We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 day stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Bigote

Save Saved
You added Hotel Don Bigote to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Don Bigote
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer de Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“6 day stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

After reading the views on here I wasn't looking forward to my stay at all. We arrived by 11:30 am, we picked our key up straight away. The rooms were small, but at least they were cleaned every day. The food was OK, but not once did I go hungry.

The pool area was cleaned everyday and yes there was groups but we didn't expierence any noise from other guests.

Enjoyable stay, would stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    288
    139
    59
    49
See reviews for
70
248
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
galston
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel at least once a year since 2001. Ihave met many friendly people who make my holiday "what a holiday should be". The staff are very friendly, but the traveller must be friendly too. The rooms ,although not the biggest, are kept extremely clean. The food is always good and the selection of dishes excellent. The biggest plus is of course the bar staff who try their best to make you welcome, but please remember they are not natural English speakers and some of our British dialects are hard for even us to understand. All in all from reception staff to cleaners friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are best for all day sun and very little outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Don Bigote for 10 nights at the end of August. First thing I would say is NEVER AGAIN! This is by far the worst hotel I have stayed in. The location is good and thats the only thing it has going for it. The rooms are Tiny really tiny, we checked in and were given 2 single beds I asked for another room with a double which we got, it was a family room (allegedly) I can't put into words how small it is, a small garden shed might come close. The beds were like sleeping on concrete and I suffered from backache all holiday because of it (I'm only 27). There were stains all over the walls and they looked tired and dirty. The balcony over looking the busy noisy road was so small you couldn't fit more than 2 people on it. Next up is the noise in the corridors not from the other guests I might add but from the cleaners shouting to each other down the other end EVERY SINGLE MORNING! The air con is nonexistent and only works for certain hours but you'd never know it was on when it actually was. There is nothing in the room I.e a kettle, TV, hairdryer etc. Just a bed and wardrobe thats it. The food is poor very repetitive and they reuse what wasn't finished the night before trust me you can tell! Drinks at dinner are overpriced. There's not really more to add I think you would be foolish to stay at the Don Bigote in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After reading the reviews on this hotel we were definitely wary but after our fortnight there we can absolutely say what a fab hotel it is, clean rooms, lovely array of food, fantastic bar staff..hi to Joseph, Livingston, jamal, tony and Isabel , pool was fab, we were a family of ages ranging from 8 to 72, there was some noise when people came in at night but nothing major, our room was on the roadside but we didn't hear any traffic. Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

About 14 of us stayed, for 3 nights, at this Hotel as a stag party in June 2013 aged from 20's to late 50's.

Location:
Brilliant - about 100 metres max. to the beach (down the road and turn left) and 50 to 65metres to bars, shops and good priced restaurants. Continue left to the centre of Palma Nova and down the road and turn right to Magaluf strip (Punta Ballena). There are some very nice restaurants on the way to the strip.
The Beach is great - lovely sand, plenty of sun beds (about 14 euros for 2 beds and parasol) and bar/café. There is also plenty of room for the locals boys & girls to set up for beach volleyball later in the day. Sea is always good for cooling off.
The Don Bigote is opposite Lively Mallorca (where Magaluf Weekender is filmed).

Room:
Generally 3 or 4 bedded rooms. Ours had 3 single beds and was cramped for space. However it was clean and the bath/shower room was modern and plenty big enough. Wardrobe space is small and there was a safe in it (extra charge). There was a balcony but no tv nor fridge. 231 rooms with air con, 7 floors and 2 lifts. You may be disappointed if you want a large room - ask before you book.

Outside:
Nice pool area but small pool. Had a pool table and table tennis and outside bar access.

Inside:
Restaurant looked nice but we were on bed & breakfast (buffet style) and didn't bother much as we got in around 3-4am each morning. Beware it will be noisy at times. The bar area is OK and I think there was some early evening entertainment on.

Magauluf strip:
Mambo's was our favourite - Huge open area with 2 bars and a mechanical bull - dead funny.
Expect to be touted for business as you pass the bars but that's all part of the fun - choose which deal of free drinks suits you best.

Verdict:
Good price, great location, accommodation adequate - great for groups.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location away from too much noise but minutes away from all shops/bars/the beach. The rooms are very basic without a tv or drink making facilities but most things are available to hire and the rooms are kept clean daily.
We stayed half board n the food was great and there was plenty of choice. The staff were friendly and always available and the bar staff were great, two in particular (husband and wife) made a special effort to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I read loads of reviews before going and they were mostly bad. On arrival we weren't greeted but asked name and have a key. We never spoke with any members of staff the whole week we were there. The barstaff there were the only ones to speak to you. The rooms were plain but liveable. I'd go back again x

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Don Bigote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Bigote

Address: Carrer de Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Bigote 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Don Bigote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Bigote Hotel
Hotel Don Bigote Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Bigote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.