We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location fantastic staff brilliant.food good,love this place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropico Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tropico Playa to your Saves list
Hotel Tropico Playa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Paseo del Mar 38, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Location fantastic staff brilliant.food good,love this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great location just across road from beach .yes it cheapish but you couldn't t fault food or rooms and staff are just the best !lots of returning guests,so must have got it right!second visit and we be back next year !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    220
    129
    56
    50
See reviews for
213
233
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have just booked our next holiday in May 2014 at the Tropicp Playa in Palma nova. This will be our 6th stay at this fabulous hotel were you receive a friendly welcome on arrival from reception and all the wonderful staff who go out of their way to make your stay special. There is plenty of choice in the restaurant hot and cold food served to suit all tastes and the drinks are great too!! We really enjoy sitting on the terrace over looking the beach and watching the world go by as we dine. This hotel is in a great location just a 15 minute stroll into Magaluf if you want it lively or,you can stay in the hotel and enjoy the entertainment provided each evening and the good drinks. There is a bus stop just across the road from the Tropico if you want a visit into Palma City which is a must. We really would recommend this hotel for its friendliness and it's perfect location.

Room Tip: Pool view overlooking sea sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Staff were lovely went out of there way to make sure everything was ok for us.The food was tasty enough just pretty boring and repetitive.The hotel is in a great location right in front of the beach and our room was clean and towels changed every day no tv or hair drier in the rooms paid 20 euros deposit for hair drier.Had to ask the maid for extra pillows only one very flat pillow on every bed.Nothing really wrong with the hotel but have stayed in better for same price so don't think I would go back. Air conditioning in rooms very poor no extractor in bathrooms

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just returned from a lovely stay at the Tropic Player hotel with its great sea front location. If you want luxury and a dress code then go pay a 4*+ hotel price but don't knock the Tropico Player for been what it is, a very nice relaxed 3* hotel and yes some people do go to dinner in casual shorts and tee shirt but that is their choice that is why they go to a 3* hotel as it is informal but also there is many people that choose to dress up in an evening like me and my husband choose to do, It does not have the luxury of a 4* + hotel but what it does have is a very friendly staff like David on reception who will do what ever he can to make your stay as plesent as possible or Pedro ( the cookie man) at the pool bar that went out of his way to make sure there was always a bottle of cava in the fridge for me to drink as I mentioned that its what I like but it was only available at breakfast time and he was always happy and smiling, all the staff would find time to chat and the many number of people I met that have been returning year after year says the hotel must be doing something right, there is always something nice to eat On a few nights there was fresh mussels and king prawns which were delicious and the salads were lovely and fresh, the breakfast was excellent sausage, bacon, eggs, beans, tomatoes and plenty of fresh fruit, cereals cheeses and meats so what else do you want, I think some people just like to complain for the sake of it as some of the comments I have read I just could not believe they are talking about the same hotel, yes there is room for improvement in certain areas but it reflects the price you pay and people that book to stay here must know they not going to get hilton standeds mind you I have stayed in some of their hotels that have room for improvement, so if you looking for a lovely location, clean and friendly hotel the tropico playa is the one, but if you looking for perpfection then go somewhere else and pay for it and leave the hotel tropico playa to those of us that appreciate it as I for one will be returning again next year.

Room Tip: Request a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Returned from Tropico Playa Hotel on Sept. 1st 2013. This is the sort of hotel where "anything goes" which may suit some people. I like the niceties where people like to dress for dinner or at least make some sort of an effort in that direction. There was no dress code at all!! Every breakfast was the same every day,as was lunch as was dinner,with a variation of only the meat at dinner. One day chicken and beef,one day lamb and pork. nothing else really varied much at all. The same must be said for the sweets. The food was edible but very boring.The dust was very thick on the chairs in the dining room and always "bits" on the floor. The Staff were very helpful, some of them were very friendly.
This Hotel did not stand out for me at all and I would not dream of going back but having said that, it is situated in a wonderful position. Everything within walking distance,beach across the road,shops and restaurants each side. A better hotel in the same area would be very nice one day.Oh must point out that they had some entertainment in the evenings, some of it was actually very good.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool on floors 3 and 4 are the best. The front rooms overlooking the sea are f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

magic location and exceptional staff, food a bit too repetitive and beer awful. rooms need renovating but are adequate. will never be more than 21/2 star until the rooms are done. Fire alarms went off while we were there but they did not go off in the rear block where my daughter was staying, very worrying if it was for real and not a muppet coming bank drunk from Magaluf. beach great and literally just over the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel is clean and has very friendly staff. The food is good however some days it was very plain and simple but it depends on your taste I suppose. We had a room right at the back of the hotel which was ok but loads of stairs to it and no lifts which was a problem with my 22kg suitcase. The pool area is okay but the sun disappears from there around 2pm so if your a sun worshipper stick to the beach as it is only a 20 second walk across the road. The location of the hotel is brilliant with only a 10 minute walk to magaluf for the lively part of Palma nova however there many other shops and bars right outside the hotel which are great. I would definitely go back to this hotel as many of the other guests that we're staying when we did said it had been their 3rd and 4 th time going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel unless you like lots of steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tropico Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Playa

Address: Calle Paseo del Mar 38, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Tropico Playa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tropico is a fabulous waterfront family hotel for beach lovers. Its facilities and activities are specially designed to provide our guests with plenty of fun experiences. Gran Isla Hotels, the boutique hotel chain that operates this charming complex, is unique in giving the "personal" touch in their establishments that only a small chain can give. Our main objective is to provide our guests with an unforgettable summer holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tropico Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Playa Hotel
Tropico Playa Palma Nova
Hotel Tropico Playa Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tropico Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.