We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT LISTEN TO BAD REVIEWS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Son Matias Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Son Matias Beach to your Saves list
Hotel Son Matias Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
GreenLeadersGold level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“DO NOT LISTEN TO BAD REVIEWS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

I have just spent a week at the Son Matias after a weeks cruise and have to say I have loved every minute of it. The reviews below will lead you to believe that the rooms are small, the fridges are expensive, the staff are only nice to regulars, the beds are too hard and you'll be surrounded by old folk.....Yes, all of this IS true, but do not fear. The rooms are great, big 6ft bed, clean sheets every day, large bathroom with deep baths and nice hot shower. Lots of wardrobe space, laundry service, which is a huge help following a cruise. Yes, the fridge is about 18 Euro for the week but the shops sell cheap champers and frexinet so get buying and enjoy on the balcony, all chilled and lovely bubbly. The staff, Heather and Claire are a bit corney, but hey, they are very polite, more than happy to help and will chat for hours for leave you alone if you'd rather. They look after the older folk, we're in our 30's we can look after ourselves. The beds, have to admit they really are hard work, we found a bottle of brandy solved this problem, simply drink on balcony each night before bed and snooze away. Average bottle in supermarket is about a 10 euro.The average age of the hotel is around the seventy mark, and yes, they are all rude, some snobby and simply do not care. Good on em, why change just because you're on holiday. When I get to that age I'm going to be an old bugger too.You step out the hotel and to your right is a endless stream of pubs, resturants, little coffee and brandy stops for 2.70! Brilliant! Opposite is a pizzaria called Vicorys, lovely lunch and spectacular litre of sangria. If you step to your left and keep going for abour 10 mins you find yourself in Magaluf, Party place, night clubs, loads of booze and night life till dawn. The advantage being it's not on your door step, you can't hear it but it's there if you want it.The food.... what can I say, you WILL NOT EVER find a hotel with such excellent food. It caters very much for the british, we've had a full english each day, well at least when i could be bothered to drag myself from the all day sun balcony, fully expected to dine out a couple of nights but just did not need too, all english dishes, fish, joints of meat, full salad bar, soups, pate, loads of fresh fruit and massive weight bloating cakes. Discounts in the bar each night on different tasty beverages. Nothing really worth winging about to be honest, those who do and have need to learn how to chill out and go on holiday with someone you actually like instead of worrying that the staff don't talk to you enough. sad gits! Have a brilliant time, enjoy it. Lovely place, lovely hotel, lovely staff.

Room Tip: Late diners like us, eat at 8 as closed at 8.45,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    137
    46
    16
    7
See reviews for
54
539
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed at the Matias beach in April 2011. We were made to feel so welcome by all the staff who always work so hard to make sure all guests, whether they have stayed at the hotel before or not, enjoy their stay. The food was excellent ,as was the entertainment. As always the rooms were very clean with toiletries replenished daily. Excellent.

Room Tip: All the rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed here for a week after doing the med cruise with Thomson. As other reviews have said, the hotel is very good, clean and comfortable (apart from the beds which are rock hard) and all the staff are friendly and attentive. However we were surprised to find that there was an 18 euro charge for the fridge fot the week which seemed a bit steep. I would have thought that this would be free seeing as you are paying four star prices. Some of the other guests did seem to be 'sucking up' to the staff, but in general every one was friendly.
This is a mainly English hotel, so when we spoke to the staff in Spanish they were delighted, however we got some funny looks from the other guests as if they couldn't work out where we were from!
All in all, a good place to stay - would definitely go back

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Just got back from a week at this hotel and it was our first visit.. The transfer went very smoothly and we were impressed with the service offered by Thomson rep Steve.
The view from all rooms is impressive and the shower was very good. Rooms on the small side but adequate.
The restaurant is pretty recently renovated and is a compliment to this hotel. The food is very good and the staff in the restaurant were very pleasant.
We were impressed by the help offered by the reception staff too. I note a long comment from a previous member regarding Heather and Claire the resident entertainers and would have to say to everyone, please don't worry about them. They are friendly to everyone and of course, if they know someone they will naturally spend time chatting to them. This didn't bother us, they didn't know us but were pleasant.
Special mention must go to Sue the bar manager who is a real asset to the hotel.
The hotel is in a great central location with flat walking all around. We would recommend a short walk along the beach promenade to the Blue bar for a nice drink and beautiful views.
Finally, we would add that Thomson advertise a trip to a show called " Come fly with me" It's a tribute to Sinatra and the Ratpack gang. This show is a must. I am not a fan of their music but what a show this is with ballet dancers, gymnasts, and all sorts of special effects worthy of a West End show.
Oh by the way we are aged early 50's and there were couples there younger than us. We will go again. Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

There are many great things about this hotel. The location with sea views, the friendly staff, the food, the uk channels on tv. However I am in my mid 50s and felt too young for this hotel as stated by previous review. My cons are I dont like the cancellation policy, the room is small but adequate, the beds are hard. 99% of the other guests were lovely but a few of the regulars acted like they owned the hotel. Two examples, a female 70+ moved both towels off our sun beds and used them herself . On the day of leaving we were waiting for the restaurant to open for dinner as we were leaving for the airport shortly after. There was a rush in the door .One man first grabbed a seat and then nearly knocked me in his rush to ask the chef by name what delights he had for him that day, This despite the fact the dining room still wasnt full half an hour later. Some guests seem to leave their manners at home. I found both girls very helpful if asked. The entertainers were mixed and very difficult to get seats if a good act was on as the regulars owned some seats.

Room Tip: High floor beach view
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Six family members visited this fantastic hotel from 29th March to 5th April and once again we had the most fantastic time. We love all the staff who are so friendly and helpful.Fidela,Keith,Ernesto on reception are on the ball,Javier,Josepha,Leo,Maria,Maria Mar Sue and Darryl in the restaurant and bar,you are all ace. Claire and Heather do all they can to ensure all our entertainment day and night is top class,thank you ladies.It's like visiting old freinds holidaying here with you.Will see you again next year. Keep up the good work. Whilst there visit the Miramar bar where Pedro and Paco along with Addie will extend a friendly welcome too.To get to this bar keep walking up towards the bus station area it@s at the side of the Agua Beach hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Stayed here for 10 days with Thomson - no under 16s allowed. They should have said no under 70s. Due to the age of most the other hotel guests the heating had to stay on, air-con was not allowed even though temp in room reached 24c at night ! This hotel has ' its regulars' who as stated by the Thomson rep ' yes they do seem to have taken over the hotel'. This hotel is ok. Staff are excellent. Food great but a bit for the elderly.
Room small but acceptable. I do not think that considering the cost of staying here you should have to pay extra for a safe or fridge(surely this is a basic requirement of a 4* hotel).Beach good.Lots of shops. Thomson are at fault with this holiday due to misleading advertising but if you know you require a hotel which caters for the elderly this would be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Check the Hotel website first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Address: Duque de Extremera, 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#5 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Son Matias Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.