positives

Beach location. Lovely views across the bay & all rooms with sea and/or pool views.
Staff, especially Keith (draws amazingly helpful little maps. Thanks, Keith) on the desk and Denny (they certainly saw poor Denny coming when they sent him there. They almost ate you up, didn't they, Denny? You were such good fun. Have a great time in Austria. We never did find out why the Entertainment Manager left before the end of the season and Denny had to get on with it. We're sure she must have had a good reason.) but all staff were lovely - friendly and helpful.

Negatives

Geared almost exclusively to its returning guests, some of whom have been coming 'for 15 years'. Good for them. They get points towards a celebratory lunch every time they come back. The hotel does this very well- namely giving these guests the holiday they want, in the order they want, in the seats they want, with the food they want... you get the picture.

Whilst staff didn't appear to discriminate (not that we saw or experienced anyway), there's absolutely no room for newbies - literally or metaphorically from these guests. Examples included 'saving' seats in the (only) inside room for non existent people, thereby denying anyone else somewhere to sit; glaring at any unfortunate that dared to speak in that room - no, not during the bingo, that was sacrosanct, but during the rest of the evening. We witnessed a horrible man literally drag his wife out of the room because he had spat the dummy at the couple, next to him, having a normal conversation. This amused us but ruined our breakfast the next morning as he was sitting opposite us and was STILL going on about it. His wife, sensibly, was ignoring him.

Another example was when several of us mentioned to Reception that the rooms had become unbearably hot towards the end of the week. We discovered that this was because 'a few', yes, 'a few' guests among the( full) hotel had complained they were cold so, the air con in the hotel was all switched off!

The food. Where do I start? Back to the nursing home/nursery. The 'superb' food consists of a roast every night, dried up fish, 'show cooking' - an example of which was sausages , frozen veg and crumbles with custard. Absolutely nothing to suggest you were abroad, leave alone a Spanish hotel. None of that 'foreign muck'. Honestly, why do certain people even go abroad?

Indoor space.

There is only the one room, with the bar. Here all evening entertainment is held, including bingo, prize awarding, line and other dancing (not for newbies). There are probably enough seats for all but you have no chance of getting one unless you're prepared to queue up at 5.45 (yes!) for your dinner then 'bags' a seat. You can't do that in the front row though because they're for the 'dancers'.

To sum up (apologies for long review), I would recommend this hotel if you recognise yourself in the above. If not, don't even think about it or waste Internet time looking. But don't worry because, apparently, it has 100% occupancy all year because it's 'the best hotel in Palma Nova'.

PS - we had a great time despite this because we met some fellow newbies and discovered that it 'wasn't us'. Thanks, N & G.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms get the afternnon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenby
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

my partner and myself love this hotel it is like going home, the staff are like family too us nothing is too much for them especially asking for help and assistance, we have been going for a few years now and try too go twice a year, the food is brilliant and very varied, we try too meet up with friends we have made over the years the only downfall is you have too book a holiday a very long time in advance or you can,t get in i have never experienced any problem,s in this hotel and the entertainment is brilliant even disabled people are catered for.

Room Tip: the rooms are comfortable and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have stayed in many 4 star hotels over the last few years and the Son Matius is certainly not a 4 star. The rooms are small and the walls are thin - be warned take earplugs. The restaurant is like a motorway cafeteria with small tables and no side plates (they wouldn't fit on the table anyway). The food was appalling - frozen vegetables, grey undistinguishable puddings and scrambled eggs for breakfast that resembled egg custard. The 'show' cooking while we were there was sausages on one night and chicken breasts on another. I don't really think you can call it 'show' cooking when all the chef did was turn them over!! The entertainment officer told us that the show cooking was better earlier in the season so obviously it was our fault!
The entertainment was often just for the 'regulars' with bingo, line dancing and quizzes. Dancing was the same tunes night after night... and now for a rumba..arghh!
Such a shame as this was our first time in Majorca and we were so looking froward to the holiday. There are some positives the hotel is right on the beach, the pool area was very clean and most of the staff were very helpful and friendly but we will not be returning and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
This was advertised as an adults only hotel but perhaps it would be better to say that the age of most guests is well beyond retirement.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have been four times now to the Son Matias Beech Hotel and have never been dissapointed we also take my sister and brother in law and they have become fans of the hotel. We love the friendly family atmospher, the evening first class entertainment, the meals are excellent too and cater for everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms at the Son Matias overlook the beach, we have been on different floors and all are excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Address: Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#5 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Son Matias Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.