We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Palma Nova Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Son Matias Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Son Matias Beach to your Saves list
Hotel Son Matias Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
GreenLeadersGold level
Usk, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Palma Nova Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Very good hotel , excellent location , helpful and friendly staff. We stayed B&B booked through bookings.com and had great value. Fabulous views from every room , all rooms face the beach and the restaurant was very nice, and a good breakfast. Nice smoking room by the pool, nothing to fault. Very British and an older crowd, but we liked this

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    137
    46
    16
    7
See reviews for
54
539
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Hi I have just returned from a three night stay from Palma nova and Felt I should write this review of this hotel. The son matias hotel is directly on the beach in Palma nova. I have stayed in many 4 star hotels in the past but have to say this is by far the best I have had the pleasure of staying in so far. I would even rate the hotel 5 stars! Upon entering the property you are greeted by the beautiful lobby area and reception. Checking in was very prompt and friendly. The hotel is all on the flat so no nasty steps to climb and would be very good for wheel chair access. The hotel corridors leading to the rooms are immaculate with newly fitted carpet. The rooms are of good size and very modern with flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities are also supplied in the room. There is a fridge/ minibar which can be hired if you so wish to do so. All rooms have spectacular sea views. The hotel has recently been refurbished and has been done to a very high standard. The restaurant is beautifully finished and has views over the beach. There is also a lovely outdoor terrace to eat your meal. The food was the nicest I've had from any hotel and a good selection for all. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The pool is lovely with a jacuzzi beside it. The beds are very modern and they also have 3 circular beds to lounge on which are brilliant. You also have direct access onto the beach from the hotel pool area. I now understand why this hotel is highly rated on trip advisor. Anyone looking for a great hotel in Palma nova don't let this slip through your fingers! There is entertaiment provided every night in the beautifuly finished lounge and bar area. The only negative point I could make about this hotel is is adults only. Most guests are of and older generation any mostly repeat guests. I would like to take this opportunity to thank the hotel staff especially the restaurant staff for all their hard work and making me feel at home and the chefs for the Fanastic food they prepared for us every night. I look forward to seeing you all again very soon and can't wait for my next visit to this gem of a hotel.
Many thank mr t.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Just returned from our 4th stay at this hotel. We had a fantastic room on 8th floor, amazing view
over the bay, All of the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome.
Lovely choice of food for breakfast and dinner and everything hot and fresh. This is the only hotel we've ever stayed in to watch the entertainment which was always excellent. We especially enjoyed Mark Richie and Graham Dee. Most of the guests have been to this hotel several times which goes to show what a fantastic hotel this is. Thankyou to all the staff and we will definately be back next year.

Room Tip: High floor rooms have excellent view and less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

First holiday at the son matias, wonderful location overlooking the beach. Rooms ok staff very friendly. This time of year guests tend to be of the not so young variety,(myself included). It must be said that the hotel entertainment reflects this.As the summer arrives the age of the guests falls and the again this is reflected in the entertainment.
Other reviewers have waxed lyrical about the food.,We found the choices rather limited.
It is an adults only hotel, and fairly close to magaluf.Bar prices rather high, so is the cost of a fridge and safe.
You can walk for miles along the promenade, some great beaches.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Very impressed with the cleanliness, decor and location of this hotel. Room was average size with the 1st floor having a bigger balcony. There was a wide choice of food at meal times and very nice too. The age range of guests got younger towards the end of our week's stay. Visiting acts were very good and there were plenty of organised games during the day. Arrived whilst raining to find 10 pin bowling on the Wii in progress. Room had tea making facilities with 2 tea, 2 coffee, 2 sugar and 2 milk sachets so when you had made a drink you had no milk sachet left so 4 would have been a good idea. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Lots of repeat guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I would echo what others have said on here, but disagree with the staff's treatment of 'non-regulars' as the team treated us very well, were always helpful and very polite - we were about 40 years younger than the majority of guests so perhaps they were just pleased to have a younger audience!!! We stayed for a 3 night short break and found the hotel great for what we needed, particuarly as we only paid £41 per room per night half board courtesy of Thomson's accomodation only webpages. If you want to sit around the pool or bar area all day and all night then I am sure you will meet the 'regulars' detailed on other reviews, but we didn't have any negative experiences. We would go running in the morning, return for breakfast around 10am (which although near closing there was always plenty of food remaining), sit on our balcony until lunchtime in the sun and then head down to the pool for more sun if we craved it (there were always sunbeds free), then do our own thing until dinner, which again we would go to later when there were less people around (most were already sitting in the bar waiting for that night's show) and then we would go our into Palmanova and return for one drink just as the bar was closing. No problems, good standards, helpful staff and great value for money. I would return to this hotel again for this type of trip and we have stayed in a large number of 5* hotels around the world. To sum up, I would say the hotel is a solid 4*.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This Hotel is Adults only, which was our reason for choosing it. It is well run, Staff are very courteous and friendly, food excellent if a bit repetitive week to week but nevertheless very eatable. Entertainment again a bit repetitive but very good, drinks a little overpriced but decor in the bar and throughout the hotel was very good. Would definitely recommend to anyone but just be aware majority of guests are Senior Citizens,

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Address: Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Son Matias Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.