We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE LOCATION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropico Playa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tropico Playa to your Saves list
Hotel Tropico Playa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Paseo del Mar 38, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Bristol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“NICE LOCATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

nice hotel set right opposite beach at palma nova,now offering all inclusive,trouble is although it is a very nice hotel it is very small ,when you have every one wanting breakfast ,dinner, or evening meal at the same time theres not enough tables and chairs to accomadate,also outdoor pool very small and very COLD(no afternoon sun).Just in front of swimming pool is a crazy golf course which has a few water features with stagnent water which gives off a terrible smell so if your room looks over the pool you will get a wafft in the breeze.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view but top floor/no noise no smells
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    220
    128
    56
    50
See reviews for
212
233
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had never stayed at this hotel before. The staff were very friendly, especially Pedro the head waiter. The food was basic but very nice. We were a party of 4, with 2 vegetarians and a fussy eater. There was not a problem with choice for food. The position of the hotel is great. You sit in the dining room and look across the road to the beach and the sea. What more could you want? Overall this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Spent a week all inclusive at the Tropico Playa in October. My friend and I had a great time for a low cost all-inclusive break. Neither of us had stayed here before but we would thoroughly recommend this hotel for it's high standards of cleanliness, food and hospitality. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was plentiful with lots of great choices and we both have to admit to putting on a few pounds because we enjoyed it so much. Within the all-inclusive rate the alcohol was local fare and as beer devotees we found the lager difficult to stick with for the whole week. We ended up on shorts, but the alcoholic content was less than we get at home. The evening entertainment could have been better but we spent the last evening in the company of Leepy Lee and happily sang along to his biggest hit Little Arrows (There's a boy, a little boy shooting arrows in the blue). It was also noted that all guests at the Tropico were all-inclusive which did not necessitate the wearing of wrist bands that you often get with these kinds of holidays. The resort itself was quiet with several shops and cafe's already closed for the end of the season. It was sad to see a lot of cafe's struggling. It was still warm and all in all we had a relaxing week. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would encourage travellers to continue to holiday in this charming resort. In Arnie's words - I will return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Palma Nova is a great favourite of my husband and I each October. This is our 1st time at the Tropico Playa and hopefully will not be our last. The food was excellent with a good variety at breakfast, lunch and dinner . The staff were all very friendly and helpful and on the Wednesday, great effort was put into decorating the hotel for Halloween, just a shame not too many people dressed up and there was a 1st prize of a week's holiday and a 2nd prize of a weekend break.
The location of the hotel couldn't have been better and the fact that you could eat on the terrace and watch the world go by was great. The hotel was very clean and tidy and rooms a good size, although basic but you're really only sleeping there. Excellent entertainment. I would definately recommend this hotel and hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Front or side room facing Mini Golf as in winter you get more sunshine on this side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

just come back from tropico hotel had to write this review. Hotel clean very friendly staff food very good quite varied during the week. Been to this hotel 4 times this year it just ticks all the boxes so close to the town right on the beach its in the perfect spot, nice bars and restaurants close by. Perfect for couples or families Entertainment good for kids during day and early evening night shows could be better but still not too bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just back from a weeks holiday and I must say we really had a lovely week in the Hotel Tropico Playa in Palma Nova. The staff were very friendly, the food was excellent and the location was second to none and would definitley recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: request a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just got back today from tropico missing it allready,from time we arrived until leaving we had wonderfull time ,food was lovely drinks i agree with people very strong staff all first class ,the bar staff allways happy as was pedro and the waiting staff .We highly recommend this hotel and we deff going bck nxt year .

Room Tip: Our room was ove looking the pool and mini golf suited us just, right pool shuts at 9 so only noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tropico Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Playa

Address: Calle Paseo del Mar 38, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Tropico Playa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tropico is a fabulous waterfront family hotel for beach lovers. Its facilities and activities are specially designed to provide our guests with plenty of fun experiences. Gran Isla Hotels, the boutique hotel chain that operates this charming complex, is unique in giving the "personal" touch in their establishments that only a small chain can give. Our main objective is to provide our guests with an unforgettable summer holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tropico Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Playa Hotel
Tropico Playa Palma Nova
Hotel Tropico Playa Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tropico Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.