We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a nice friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropico Playa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Tropico Playa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Playa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Paseo del Mar 38, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Overall a nice friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Family holiday, excellent location with great views, friendly staff and reasonable choice of food, all fresh, good choice of drinks. We had a large room to the back of the hotel it had four large beds in and was very clean (I run a hotel myself and i am always over the top with cleanliness)!! The downside was we had lots of stairs but turned out to be worth it as so quite on a night and we had an excellent view. Love the front terrace, often sat and watched the world go by on an evening and just across the road is the beach, to the front of the beach there is often disney characters and artists to watch on an evening too. Mcdonalds straight across the road which the kids loved on a night. Not many seats in the bar area for the evenings entertainment but never bothered us as we like to take a stroll. Well situated, nice steady 20 min walk into magaluf if you like the busier night life. We found the pool area very small and you do feel like you are on top of each other but the hotel do have a policy where the doors dont open till a certain time for people to put towels down so check this out and send the fella!! Suppose its fair though! We also like the beach so it didnt spoil, Nice little kids club in corner for the kids to draw, paint etc and get in the shade for a while. Would defo return as location and friendliness makes it, oh and the air con is the best, slept like a baby!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    180
    104
    48
    46
See reviews for
182
201
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
penzance
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband myself and 3 children (4 9 and 10) stayed here in june 2012 . We had to have 2 rooms as each room only accomodates 4 and booked the previous october requesting that they were next to each other.We also asked for evening sun on our balcony.However when we got there the rooms were 2 doors apart and both rooms were looking over a canvas wall with no view or sun at all! There was also an ant infestation so we went to reception to ask to move. They said they would do this in the morning and in the meantime sprayed some ant repellent so strong we could barely breath during the night!When I requested to move in the morning I was told there was only one room free that was the other end of the corridor. We said yes as that was better than nothing and this room was alot better than the previous with a sea view. However we barely slept from the noisy guests running around all hours of the night(a fair few stag parties stay here as its cheap) the food was awful cheap and tasteless and the drinks machine always swarming with ants!Pedro and the female manager were the only pleasant members of staff the others were surly and ignorant and very unhelpful.Pool was tiny and shaded in the afternoons. The only good thing was the location right next to the beach. Would return to palmnova but not to the tropico

Room Tip: ask for sea view on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

nice hotel set right opposite beach at palma nova,now offering all inclusive,trouble is although it is a very nice hotel it is very small ,when you have every one wanting breakfast ,dinner, or evening meal at the same time theres not enough tables and chairs to accomadate,also outdoor pool very small and very COLD(no afternoon sun).Just in front of swimming pool is a crazy golf course which has a few water features with stagnent water which gives off a terrible smell so if your room looks over the pool you will get a wafft in the breeze.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view but top floor/no noise no smells
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had never stayed at this hotel before. The staff were very friendly, especially Pedro the head waiter. The food was basic but very nice. We were a party of 4, with 2 vegetarians and a fussy eater. There was not a problem with choice for food. The position of the hotel is great. You sit in the dining room and look across the road to the beach and the sea. What more could you want? Overall this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Spent a week all inclusive at the Tropico Playa in October. My friend and I had a great time for a low cost all-inclusive break. Neither of us had stayed here before but we would thoroughly recommend this hotel for it's high standards of cleanliness, food and hospitality. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was plentiful with lots of great choices and we both have to admit to putting on a few pounds because we enjoyed it so much. Within the all-inclusive rate the alcohol was local fare and as beer devotees we found the lager difficult to stick with for the whole week. We ended up on shorts, but the alcoholic content was less than we get at home. The evening entertainment could have been better but we spent the last evening in the company of Leepy Lee and happily sang along to his biggest hit Little Arrows (There's a boy, a little boy shooting arrows in the blue). It was also noted that all guests at the Tropico were all-inclusive which did not necessitate the wearing of wrist bands that you often get with these kinds of holidays. The resort itself was quiet with several shops and cafe's already closed for the end of the season. It was sad to see a lot of cafe's struggling. It was still warm and all in all we had a relaxing week. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would encourage travellers to continue to holiday in this charming resort. In Arnie's words - I will return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Palma Nova is a great favourite of my husband and I each October. This is our 1st time at the Tropico Playa and hopefully will not be our last. The food was excellent with a good variety at breakfast, lunch and dinner . The staff were all very friendly and helpful and on the Wednesday, great effort was put into decorating the hotel for Halloween, just a shame not too many people dressed up and there was a 1st prize of a week's holiday and a 2nd prize of a weekend break.
The location of the hotel couldn't have been better and the fact that you could eat on the terrace and watch the world go by was great. The hotel was very clean and tidy and rooms a good size, although basic but you're really only sleeping there. Excellent entertainment. I would definately recommend this hotel and hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Front or side room facing Mini Golf as in winter you get more sunshine on this side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

just come back from tropico hotel had to write this review. Hotel clean very friendly staff food very good quite varied during the week. Been to this hotel 4 times this year it just ticks all the boxes so close to the town right on the beach its in the perfect spot, nice bars and restaurants close by. Perfect for couples or families Entertainment good for kids during day and early evening night shows could be better but still not too bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tropico Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Playa

Address: Calle Paseo del Mar 38, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Tropico Playa 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tropico is a fabulous waterfront family hotel for beach lovers. Its facilities and activities are specially designed to provide our guests with plenty of fun experiences. Gran Isla Hotels, the boutique hotel chain that operates this charming complex, is unique in giving the "personal" touch in their establishments that only a small chain can give. Our main objective is to provide our guests with an unforgettable summer holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Tropico Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Playa Hotel
Tropico Playa Palma Nova
Hotel Tropico Playa Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tropico Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.