We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value For What You Get..!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Bigote

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Don Bigote to your Saves list
Hotel Don Bigote
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer de Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Value For What You Get..!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Location:
* 20mins from the airport.
* 2 mins away from the beaches.
* 2 mins from loads n loads of shops, bars + restaurants.
* 10mins walk from Magaluf.

Hotel:
* Very old looking, could do with updating.
* A nice big pool area.
* Little rooms that only consist of a bed...wardrobe...dressing table and a separate bathroom, don't even get a cup to drink your drink out of, had to ask at the bar.
* Maid service everyday which consist of change of towels, tidy up, make beds but bedding never got changed through out our 10day stay,(Maids are very friendly and helpful)
* Some Reception staff are rude.
* Bar is over priced and snack bar food didn't look up to much scratch. (Defo try the restaurant across the road called "Scandia" really cheaply priced and lovely food,)

Food:
* Breakfast is the same everyday, which is not up 2 much scratch either - it consists of: eggs (which r sometimes under cooked) Spanish bacon, whole tomatoes, sausages and hard beans. cereal is available but they are horrid.! You get free juice,tea + coffee only in the morning. breakfast is between 8.00 - 10.00.
* Dinner does change daily but mainly contains some sort of meat in a sauce or gravy. I am a fussy eater but i did manage to eat every night and enjoy most evening meals. Not really no selection for vegetarians. You get ice cream and cakes for dessert which was nice.

Overall:
The hotel is OK if you are on a low budget and you want to be close to all the amenities. But if your after luxury then this is defo not the place for you.
Just remember you get what you pay for...!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    327
    169
    67
    54
See reviews for
83
292
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

This was the 6th time I had stayed at this hotel and a first for my friend who hadn't had a summer holiday for 10 years. We chose Don Bigote because it was cheap and the location was fantastic for shops, restaurants and the beach. The facilities at the hotel are great too, lots of seating area around the pool and the bar, the pool is a decent size also.
We arrived late evening on the 31st May staying for two weeks at half board and was given the keys to our room on the 7th floor, got to our room which was huge considering there was only the two of us with three beds. Our room overlooked the street ( which sometimes got noisy at night with drunken lads but I soon sorted that out) at the front of the hotel and gave us a good sea view which was great.
Food was excellent lots of choice every breakfast & evening ( I was worried as my friend is a fussy eater) she loved it also and couldnt praise the food enough.
We ventured into Magaluf a few times during the holiday and was shocked to find how expensive things (if its a drinking holiday you want take at least £750 per person or you will definitely run out of money fast) had got since I last visited Palma Nova (as the Euro was in a much better place then) and was bemused that we spent 60 euros between us in one hour so we decided it was cheaper to go to the Spar shop (which is opposite the beach) on the way back from the beach daily and get a few bottles and sat on our balcony each night having a laugh at the drunken holiday makers walking up and down our street.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to all, it is mainly used by the younger generation but I visited this hotel (my first holiday abroad) with friends who were in the early 50's and had been using Don Bigote for 30 years plus.
The beach is great and can get very crowded, you must visit the Kompas Cafe opposite the beach and next to the spar at lunch times this is great food and value for money.
A must when in Magaluf is Panama Jack's (opposite BCM Club) its air conditioned and great value for money - you get a free shot with every drink. That strip of bars is also great.
Planning other trip to Don Bigote next year for my 30th birthday, I wouldn't want to go anywhere else and my friend agrees!!!! I will definitely take plenty of euros for this holiday.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west mids
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

We went with a group of friends aged 22-28, we had all just literally wanted some sun so went for this as it was good value.

Rooms were ok, cleaned daily. Food was boring the same thing most nights which was kind of expected!! we just ventured out iinto palma novaand found other places to eat.

Location was good and close to all local ameneties and beach. The beach was really nice but could become packed and the amount of girls trying to sell fruit just became annoying, especially as one of them robbed our disabled friend!!! We informed the police but they didnt really have much sympathy at all.
Palma Nova itself was nice and we enjoyed chilling in some of the bars along the beach.

Overall an ok cheap n cheerful holiday, just what we wanted at the time but wouldnt go back as it lacked appeal.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

We have just returned from Palma Nova staying at Don Bigote.I had read reviews before going and just hoped they were exagerated.I was greatly surprised on arriving there to find a hotel so close to the sea/beach.The staff helped us alot as I am disabled and I even managed to hire an electric scooter from a lovely young man called Timmy.This all took place within the hotel foyer.The room was basic but very clean.A good assortment of food at meal times and the seating around the pool was good.We enjoyed ourselves and intend returning next year

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Firstly I want to dismiss all of the bad reports people have published about the Don Bigote - it is all a load of rubbish!!!!!!

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a week in August and had the best holiday ever. I really don't understand some of the nonsense people are writing. Firstly, this hotel is in a superb location just 2 mins walk to palma nova beach and about a 7 min walk to Magaluf - what more could you ask for?? Secondly, we never had any concerns with the cleanliness, when we arrived our room was immaculate, our bed was made up every day and the room cleaned. We stayed on the 6th floor with a pool view with plenty of sunshine. You are not looking onto wasteland.

On the subject of the hotel food:
BREAKFAST: There was a cooked breakfast every morning. Fresh fruit and yogurts, toast, selection of cheese and cold meats. Tea, coffee and juice.

DINNER: Tables were set!! Waiter service for your drinks which you pay for. Every night they had different dishes which we enjoyed, ok its not the Ritz but you get what you paid for!

All in all this is a fab wee hotel we enjoyed everything about it, it was clean, friendly and in a fantastic location.

If you want a low budget holiday this is the hotel to go for!!!! Also visit the Kompas cafe just opposite the beach, almost every day we went here for lunch and never disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

We booked this hotel via an on line hotel agent and were not sure what to expect. The receptionist was friendly and gave our keys etc. We had a smallish room with a balcony - and a view of the pool to one side, and the sea to the other. Excellent. Rooms were cleaned daily and clean towels were provided. Breakfast consisted of buffet continental and also buffet style English. The English breakfast was not very good, so we usually had beans on toast etc. I do not think it was particularly a case of not good food, but simply Spanish bacon and sausages that we were not familiar with. Evening meals were excellent - again buffet style and consisted of soup, rolls, buffet salad, buffet hot courses - various choices and then sweets - icecreams, cakes and fruit. Roast beef and Yorkshire Pudding even popped up! Excellent value for money and we are booking again. The hotel pool was regularly cleaned during our stay. Evening entertainment too!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

All i can say is what do people want for a fantastic price. We used this hotel because of the location and price (£262 HB, 2 people, 7 nights. 21-28 Sept). Booked through hotels4u.com and requested a room with a pool view on an high floor which was granted...
Staff at reception were spot on and quick to get us sorted. The rooms are small, basic looking, a bit dated with wafer thin walls but if you can see past that they are cleaned daily and fresh towels put in. Our maid was superb, friendly and even tidied up. Small balcony was great to sit out on and warm up with a bottle of vino.
Restraunt was basic, brecky good with choice of cereal's, yoguart, toast and the full monty, great for soaking the grog up, suggest getting down early its not as busy. We went with the intention of eating out every other night and did so. Food was basic but there was something for everyone.
Pool area was a treat. The staff at the pool bar were spot on and the poolside snacks great. Cheese burger recommended. Drink and snacks not bad priced too. Kept entertained by a few groups of lads/lasses that were still flying in and out for a few days.
LISA Yeah Man! you are a nutter....... a fag and a bottle of Smirnoff ice for brecky!!!!!!!
Venture out and the beach is just 2 mins away, swing left for some nice restraunts and right for the bright lights of Magaluf 10 min stroll. Taste of India good for a nose bag if you fancy a vindaloo after a couple too many up that end.
All in all superb all round for the price we paid. Be prepared to pay the price for imported drinks when you hit the bars average £10 for 2 drinks Magners & G&T......... 2 pints of San Mig about £5. Everyone was going on about the price of things now, with the pound the way it is against the Euro.
Would i go back to the Don Bigote YES, will i be back to euroland in the near future NO.
Time to look further afield for better value........

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Don Bigote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Bigote

Address: Carrer de Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Bigote 2*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Don Bigote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Bigote Hotel
Hotel Don Bigote Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Bigote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.