We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good package holiday hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Torrenova

Save Saved
You added Hotel Marina Torrenova to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Marina Torrenova
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Torrenova 51, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good package holiday hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

A clean and well presented hotel. Good outside spaces and pools. Fresh food daily, yes it is repetitive but what can you expect for the money you pay to stay here. Good assistance given by staff when dealing with your operator mix up.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    397
    345
    164
    52
    22
See reviews for
490
233
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We (a mid 30's couple), spent a week at this hotel. Mid March. Location is good, its closer to magalluf than Palma Nova, but only a short stroll to either location. The hotel is up a steep hill, but that didn't bother us (especially with a few drinks on board!). The hotel is lovely on entering. Fabulous entrance with a huge reception. The staff are fantastic. Very friendly, easy to talk to and very helpful. There was an odd smell though. The hotel is full of old Spanish people, who are extremely rude. I was genuinely nearly rugby tackled out of the way. I received an elbow to the ribs because I was next to be serverd at the hotel bar. The rooms are very dated. basic, clean but needs sprucing up. The beds are so hard I didn't sleep for the first few days, so uncomfortable. The food is below basic standards. Breakfast has all the usual cereal, toast, breads, cakes, which are fine, the hot food was inedible, if you could call it hot food. The coffee was the worst I've ever drank. Dinner wasn't much better, you wouldnt give the meat to a dog. It was very poor. Everything (including veg) was cooked in oil or deep fried. We did not eat here much, just once or twice when we saw something edible. We constantly had to ask for clean towels. The pool was closed off and we couldnt use it, nor would they allow us to use any sun loungers,as they were closed off too. Its good value for money if you dont go all inclusive. The bar was nice, very spacious with a few pool tables. Drink was very cheap. My lovely glass of white wine was only €1.30. They give you nibbles with every drink ordered - who needs to eat in the restaurant!

The resort itself was very quite. A lot of places weren't open. People who work there said it was only very early on in their season. Probably the first opening week. It is definately not a winter resort.

Room Tip: We had a pool view, it was nice late afternoon to sit on the balcony to get some sun. The main pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just spent a long weekend at this hotel. Firstly the location is good, just a couple of minutes walk down the hill and then it's easy to get to either Palma Nova or Magalluf. The Torrenova area is quite nice, lots of trees and I would imagine its a bit more peaceful even in the summer. Not really a steep hill as other people have said!
Receptionists really friendly and smiling, we were soon on our way up to our room.
The room was quite a nice size, a little bit dated but clean enough, could do with an update though. We had a free fridge which was nice but strangely had to pay a deposit if you wanted the TV remote! We didn't bother!
Restaurant was a nice size, not too busy but the food was awful !!!! I normally enjoy hotel buffets but this was really bad, nothing had any taste or flavor and the meat was really bad quality, they seemed to have the cheapest of everything. Hotel was mainly spanish pensioners who seemed to enjoy the food but we really hated it!
Pool area looked ok but was far too cold to even go out there, and there were no chairs out even when the sun did come out for a few hours.
The resort was dead. Only a few bars open, even in Magalluf, it's not really a winter resort, definitely wouldn't come back at this time of year. Saw a few stag/ hen parties and felt quite sorry for them - nothing whatsoever to do and no people!
Overall, I would imagine the hotel is ok in the summer but I wouldn't go back - only saved by the lovely smiling and pleasant staff everywhere.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol,uk
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Have just returned from a girls weekend and generally speaking the hotel is fine,located a few minutes walk from either Palma Nova beach or Magaluf.Bar and restaurant quite roomy,bar prices are good(6 drinks approx Eu10) considering you're in a hotel,the food wasn't anything outstanding,if you could get close enough to choose.The other guests,almost all of them were Spanish,were so rude and pushy in the buffet I/we often gave up,so maybe room only is a good option.The hill is unavoidable,but why not share a taxi?About Eu3 from beach.Strolling back after a few beers,you don't really notice it anyway.We enjoyed The 3 Lions and Lush in Magaluf,avoid the Bristol Bar,not nice for a female group.Useful having a fridge(under the TV!!)

Room Tip: We had sea view rooms(as against pool view) which seemed to be quiet,but it is March.We were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed half board 5 nights for £20 each per night (2 people).

Clean hotel and friendly staff - top marks to Jose on reception.

Staff all speak English. Most clients are Spanish with a few Brits.

Breakfast is fine - cereals, cheese, jams, sausages, rolls etc - nice coffee but avoid the orange juice !.

Evening meal served 7-30 pm to 9-30 pm is fine too as long as you don't expect prime cuts of meat. Nice puddings, salads, - soup looked a bit watery and a lovely fresh orange to finish with - why are Spanish oranges so good ?.

Parking easy (March 2013) and free.. Cannot see why people complain about the hill unless they are disabled should not be an issue.

Fridge in room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

First time in this hotel and first time in the resort at this time of the year , last week of feb.
The hotel is a good 3 star set on a hill that is going to be a challenge if your not fit , we are in our 50's and were fine with it . There is a couple of ways to the hotel and we found the sea side route the easiest . We booked at short notice a cheap easy jet holiday from their web page and found the whole booking thing easy .
What we didn't expect was the hotel was completely full of Spanish OAP 's . The hotel food and entertainment reflected the clientele but the staff could not do any more to make us welcome .
service in the restaurant was slow with people clearing their own tables between courses and while the food at breakfast and dinner was for a Spanish taste there was alway something we could eat. Food was warm not hot at all .
We booked the Sona Mar dance show with the hotel .The tickets included transport , a meal and the entertainment for 130 euro's . We went to the pick up point at the reception a couple of nights later to be told it was canceled due to lack of interest ,while not the hotels fault a bit more notice would have been appreciated .
Rooms need to be updated but were always clean and staff happy to help .
Over all I would not use this hotel again in the winter season or indeed visit the resort at this time of year again ...everything was shut ... but would think it will be a very different hotel in the Summer months as it looks like a hotel that is better suited for families .
We have been to the Palma area several time before and will return again , just not off season .
Enjoyed our break though .
Don't be put off by this just remember we visited in the winter season and the more positive reviews I have now seen reflect the fact that the hotel shifts up a gear with better food and service during the summer .

Room Tip: No good views from hotel as it is in built up area with little views of the sea .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

11th Sept-25th September 2012
As a party of 3 ladies aged from 55 -66 we were not sure what to expect. On arrival we were greeted by the reception staff,. and after signing in went up to our room. The room was quite small for the three of us but that was'nt a big issue as you dont spend too much time in there anyway.Bad points were the room was quite dated and could do with new modern furniture but beds were comfortable and rooms kept clean. The food was plentiful and breakfasts were the best meal of the day with full english and tasted delicious! We had a very good time over the fortnight, but we all agreed what made the holiday so special was the entertainment team Aleandro especially! (We wanted to take him home with us) Sally and Jonny did a splendid job too. You will have a good time with plenty of laughs and a brill holiday! so go on and book it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Marina Torrenova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Torrenova

Also Known As:
Torrenova Marina Palma Nova
Torrenova Marina Hotel Palma Nova
Hotel Marina Torrenova Palmanova, Majorca
Address: Avda. Torrenova 51, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#6 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Torrenova 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Marina Torrenova is located in Palma Nova, in the municipality of Calviá. To be precise, the area of Palma Nova where the hotel is located is called Torrenova, as the hotel’s name indicates. Palma Nova has one of the best entertainment offers on the Island of Mallorca, with a varied choice of bars, pubs and restaurants. The Hotel Marina Torrenova offers leisure activities for all the family, making it an ideal place for a relaxing break or having fun.The hotel’s facilities include: children’s play areas where children can enjoy fun-filled holidays, and grown-ups can relax and enjoy everything that the Island of Mallorca has to offer. The Hotel Marina Torrenova offers its guests different board basis, including “All Inclusive”.The area of Palma Nova offers a wide and varied selection of leisure facilities, bars & pubs, restaurants and discotheques. Nearby sport facilities include golf, windsurf, yachting, water ski, diving and other water sport activities, including various water parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Marina Torrenova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina Torrenova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.