We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Holiday!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Torrenova

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marina Torrenova to your Saves list
Hotel Marina Torrenova
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Torrenova 6, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Just got back yestrday from spending one week at the Torrenova Marina Hotel. Overall was abosutely fantastic. Staff were all really friendly and helpful. Room was cleaned well every day. Food was good, however the drinks at breakfast werent very nice, water was warm and juices from the machine were very strong. Great choice of food for breakfast as had everything single item of a full englush breakfast available and overall good choice of food for lunch and dinner. Some of the cutlery and dished werent always completely clean and the food wasnt always swept from the floor until after the canteen was closed. Good range of cocktails included in the all inclusive. Was a pain haivng to queue for a sun bed every morning so therefore more sun beds available would have reduced this. Was in an alright position in Palma Nova however was sometimes tiring walking up the hill to get up there. Our room was cleaned daily however ocne were given a dirty toilet roll to use, so had to put the whole thing in the bin. Also floor in room could have been swept to pick up all the sand. Was a bit annoying having to queue for ages on a night for a drink at the bar. Good entertainment available throughout the day and nights. Would have liked to have payed a bit less for the hotel. Wouldnt advise adults to use childrens pool as fecies were smeared on the floor of the pool. I also stubbed my toe on a bits of a broken plate which had got into the pool. Was nice to see a sun care advisor 4 days into the holuiday who helped my sun burn with her products. Good hotel for everyone especially families with children. We did the whole package holiday with Thomsons and were pleased to see that our rep contacted us when there were events happening in the area that may be of interest with us. Recpetion staff were extremely helopful in arranging taxis and knowing prices of local attractions. Overall very happy and would revisit. Thanks Torrenova Marina, Majorca.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    499
    231
    79
    37
See reviews for
695
315
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Kids World Extra was not provided as advertised in Families brochure. Advertised club run activities inside & out approriate to ages ie 8-11. I expected my child to use the 8-11 club to meet friends. As this was PEAK session for Scotland & we were charged double than what families from England paid for SAME holiday, I expected service advertised & we paid for. The club turned out just to be drop in for all ages every day. My child went once and is was just small preschool ages he doesnt want to play with them. Kidsworld run no activities outside for the children. There for 2 weeks and the two evening activities, chocolate challenge & movies n munchies was the same week 1 & week 2. There was no shade & dizzy parties as advertised. This was a huge disappointment as we last used this hotel when HB and the Thomson Kids ckub was excellent. Marina entertainment for kids during day was excellent but I paid £2500 with a free kids place for my child to use the Kidswork Extra Club.

The food was good, repetitive, but some days awful, liver & onions or Lacaster hotpot. Apple crumble with currents yuck. 2nd week two themes in dining room, what about June nothing. Asked for a packed lunch on 2nd July when going out and told because July peak season they dont do it, but the week before there was loads available behind reception. A bit harsh just because we left doing things until out 2nd week.

Room cleaned everyday & towels changed. Reception staff were excellent.

* TIP: Trips are cheaper to buy tickets from hotel reception than the Travel Rep

Have been to 2 other AI hotels and this was the 1st year at Torrenova which showed. The standard of food/dining room shows. No friendly welcomes from staff at dining room. The queing for drinks in evening put us off staying in and the NOISE was to loud for kids.

I know this is a family hotel but kids playing in lifts, running in your feet when carrying glass. Parents not bothering what kids doing, showed when a child about drowned in pool one evening and kids stood around laughing before a man jumped in to save him.

Bingo callers - tell the people to shut up during bingo so you can hear if your are playing !

I was really angry on hearing someone book in July last year and paid £1200 for 2 weeks travelling from England same dates. We paid twice as much for SAME holiday, WHY ? We travelled week before scotland schools finished.

Each pool was closed off in our first week because of poo or vomit. Babies Poo escaping from nappies, SWIMPANTS please use.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

On July 3rd 2011 I came back from the hotel Marina Torrenova with my parents and my 8 year old brother.

The Food- The food was extremely good and every night they had different selections and the show cooking was great as well. And The snack bar open from 10:00am-18:00pm Which I thought was a great Idea.

The Hotel Itself- All The staff were very helpful(The receptionist,The Bar Workers,ect) The Hotel was very clean and Tidy aswell.


The Kids Club/Mini Discos: Since I am 11 I was able to take part in the Kids Club. It was very good. All The Staff(Roly Rach,Zig Zag Zoe,Konfused kim and Aimee) They were all great and kind. They looked out for all the children really well. I took part in the chocolate attack and movies and munchies club too which I would recommend too. The Mini discos are good for all ages. Different dances every night. I enjoyed it so much I brought a mini disco cd. My favorite songs were Chi Chi Wa and Cartoon Heroes.
And some days Sally and Dana did the discos that do Marinita Club(Different sort of kids club)


The Pools-The pools were extremely tidy and clean.The splash park was good for all ages As well.

We Love this hotel and even my parents are trying to book for next year.
I recommend this hotel to absolutely anyone!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

A little late in writing this review but felt the need to express my opinion of it. Stayed here October 2010 for a week with my boyfriend. We paid about £250 each. We arrived late in the night, but were greeted nicely by the reception staff and checked in straight away. The room we had was clean and comfortable, with twin beds and a sofa bed. The view wasn't the best as we had the back of the hotel but it wasn't really an issue. The rooms also have a television and a fridge and there is a hairdryer in the bathroom.

We did go late in the season so wasn't expecting a lot from the atmosphere, but fair play to the entertainment team who made the effort with the kids (even though there were low numbers at the time of year) and the adults to keep everyone entertained, especially on the days we had torrential rain (the one lady even came in on her day off!)

On an All Inclusive basis the food was good, my boyfriend is a Vegetarian and there was always plenty of selection for him, and things were clearly labelled with what they contained, plus all the Veggie stuff was put in its own area (which i've never experienced before and found very helpful) You do get the daily helping of chips, but there was always something different each day, and speciality tables on certain days of the week.

We couldn't fault the efforts of the staff at the hotel especially on the last few days of our holiday. The day we left the hotel was actually closing for the winter (we were the last guests to leave) having a night flight we were dreading having to hang around the hotel reception all day but when we went down in the morning to check out, the very kind man on reception told us we could have the room for the rest of the day until we needed to leave for the airport! This was bliss! And we even experienced the staff party for the end of the season! haha

Wi-Fi is avaliable to buy from reception, by the hour, day or week. I can't remember the price but it wasn't too expensive. There are also computers to use in the lobby area.

The location of the hotel I have noticed is often described in these reviews as on a hill, and although it is in the hillier area of Palma Nova, it isn't as steep as people would make out. Understandably if you have mobility issues it may be a problem, but for anyone else it really shouldn't be and on the bright side it's good exercise if nothing else :)

We didn't use the swimming pool at the hotel (it was raining the majority of our stay) but it was a decent size and always looked clean. The hotel is also not far from the beach, so if you are more beach people like us, then I would recommend the walk down. :)

All in all really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, and I can only imagine it is even better and alot livelier during the peak season, but if you want a relaxing holiday (but do expect some rain) I would recommend this in October. All Inclusive would be a great option for that time of year too because many places in the usually bustling Palma Nova are very sleepy at that time of year.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

there were 23 of us on holiday in a nice family hotel, good food - clean hotel, not bad location that is until they moved 3 coach loads of spanish students in. they were openly taking drugs in the stairwells and corridors. the males were that drunk they could not stand. large groups of them were partying around the pool all night, screaming and shouting. a group of them were caught urinating in the pool. at meal times it was like a mass sponsered eat - they ate everything in sight and left an awful mess. at the bar groups of them would push in the queue - this causes unrest with the english in the queue - which eventually causes stern words to be exchanged. every day there was a queue of guests complaining to the reps and hotel staff. everybody has the right to a holiday but it was similar to their 18 - 30's holiday being put in a family hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

All the staff are very friendly and work hard to ensure the efficent running of the hotel.
The rooms are box standard but are a good size and were cleaned every day. Clean towels were available every day if needed.
The food left a lot to be desired. Everything tasted the same and was like eating a bad school dinner.
The first morning we woke up to a lot of noise. On looking out of our window we were amazed to watch the sunbed show. Be quick to get a bed!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SURREY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We have travelled to many resorts, in many country’s, and the Marina has the best breakfast we have ever come across. You are spoilt for choice including hash browns, onion rings and English bacon. The other meals in our all inclusive package were up to par for choice. You even have an al a carte evening meal once a week.Talk to Tony the manager if you need anything. As there is only one bar it gets crowded at times but they give good measures and a bailey’s equivalent for the ladies. The maid service left a bit to be desired but was sorted by the very efficient reception staff, as was our card key which played up and a new box fitted straight away. No beach towels or kettles so take your own. Doors open at 8.30am for the sun bed rush which stops the save merchants. Not enough sun shades though. The kids will love the new play area and pool which is very safe for them. You have to remember this is a family hotel and as such is a trifle noisy and rowdy. However, the hotel next door is worse. Also it is great to walk down the hill to the beach, but for the old’uns it’s a 4euro trip back, which is not unreasonable, taxi's are cheap but ask price first. As a family holiday it is ok but not ideal for the older type couple. Katmandu house in Magalluf was interesting but not worth the 16 euros per person entrance and it scared our little ones. also 4D show extra. Cafe free round back with kiddies rides.

Room Tip: ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.5 mi away
Sol Palmanova Mirlos Tordos
Sol Palmanova Mirlos Tordos
#19 of 39 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca Cala Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Viva Palmanova
Viva Palmanova
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Intertur Aparthotel Hawaii Torrenova
0.9 mi away
Ponent Mar
Ponent Mar
#7 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Torrenova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Torrenova

Address: Avda. Torrenova 6, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#14 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Torrenova 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Marina Torrenova is located in Palma Nova, in the municipality of Calviá. To be precise, the area of Palma Nova where the hotel is located is called Torrenova, as the hotel’s name indicates. Palma Nova has one of the best entertainment offers on the Island of Mallorca, with a varied choice of bars, pubs and restaurants. The Hotel Marina Torrenova offers leisure activities for all the family, making it an ideal place for a relaxing break or having fun.The hotel’s facilities include: children’s play areas where children can enjoy fun-filled holidays, and grown-ups can relax and enjoy everything that the Island of Mallorca has to offer. The Hotel Marina Torrenova offers its guests different board basis, including “All Inclusive”.The area of Palma Nova offers a wide and varied selection of leisure facilities, bars & pubs, restaurants and discotheques. Nearby sport facilities include golf, windsurf, yachting, water ski, diving and other water sport activities, including various water parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Marina Torrenova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrenova Marina Palma Nova
Torrenova Marina Hotel Palma Nova
Hotel Marina Torrenova Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina Torrenova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.