We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheeky few days away without the kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Torrenova

Save Saved
You added Hotel Marina Torrenova to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Marina Torrenova
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Torrenova 51, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cheeky few days away without the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here from 1st till 4th October 2013. We arrived at midnight to be greeted by a very jolly fellow who was very helpful and pleasant. Our room, as all of the rooms were, was clean, tidy and spotless and we were lucky to have a decent view of the bay.

The food at this Hotel was amazing. Every meal time there were enough choices to keep most people happy from Chicken pies, paella, fish, lasagne, pasta amongst a variety of other foods including the almost obligatory chips as the hotel was mainly occupied with British couples and families. So i would find it hard for anyone to complain about the choice of food.

From the reception staff through to the bar staff and the cleaners we found that they were always happy and very helpful in any way they could be. Again no complaints in this department.

The main pool was always surrounded by people and sunbeds but it was never overcrowded, maybe this was because it was towards the end of season. The majority of people were around the main pool but the 2nd pool was the next level down and a bit quieter, and last but by no means least the kiddies pool (excellent kids water play/slide area).

When we return, and we are already planning our next holiday here, we WILL be bringing our kids with us as we felt that the entertainment staff and the facilities for children were second to none.

For those who decide to go for a walk the resort centre and the beach is a mere 150-200 metres away, but be wary that the walk back to the Hotel is uphill. For some people the gradient might be a little too much.

All in all I can say nothing bad about this Hotel and would highly recommend it to my family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    446
    405
    189
    57
    31
See reviews for
572
254
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the Torrenova Marina from 14th - 25th of september & had a fantastic Time, This is the best All Inclusive Hotel Ive stayed in & Ive stayed in a few. Check in was Quick & we were given a room with a pool view on the 5th floor Room was very Clean & Big enough for myself & my Husband & my 3 year old Daughter. All The Staff at this Hotel work so hard and are really Friendly. We stayed at the Sol Mirlos last year which was very dissapointing The Torrenova Marina was 100 times better in every way.
The Food was really Good Im really Fussy but there was always a good Choice & I could see that they were trying there best to always have something different so it wasnt as repetative as places ive been before. My 3 year Old went to the Hotel Kids Club and Loved it so much she was asking to go every morning & Afternoon She loved the lady that took the club her name was Dama and she was brilliant with all the Kids she took them out round the pool & did different activities with them. The Manager was also brilliant at this hotel he Couldnt do enough for you I needed a printer while I was there and he was so helpfull & Let me use the Hotels office to print off what i needed. This hotel is on a small incline and reading some of the other reviews some people were complaining about it but it takes 5 minuits and not bad at all we had the buggy & I am a bad athsmatic so I would not let it put you off going to this hotel. We Found the Entertainment at night good & my wee one Loved the mini Disco. All the Grounds are Kept really good at this Hotel the staff are always going about Cleaning. Will be going back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Had a pleasant 10 day holiday at the Marina Terranova.. Great food, and couldn't fault that or the staff in the dinning hall.. Very good A La Carte too..Disappointing entertainment, geared around kids, every night was kids disco, bingo, then in house entertainment by guest or staff, the odd outside show.. Adequate room although not worth 4 stars at all, House Service was not good, forgot to leave towels frequently and floors weren't cleaned...

Probably wouldn't stay again

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights end of Sep - Oct 13.
Our impressions of the hotel are sullied as we had a rubbish maid, our room wasn't really clean, hairs all over the balcony, and one day a ripped towel was the 'new' exchange one given. See the attached photos. I've also hosted some pictures on another forum due to TA restrictions on size of images http://majorcaforum.forumsmotion.com/t6067p45-marina-torrenova-hotel-2012#154639 if it helps.
Otherwise the staff were friendly and helpful.
Food. Well, the breakfast was as good as you can get without going up to 5 star IMO. Proper bacon that was show cooked. Bucks fizz available. A great selection of all the other main things. But the other meals were hit and miss. Chicken drumsticks *in batter* was offered one day?? But the next day they did a very tasty Jamaican beef curry, with curried rice cooked paella style, with fresh show cooked noodles and stir fry vegetables. A good kids selection (evenings only) (pizzas were good), and a reasonable diet/diabetic/vegetarian offering.

We had a bit of a sea view from our room, the pool view rooms are an upgrade at €6 per night, and the 'superior' rooms, with sea view, were an extra €10 per night upgrade.
Rooms are a bit on the small side.
Mattresses appeared to be of the 'memory foam' type, and a good nights sleep was had. Only one wafer thin pillow though, so had to bulk up with the spare blanket.
Sunbeds were new and of a good quality, with 4 adjustment levels on the backrests. (see pic)

Overall, IMO, the hotel is just a plain old 3 star, with a few plus points, but not enough good points to warrant a 4 star status.
No free wi-fi.
All inclusive snacks only available 11.00am - 18.00pm.
Room towels are several years old.
No pool towels.
Rubbish TV with not enough channels, only 3 English ones, BBC1, ITV4, & CBBC (BBC4 at night sometimes).
Room lighting is too dark. Energy saving bulbs account for some of this but not lighting is insufficient.
Air con in room only just sufficient, on full blast all the time.

I'd go again if the deal was good though, we didn't pay a lot for the stay, (booked DIY), nothing wrong with 3 star, just don't expect true 4 star level.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

just returned from another lovely holiday at marina torrenova hotel palma nova mallorca it was just as good as last year same friendly staff food was excellent enterainment good new staff this year marco bet and andres were very good weather was really hot in the 90s even with the children back at school it was still very busy it is a really lovely hotel and if yiou have not been there you will really enjoy it there we are going to book for next year

Room Tip: ask for pool view room as you get the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

First of all the good points.Check in Ok Food good but had better at 3* hotel in centre of Palma Nova.We booked direct with hotel a Superior Sea View room, paid quite a lot more than I would have normally so was expecting a good hotel. All staff were polite and helpfull
The room was Ok for a couple don't know how any children would have slept unless climbing over each other! Did have comfy beds, tea making facilities, extra charge, safe extra charge.
Wi Fi extra charge for a 4* hotel?.
View from room was a sea view but was directly over the road which we did not realise so noisy . Everywhere was advertised you could upgrade to Sea View or Pool View so don't know what a standard room was like???
Hotel was in good location for beach and nightlife.

Bad points.
The restaurant closed at 9pm! So had to rush from beach to room to get to eat, normally in hotels we have stayed the closing time is 10pm. Breakfast also closed a bit early and everything was rushed away to get you out ASAP, no snacks in day?

No bottled water to take to room at night, we normally ask for bottles to take to beach no problem with other hotels in Palma Nova.

Plastic Glasses, small plastic glasses everywhere even at the bar inside hotel. Can understand around pool but in the hotel bar? Only small gasses so everybody used to have 2 drinks at once so not to be at the bar every 10 minutes. Hate to think how many glasses, no plastic cups, were around in high season?

Entertainment ????????
We stayed 10 nights and only had a Rod Stewart act that was only an hour long, the rest was the reps trying to do something first kids club then BINGO every night. Went out nearly every night, All Inclusive means not having to spend money but we had to All Inclusive?

Stayed by pool one day luckily only one!

Booked this hotel as 4* might have been at one time but not now, seems to have been run at a budget to save money. The evening entertainment? should have been an outside act every night. The manager tried his best to deal with complaints, I saw plenty but it was not his fault.

This hotel was previousl a Thomson Super Family hotel, not any more? but is not advertised as family hotel by Marina hotels.

I don't normally write bad reviews and was a misled this time and won't be coming back. Don't think I will book with another Marina hotel either.
The hotel needs to visit others in Palma Nova and pick up a few points, no a lot of points!

Won't be back, sorry.

Room Tip: No good rooms unless you like nisy pool or noisy road Book superior room because hate to think what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel 1st till the 8th sep we arrived and checkin was quick and simple we found our room 404 fine, was happy with them room had a pool view not near them stage which was good, the hotel is clean and lots of things to do with kids, (we had two children aged 3 & 5) they loved the hotel, I would recommend the hotel kids club, the thomas cook one was always empty, wen we saw the girls who ran it they weren't over friendly and didnt talk tod the kids.the food was ok with a range of things, the outside snack bar didnt really do snacks or they did with extra charge, there is a run for sun beds the middle pool was mostly taken, but wen we went down we could always find some, the entertainment at night was very good, my children loved the parks and games room also the soft play room, the only down side would be on the last few night they put stag do party in the next room from us so at 3am-4am they would come back drunk and shout off the balcony also had a women at 4:30am banging one my door which woke my boys, I rang reception but nothing much was done also the last night there must of been about 40+ stag/hen/adult birthdays all out side with everyone singing, I was led to think this was a family hotel, its not quite clear that it is 2 secs from the strip of magaluf, however this wasnt a problem, the hills are a bit of a pain but nothing to bad, overall we had a fab holiday and my boys are hoping to go back next year, we booked through thomas cook which was the dearest way to book we got talking to a few other people and the stayed more nights and paid a lots less than we did, so for next year we will shop around

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marina Torrenova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Torrenova

Address: Avda. Torrenova 51, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#8 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#11 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Torrenova 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Marina Torrenova is located in Palma Nova, in the municipality of Calviá. To be precise, the area of Palma Nova where the hotel is located is called Torrenova, as the hotel’s name indicates. Palma Nova has one of the best entertainment offers on the Island of Mallorca, with a varied choice of bars, pubs and restaurants. The Hotel Marina Torrenova offers leisure activities for all the family, making it an ideal place for a relaxing break or having fun.The hotel’s facilities include: children’s play areas where children can enjoy fun-filled holidays, and grown-ups can relax and enjoy everything that the Island of Mallorca has to offer. The Hotel Marina Torrenova offers its guests different board basis, including “All Inclusive”.The area of Palma Nova offers a wide and varied selection of leisure facilities, bars & pubs, restaurants and discotheques. Nearby sport facilities include golf, windsurf, yachting, water ski, diving and other water sport activities, including various water parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Marina Torrenova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrenova Marina Palma Nova
Torrenova Marina Hotel Palma Nova
Hotel Marina Torrenova Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina Torrenova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.