We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good fortnight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Torrenova

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marina Torrenova to your Saves list
Hotel Marina Torrenova
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Torrenova 51, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good fortnight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

11th Sept-25th September 2012
As a party of 3 ladies aged from 55 -66 we were not sure what to expect. On arrival we were greeted by the reception staff,. and after signing in went up to our room. The room was quite small for the three of us but that was'nt a big issue as you dont spend too much time in there anyway.Bad points were the room was quite dated and could do with new modern furniture but beds were comfortable and rooms kept clean. The food was plentiful and breakfasts were the best meal of the day with full english and tasted delicious! We had a very good time over the fortnight, but we all agreed what made the holiday so special was the entertainment team Aleandro especially! (We wanted to take him home with us) Sally and Jonny did a splendid job too. You will have a good time with plenty of laughs and a brill holiday! so go on and book it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    444
    201
    59
    31
See reviews for
611
274
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Spent a week at this Hotel with my friend. It definitely isn't a four star. Three stars would be more appropriate.
The staff on the whole were really friendly.
Natalie on reception always went the extra mile and nothing was too much trouble for her.
Restaurant staff were also friendly.
It was a pity that the breakfasts were so poor. They were obviously aimed at the Spanish guests.
Never any bacon, only hard boiled eggs occasionally, hot dog sausages and uninteresting cereals.
I did complain but was told that they wouldn't do a full range of food until summer.
The steep hill was a challenge but we survived it!
The entertainment was good. Only three or four Hotels were actually open in Palma Nova and magaluf.
Overall You get what you pay for and we didn't pay a lot!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Cant really remember when we went here. But it wasnt during the summer holidays. Still got burnt :( but did rain, it was nice to swim in the warm water with rain falling. Food was neverending and great! Unlimated slushes came in handy for the heat. Alltogeather, brilliant!

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Family holiday in October, all inclusive. After years of backpacking, camping and cottage staycations, the dismal summer of 2012 was the final straw and we booked what was for me, my first package holiday since my parents took me to the costa brava in the 70's and 80's. Although i was looking forward to a bit of sunshine, I was absolutely dreading this holiday. I could not have been more wrong. this is a great family hotel. clean, spacious rooms. 3 pools. loads of good deckchair areas. the food was exceptionally good. sure, they had all the british fare for brits who dont want foreign food in a foreign country but there was a great variety of mediterranean dishes with a different special each day. couple of mins walk to beaches. area is quite hilly so not ideal for people with mobility problems or infants in buggies even. And I would probably avoid the hotel and the area from June-August but that's just me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A family holiday at the Torrenova Marina. This hotel is situated in Torrenova rather than Palma Nova & not suitable for any person with walking difficulties. We managed to push our toddler in a buggy up the steep incline several times a day, kept us fit if nothing else. We had a one bedroom family room which was very spacious for our party of 2 adults, 2 teenagers & a toddler. Lots of wardrobe space & our room overlooked the hotel pool. We had a fridge in the room also which was a bonus especially for storing bottled water etc for the wee one & a TV with limited channels.
Hotel facilities were all that we required as a family. Softplay for the little one, kids clubs although our family were either too young or too old so didn't use this, games facilities, laundry (very handy) & the hotel staff work very hard to keep guests happy.
This hotel is classed as a 4* but we think its more of a good 3*. Sometimes the food was a bit boring & lacked taste & then other evenings ie the carvery was really nice. Everything is self service in the dining room including drinks. Also the kids buffet food, well you take that at your own risk as the kids were playing "house" with it, touching & putting back etc. I chose not to give my kids anything from this station. But all in all it was okay, I had lots of cold meats & salad.
What is very good is that Hotel Reception will order you a packed lunch if ordered the day before for anyone planning on going out for the day, and there's plenty in it.
All in all we enjoyed our holiday, after all it is what you make it. Although on reflection we paid 2.5k which we thought was a little expensive so are returning to the Carribean this year where AI is of a different class altogether.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Hello,stayed here in September and have to admit,i was a bit dubious about the reviews beforehand. A lot of folk were saying the food was rubbish,stag parties being a nuisance. Have to say,not one problem with the stag parties. They were marshalled by a security guard 24/7 because the other sister hotels were fully booked.

The hotel itself is situated in Torrenova,not Palma Nova,on a hill which is no problem whatsoever,so i dont know what all the complaints were about. After a 2 week stay,i was starting to run up it.lol. The location you cannot fault. Bang in between Magalluf and Palma Nova,either way its less than a 10min walk to each.

Breakfast:Probably the best i've ever had on an all-inclusive. It'd put a lot of cafes to shame. A full Scottish,fresh bacon and eggs as well,no potato scone though.ha ha.

Lunch:Fresh salads,chicken,fish,pork,beef etc a good selection for all fussy eaters. Or if you like junk food,you wont be disappointed. There's also ice cream,fruit,cakes and yoghurts.

Dinner:Every night,the Chef's would be out cooking special themed dishes. Curries,chilli,bolognese etc..plenty again. Plenty of desserts for all tastes again. Even the kids have a wee section of their own.

Pool:3 pools to choose from. Main pool is where you will get your daily activities from to keep you entertained. Middle pool is for the kids,a wee shallow one where they can play with their floats and things. Bottom pool is where we spent most of our time. We were here with our 2 kids aged 4 and 1 yr old who had her birthday over here and the staff gave her a big cake with candles to blow out. Big thanks to them for that. They loved this pool with all the slides. A bit cooler than the other 2 pools but i found myself being a kid again even though im in my forties.

Staff:Cannot fault them at all. From check-in to check-out they were great. Had a problem with my wee one's cot,had a new replacement,a travel cot,within a couple of hours which she actually prefered to the wooden one. You can also dine in the A là carte restaurant during your stay which was very pleasant. Steak was beautiful.

Entertainment:A few outside acts were brought in,they were good. Magic acts,acrobats and Flamenco dancers. Got to admit,the Flamenco dancers were the best i've ever seen. Real grafters. Then you had a couple of nights with the entertainment staff which was ok. After the entertainment was finished,i found a couple of pubs down the road which were fab. Ruby Tuesdays who had a tribute act every night and sometimes a band as well. Got to give a mention to a band called Storm. 2 of them were great,ended up being a groupie to them. Also the Pickwick pub,2 mins from Rubys were they also played. Good pub as well. Measures are brilliant,real Spanish measures.

Spent the whole 2 weeks walking from end to end looking for the cheapest pint. From Magalluf to Palma Nova i found it. €1 in a pub called Cheeks in Palma Nova. About 25-30min walk from hotel. Well worth it though if you want a good walk and a beer. As for the Thomas Cook rep,we only saw him at the Welcome meeting when he wanted our money for trips which were well over priced. If you want to go on trips,go to the wee shop above Ruby Tuesdays. Change money as well. We booked for the Pirates show,well worth the money. Also the upside down house.

I hope this review gives you a wee insight into this hotel. I'd recommend it and im sure you wont be disappointed unless you really are a fussy eater.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here last September,

Hotel was nice, rooms nice and staff all very friendly bar a few at reception.

We went with Thomas Cook, rep was useless, never saw him. Booked a trip and he never showed up when he said he would.

The hill is a bit steep, especially if your coming from Magaluf end of town.

Drinks all served in tall plastic glasses which were no use for beer.

Would recommend, but as a 3 star not 4.

Room Tip: Ask for a High up room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marina Torrenova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Torrenova

Address: Avda. Torrenova 51, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#11 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Torrenova 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Marina Torrenova is located in Palma Nova, in the municipality of Calviá. To be precise, the area of Palma Nova where the hotel is located is called Torrenova, as the hotel’s name indicates. Palma Nova has one of the best entertainment offers on the Island of Mallorca, with a varied choice of bars, pubs and restaurants. The Hotel Marina Torrenova offers leisure activities for all the family, making it an ideal place for a relaxing break or having fun.The hotel’s facilities include: children’s play areas where children can enjoy fun-filled holidays, and grown-ups can relax and enjoy everything that the Island of Mallorca has to offer. The Hotel Marina Torrenova offers its guests different board basis, including “All Inclusive”.The area of Palma Nova offers a wide and varied selection of leisure facilities, bars & pubs, restaurants and discotheques. Nearby sport facilities include golf, windsurf, yachting, water ski, diving and other water sport activities, including various water parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Marina Torrenova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrenova Marina Palma Nova
Torrenova Marina Hotel Palma Nova
Hotel Marina Torrenova Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina Torrenova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.