We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Son Matias Beach

Save Saved
You added Hotel Son Matias Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Son Matias Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
Warwickshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Another Great Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and myself and friends have just returned from a week staying at this hotel. It is without doubt a very good hotel. The food is very good and varied and always hot. Rooms very nice and the views are lovely. Would definitely return and would recommend. We had a weeks cruise on the Thompson Dream before going to this hotel and that too was lovely.

Room Tip: We had a room right on the front with a lovely sea view, although all rooms have sea view I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    434
    126
    41
    16
    7
See reviews for
48
449
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
driffield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

hey here we go again after a really good holiday at son matias last year and on speaking to other guests we decided to go on thomson dream for a week and have the second week back at son matias.first week on the dream was very nice decided to have an inside cabin which was ok because as far as were concerned you only sleep there but it was spacious clean and comfortable.the food is just an ongoing supply of perfection and caters for everybody no matter what. we decided to dine on deck 4 every night for tea which is an a la carte restaurant posh you may well think, no were not its just that if we were left to fill our own plates i would have come back 1 stone heavier.it was 3 course and the attention you received was superb the staff couldnt do enough for you and the food was superb.took a drink package out when we booked which was £50 each well worth it if your going as we drank 118 drinks between us in the week average £3 a drink well worth it.the weather was good the entertainment was also very good with plenty of variety in the different bars.if i had to moan it would be the cost of the trips i personally think that their too expensive £110 for a trip to rome each not for me but on saying that 50% of the ship went so you make your own mind up.all in all week one thumbs up.second week son matias been before so knew what to expect been a refurbishment in the bar area which looked really nice.had 8th floor room last year and asked for the same this year which they gave us so was pleased with that.rooms perfect staff perfect location also perfect .heard somebody who came off the criuse say that the food wasnt very nice in the hotel well i defy anybody to agree with that.moans from me well entertainment staff poor in relation with last year and drinks in the bar too expensive.entertainment good as was last year apart from saturday night which you would have thought would have been the main night all in all good 2 weeks may well do son matias hat trick next year speak soon

Room Tip: high room slight noise early hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

First visit to this hotel,will be back next year. Position of hotel fab,every room as a sea view Spotlessly clean ,spacious,pleasant staff,food good, Daytime Entertainment with Michael and Ruth, join in and meet some lovely people.Evening Entertainment good.As like most hotels queue for sunbeds,must say dont know why as there are enough beds and parasols ,if bed not used you get a ticket and towels are taken off,this does happen which is a good idea,as stops people saving beds and then going shopping for several hours but no need to check beds every hour it could be 2hourly.Swimming pool as easy access for the less mobile, sunbeds and chairs could do with padded cushions,the frame around beds gets hot and a lot of the elderly found them to be too low.
Evening meal,Think there should be dress code,Gentleman should wear long trousers,and Ladies smart dress,not what you wear around the pool. A big thankyou to all staff from Sue & Terry from Shrewsbury

Room Tip: We were on floor 6 over looking the pool,great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Have just returned from our third visit at the Son Matias Beach Hotel after two weeks.Had a fabolous time,all the Staff were friendly,courteous and helpful,as always.Food and rooms were excellent and a special thanks to Ruth and Mike for the varied activities and for being so understanding and empathetic at such a sad and dificult time for us all.Matias the Waiter, was as professional and friendly as ever and nothing was too much trouble for him.Another fantastic two weeks gone too quickly.Have already started looking to book again for next year.Only things we would like to see back is cushions on the chairs around the Pool area,as they are uncomfortable to sit on after a while,as my Mother suffers from Arthiritis and we are not sunbed lovers and the little Pool to be reopened,as whilst sat around heard numerous elderly people complaining that they missed this amenity,as a lot of them were unable to get into the big Pool.Will definately be back again next year.

Room Tip: Have stayed on both sides of the Hotel all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Our visit was all we expected of this hotel ,good food ,good company where we met old friends from our previous visits .We have already booked for September and June 2013. Anybody who complains about this Hotel must be very hard to please.The location ,the staff are brilliant.

Room Tip: Choose a Junior Suite for the extra cost they are very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

after a brilliant week on the dream and the second week at son matias what a perfect holiday the food both breakfast and evening meal were perfect something for all tastes and a good selection we ate outside on the patio nice setting all rooms have a seaview looking onto the beach and you have a balcony lovely clean and spacious room with a nice bathroom with plenty of hot water !! entertainment was very good with different themes every nite the location was very good with plenty of bars and eating places it was nice to have a walk along the promenade after evening meal the pool area was very good and the pool snack bar was always good a big thank you to entertainment team mike and ruth? just one small moan take the fridge hire charge away its swiched on anyway!! once again well done back next year dream june 1st and son matias 8th 2013 (do we get the tin foil award?) xx

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Thankyou for another great week, enjoyed immensely by myself and especially so by my 21year old daughter, staff always friendly and helpfull, nothink to much trouble, entertainment excellent somethink for everyone, good food choices everyday, love the new sun loungers, bar refurbishment very classy !! Always plenty of fresh fruit available much more suitable for the diabetic person who complained about lack of sugar free desserts, will see you all again soon x

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Address: Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#4 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Son Matias Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.