We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Bigote

Save Saved
You added Hotel Don Bigote to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Don Bigote
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer de Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My Girlfriend and I have just recently returned from a weeks stay here . The room I have to say was a tad on the small side , but perfectly comfortable as a place to get your head down . If you can battle through the ridiculous amount of abandoned mobility scooters in the reception area to get down for breakfast or dinner your actually find a reasonable standard of meal . The food is by no means 5 star but there's enough available so you don't starve . Just take some advice and don't dare walk round the buffet cart or use the drink machines you want to use . Make sure you walk everywhere in queue form otherwise there will be trouble (lol) . The pool area is very nice with plenty of space for everyone . Location wise I don't think this place can actually be beaten with the beach five minutes away and magaluf 10 - 20 minutes walk away . Nightlife wise the resort has loads packed into it . If staring gormlessly at the x factor or FOOTBALL is your idea of a great night out there's plenty of English bars to accommodate your wishes .
If you want music my recommendation would be to walk up towards Magaluf as the bars up that side seem to be less English . Magaluf itself wasn't actually awful with loads more bars , however the promo people on the street to get a little bit annoying .

In conclusion this is a belting hotel with plenty to explore all over , its just a shame that the resort as a whole is slightly spoilt with horrible overally English bars . Though theres enough other bars and things to do that let you overlook this .

Tip - if you want to escape the overally English ness id recommend a boat trip to Palma its a great city with a stunning cathedral .



Tip 2 - To contradict part of my review id recommend the Prince William as one of the best bars . Its English but isn't trying as hard to be English like some of the other places . The atomosphere in there is great With music taking centre stage and the football not overpowering .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    283
    136
    58
    49
See reviews for
67
244
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Read some reviews prior to visit so was a bit wary but i have to say lovely hotel.................m very clean..........lovely staff ..............great value for money perfect location ...........we would definately come here again...staff were very helpful even though we were on the top floor everything was great

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived in The Don Bigote Hotel 27 September 2013 for 10 days and needed to put a small message on Trip Advisor to let people know about this Hotel.
On our arrival to the Hotel the reception is very welcoming with lovely staff that offers advice and information about the area. We went to our room which was on the fifth floor (out of seven) looking out over the sea (you can either have pool view which is a lot quieter or Sea View where it is a little noisier due to the road below). The rooms are very small with a Twin/Double bed, bed side tables, dressing table and two chairs. The balcony is an ok size with two chairs and a table and the bathroom has a shower over the bath, with plenty of hot water, a toilet and sink. The room is an ideal size for two people, but would advise that it would be crowded if three people were it.
The pool area is lovely with a pool bar, outside toilets and loads of sunbeds. The pool offers a child’s pool, but the adult pool is very deep. If you love the sun the pool is ideal, but it does not offer a lot of shade.
The restaurant is a buffet. Breakfast offers breads, cereal, and full English breakfast. Evening meals had different soups for starter, a selection of salad, hams, and cheeses with hot food from chicken, Beef and Pork with a selection of vegetables. The deserts have cheese board, cakes, ice creams and fruit. I would advise to go to breakfast and dinner later, as this hotel is more for the older generation and they are queuing at 8am in the morning and 7pm at night (we were going for Breakfast at 9am, and then evening meal about 8pm so we did not queue).
The location is ideal – 5 minutes’ walk to the beach and local shops, bars, restaurants opposite the hotel on the way.
Overall, for what we paid – I would give the hotel 8/10 and the location 9/10.

Room Tip: This room offers 3 in a room - DO NOT DO IT, room only big enough for 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed in the Don Bigote for the second time first time was very good but this time we had nothing but sleepless nights and it was not beacause of the stag or hen parties but a family in the room next door to ours they arrived back at 4 30 am,and were on the balcony shouting and fighting with each other and breaking things,We reported this to the hotel and nothing was done about it,this was every night of our holidays,we will not be going back there again. Des & Margaret north wales.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatburn, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Located in a beautiful location, 5 minutes from the lovely sandy beaches and shopping arcades, this hotel is a warm welcoming place, the staff are brilliant and always ready to help you, the food is absolutely top rate and is cooked to perfection with a large choice of menu every day. The pool area and bars are second to none, I will DEFINATELY go back.

Room Tip: choose any room on any floor. the are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Once again we had a great time at the Don Bigote.

Food brilliant, I think if you struggle to find good food here you may be a person who is used to eating in a top restaurant such as Jamie Olivers. Could not fault any thing we ate for the whole week and we went half board. Many thanks to Maitre D, Sampson etc, for making our visit another enjoyable holiday.

Rooms basic but you do get what you pay for (in our eyes a bargin). Cleaners are on hand if you need them, but they do such a good job we think that would be unliklely.

Reception Staff excetional, cheeky chappie and very friendly lady who could not be more helpful.

Location of this hotel is central to all you need. Try Castaways if you are not into Banana Joe scene only just round the courner and very, very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Having read some of the earlier comments, before we went (15-29 Sept), we were, shall we say, a little apprehensive, to say the least. Let's just say, I will never listen to the (under educated) minority again, this hotel is like a breath of fresh air. For a 2 star hotel, they really do go the extra mile, nothing is too much trouble for anyone, reception, bar staff, chambermaids, everyone was fantastic.
To the people on here, who claim the chambermaids, wake them up, shouting down the corridors, they don't come up to the floors, till after 10.00am. Breakfast is served from 8.00am til 10.00am, you obviously cannot get up before 10.00am, "DONT" complain, get an apartment.
The food here was good, and plentiful, I don't know what some people expect from a 2 star hotel, maybe they should Google the star rating system, this hotel should be 3 stars, the only thing stopping it is, there are no televisions in the rooms, (thanks to the p*sshead, Magalluf lot, throwing them off the balcony).
Rants over now, other than to say, this place is a gem, we would be back next year, but a few individuals have put us off, some peoples morals are not the same as mine, and my partners.

Room Tip: Try floors 5 and above, the idiots don't get up there too often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Don Bigote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Bigote

Address: Carrer de Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Bigote 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Don Bigote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Bigote Hotel
Hotel Don Bigote Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Bigote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.