We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Torrenova

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marina Torrenova to your Saves list
Hotel Marina Torrenova
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Torrenova 6, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
East Sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great family hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for 2 wks from 25th Aug with our children (aged 8 & 6) and we all had a fab holiday!

The pool areas were great for the kids with a main pool, a children's pool & a splash pool with little slides. As for the sunbed situation ... if you are the type of people who insist on having the exact same sun loungers everday and are going to get the hump if someone else is in 'your spot', then you will need to get up at ridiculous o clock & form a queue! If however, like us, you're a bit more chilled and aren't too fussed where you sit, then it's not a problem. We went to the pool between 8.30-9am most days & never had a problem getting sun loungers!

The entertainment team work hard day and night and create a fun and lively atmosphere - the kids loved them and our son (who is usually very shy!) joined in with all the kids sports and competitions and had a great time ... special mention at this point for 'Super Marco' - brilliant with the kids! Nightime entertainment was ok, it was what we expected really ... kids disco, bingo & different shows - parrots, magician etc. I will say the comedian was really funny, definitely the best entertainment of our 2 week stay.

The food at the hotel is very good - we've stayed in several other similar hotels throughout the med and we were impressed with the choice and quality of the buffet here. There is also an Italian restaurant with outside seating and waiter service which was really lovely and the food tasty. You need to book a table with the restaurant manager when you arrive - it's meant to be once per stay but we found him very happy to help and we ate there twice ... if you don't ask you don't get! All the staff were extrememly friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

Location of the hotel is good as it is only a short walk to a lovely beach and lots of bars, restaurants, rides for the kids etc. Yes it is up hill on the way back but it's really not that bad - could obviously be a problem if you have mobility issues.

There are only two reasons why we haven't awarded this hotel 5/5 ....
1) The room was VERY small for 4 people. It was clean and comfortable and we had a nice pool view, but with all 4 beds up there was literally no other space, tight squeeze is an understatement!
2) Although the hotel is technically Palma Nova it is very close to Magaluf - the first 12 days of our holiday were during the summer holidays and the hotel was very family orientated, lots of kids etc, but by the last 2 days of our holiday most of the families had gone home and the hotel was over-run with stag & hen parties which meant loud, drunken behaviour round the pool. I have no problem with people having a good time but it just changed the atmosphere of the hotel ... there was even a security guard patrolling the hotel for the first time.

Overall this is a great hotel for a fun family holiday. My advice would be to look into a family room (apparently there are a few 2 bedroom family suites available) and to stick to school holidays only in order to avoid the stags & hens!

One more tip ... if you're looking for an excurison the Pirates show is a must! Absoutely amazing - kids loved it and so did we, it's a great night out - it's not cheap but its worth it! We bought tickets in advance which was a good move cos worked out a little cheaper than booking through reps at the hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Getty95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Well what a fantastic hotel the Marina Torrenova is stayed here with the hubby for 10 days and enjoyed every minute we have stayed in lots of hotels 4 and 5 stars and this is one of the best we have stayed in. Hotel staff every one is so friendly always smiling having a little joke with you. We always got a sunbed but a lot were in the shade due to the very tall trees ( chop em down ) The manager always spoke and very polite and friendly.Food was the best we have had the brekkie was fab always something for everyone the Italian a la carte was beaut even though we had to have it inside due to thunderstorms.Yes there was a few large parties of lads there when we were there but hat off to the lads they behaved them selves and even had me in stitches the ones who stayed out in the rain one time for a bet :) Only one downside to this hotel is the entertainment at night we stayed in twice for the comedian and the Rod Stewart night more like this please for us adults. we ended up going to Ruby Tuesdays just down the road great bar overlooking all palma.So peeps ignore all the crap reviews this is a brill hotel .Well done the Marina we will be back next year with all my family loved it !!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I travelled with my mum and daughter aged 5 years, arrived to terrible thunder storms, landing was terrifying!

Arrived at hotel eventually,after being told incorrectly by Thomas cook rep which coach to get on, to the fire alarm going off and the full hotel residents stood outside in the rain! Got dumped off the coach and was left waiting outside until they let us back in! Check In was easy and the staff friendly despite the chaos around us. Room was basic nothing special but was clean apart from the hair hanging down from the air vent.

Pool areas were lovely, only bad point was not enough space around the pool for the amount of beds so always felt that our personal space was invaded. Pool bar was great and queues not too bad. My 5 year old loved the pools she spent the whole holiday in them even in the rain. Sunbed run was the funniest thing I have ever seen, we would watch the chaos from our balcony and would go down after the initial hardcore sunbedders! Plenty of beds just after the run but realised the scrum was more for the beds with the sun as a lot of them only had a max of 4 hours and the rest of the day was spent in the shade...we went to the beach on the last two days to avoid the shade!

Breakfast was fantastic but lunch and evening meal were pretty rubbish to be honest, could never put a meal together and never felt satisfied..we went to an Indian down the road which was lovely on one night. We are not normally Indian fans on holiday as like to taste the local Cusine but we was in desperate need to have something to get out taste buds tingling as the food served at dinner and evening was lacking In any flavour.

All staff were friendly except the Thomas cook kids club who needed to be taught how to smile!!!

We didn't really partake in the evening entertainment as we prefer to have a walk around in the evening, the location of the hotel is superb despite the small hill which never caused us any problems.

We are not by any means snobby, being proud mancunians, but we did find some guests at the hotel rude and intimidating. A lot of the time towards the end of the day we would be surrounded by rubbish that other guests had just dumped from the day and we was shocked how some people left the floor around them. The hotel staff did a fabulous job of cleaning up though and every morning the pool area was sparkling once again.

Overall we really enjoyed our holiday as we always think its down to how you make it! We would recommend the hotel to give it a go..but I don't think we will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeanneRuby140208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Its a typical Spanish hotel, Nice, comfortable, clean and welcoming. Food was no better nor worse than any other hotel I've visited in Spain. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and even have toiletries. Two pools with plenty of sunbeds. The hill... Its fine. I'm in a wheelchair and pushed myself up 4 times,, however we caught a taxi from down town after being on the pop, but 4 euro doesnt break the bank. If your budget is limited, you'll be fine in this hotel.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day break here this being our forth stay - late Aug into Sept 2013
Overall again a very good holiday.

Bar que did get a little long at time but the staff were great and got it down pretty quickly

easy smooth check in - pool view and low level floor as requested

Great food - altho could do with being hotter or being able to use microwave to heat it up - TOASTERS NEED DUMPING!!! why o why they cant have "normal toasters" is beyond me

The sun bed queing did happen.....a militant women there every morning at 7am, she was next door to us as would watch her from the balcony.....wouldnt wana mess with her evenif she was 70 odd lol - bearing in mind the doors opened at 8.30am!!!!!

Entertainment/kids club looked average - we travelled as a couple so were out most nights but what we did see wasnt all that great

As for the Thomas Cook kids club reps CHEER UP GIRLS or go home!!!!! never seen such a miserable group of girls, i certainly wouldnt leave my two children in their company....bulldogs chewing wasps

WIFI is a rip off as it isnt thatfast and constantly lost connection

Staff fantastic could not fault any of them - well done

bingo great :-)

Room Tip: pool view - but can be noisey at night if the entertainment shows are held outside - warmer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigfishlittlefish09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest,Hungary
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Nice hotel. Been here 2 years ago. Since then they changed the Tv and the wardrobe in the rooms. Bathroom is also nice. Too many kids in the hotel. They wake up at 6 in the morning and runing up and down, screaming and shouting. They doing this all day long while theire parents are just sitting by the bar or the pool and drinking all day. We were in 521 and in front of us the cleaners has they storage room. Also making noise early in the morning. These room numbers, where you have just opposite the storage rooms are : 221,321,421,521
Hotel has 2 pool, 1 is bigger for the adult, another one is smaller for the kids. It has a small basketball and football field.
The food is nice specially breakfast and dinner. Lunch is just ok. The waiters are nice people and they good at what they are doing.Special thanks to Toni, Albino, Raul, Rosario, and "Jessica"
On the reception Jose is the best. Very helpful and friendly.
From the hotel 2 beach is very close ( about 500 m )
The evening shows ( animation ) are not too good. has to improve.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baldy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The staff I cannot fault, very nice and helpful.
The food, was good.
Sunbeds no problem
I did not like the fact that the beds had no mattress covers, just a sheet, so I felt that I was sleeping on a bed that had so many other peoples sweat, NOT A NICE THOUGHT.
The shower head was old and broken.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.5 mi away
Sol Palmanova Mirlos Tordos
Sol Palmanova Mirlos Tordos
#20 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#14 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Viva Palmanova
Viva Palmanova
#3 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca Cala Blanca
1.0 mi away
Globales Palmanova
Globales Palmanova
#19 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Torrenova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Torrenova

Address: Avda. Torrenova 6, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#12 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Torrenova 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Marina Torrenova is located in Palma Nova, in the municipality of Calviá. To be precise, the area of Palma Nova where the hotel is located is called Torrenova, as the hotel’s name indicates. Palma Nova has one of the best entertainment offers on the Island of Mallorca, with a varied choice of bars, pubs and restaurants. The Hotel Marina Torrenova offers leisure activities for all the family, making it an ideal place for a relaxing break or having fun.The hotel’s facilities include: children’s play areas where children can enjoy fun-filled holidays, and grown-ups can relax and enjoy everything that the Island of Mallorca has to offer. The Hotel Marina Torrenova offers its guests different board basis, including “All Inclusive”.The area of Palma Nova offers a wide and varied selection of leisure facilities, bars & pubs, restaurants and discotheques. Nearby sport facilities include golf, windsurf, yachting, water ski, diving and other water sport activities, including various water parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Marina Torrenova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrenova Marina Palma Nova
Torrenova Marina Hotel Palma Nova
Hotel Marina Torrenova Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing