We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don Bigote - great location but expect stag/hen parties” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Bigote

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Don Bigote to your Saves list
Hotel Don Bigote
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer de Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Don Bigote - great location but expect stag/hen parties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

About 14 of us stayed, for 3 nights, at this Hotel as a stag party in June 2013 aged from 20's to late 50's.

Location:
Brilliant - about 100 metres max. to the beach (down the road and turn left) and 50 to 65metres to bars, shops and good priced restaurants. Continue left to the centre of Palma Nova and down the road and turn right to Magaluf strip (Punta Ballena). There are some very nice restaurants on the way to the strip.
The Beach is great - lovely sand, plenty of sun beds (about 14 euros for 2 beds and parasol) and bar/café. There is also plenty of room for the locals boys & girls to set up for beach volleyball later in the day. Sea is always good for cooling off.
The Don Bigote is opposite Lively Mallorca (where Magaluf Weekender is filmed).

Room:
Generally 3 or 4 bedded rooms. Ours had 3 single beds and was cramped for space. However it was clean and the bath/shower room was modern and plenty big enough. Wardrobe space is small and there was a safe in it (extra charge). There was a balcony but no tv nor fridge. 231 rooms with air con, 7 floors and 2 lifts. You may be disappointed if you want a large room - ask before you book.

Outside:
Nice pool area but small pool. Had a pool table and table tennis and outside bar access.

Inside:
Restaurant looked nice but we were on bed & breakfast (buffet style) and didn't bother much as we got in around 3-4am each morning. Beware it will be noisy at times. The bar area is OK and I think there was some early evening entertainment on.

Magauluf strip:
Mambo's was our favourite - Huge open area with 2 bars and a mechanical bull - dead funny.
Expect to be touted for business as you pass the bars but that's all part of the fun - choose which deal of free drinks suits you best.

Verdict:
Good price, great location, accommodation adequate - great for groups.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    327
    169
    67
    54
See reviews for
83
292
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location away from too much noise but minutes away from all shops/bars/the beach. The rooms are very basic without a tv or drink making facilities but most things are available to hire and the rooms are kept clean daily.
We stayed half board n the food was great and there was plenty of choice. The staff were friendly and always available and the bar staff were great, two in particular (husband and wife) made a special effort to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I read loads of reviews before going and they were mostly bad. On arrival we weren't greeted but asked name and have a key. We never spoke with any members of staff the whole week we were there. The barstaff there were the only ones to speak to you. The rooms were plain but liveable. I'd go back again x

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I, both 40+ stayed in this hotel for 10 days Half Board. After reading the previous reviews I was very anxious indeed. Why did I worry.
The Hotel is in a prime location, just a couple of minutes walk to the beach and shops. The beach is spotless all the time.
The rooms are very basic, but cleaned every day and fresh towels every day. We requested a higher floor room, poolside, as previous reviews had said it was quieter. We heard very little noise, only people coming in after a night out.
The pool area was cleaned every day, but we never went there as we both like the beach.
The food was the same for breakfast every day, cereal, cooked breakfast, tea and coffee. Evening dinner was a little more varied, with fish, meat, spaghetti, fresh salad etc, You will not starve there. You have to pay for drinks though. Again everything was spotless. The staff are one of the friendliest bunch of people we have ever met.
Would highly recommend the Dolphin Bar, which is 2 minutes around the corner for somewhere to eat.
Magaluf is about a 10 minute walk away if you want the livelier bars.
We will not hesitate staying there again.

Room Tip: High floors, pool side seem to be quitter, as the younger ones are on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Don Bigote in Palma Nova with 4 other friends in the first week of August 2013. We wanted somewhere close enough to nightlife that we could go if we wanted to, but didn't want to be stuck right in the centre of a rowdy 18-30 environment 24/7. Palma Nova was great for that as Magalluf was only 5 minutes away but Palma Nova itself was quite chilled out. The hotel is literally a 2 minute walk from the beach which was perfect and the beach front was filled with a wide range of food and drink places. We tried a thai restaurant, sushi bar, italian, tex mex restaurant and all of them were amazing! There were also your standard gift shops, ice cream parlous etc. The beach was clean and not so busy that there was no room to sit down but busy enough that there were games of volleyball and water sport activities going on if you wanted to join in.


The hotel itself was not really what we expected. We'd booked onto a breakfast only deal, thinking we would have access to some form of kitchen facilities to be able to make lunch and tea, however this was not the case. In the end it turned out ok because we really enjoyed eating out at a different place every night, it's just something to be aware of when you're booking!

The rooms were quite basic. Me and another girl shared one room which had just about enough space for us to get ready in at night and walk around etc, however the three boys shared a room of the same size and it was way too cramped! You could barely get from the bedroom door to the balcony door without falling on a bed! The rooms were cleaned really well every day and the maids were friendly if you saw them in the corridor. There were no TVs, kettles or hairdryers in rooms but towels, soaps and shampoos were included.

Facilities at the hotel were much more satisfactory! The pool was big, clean and a nice temperature. There were plenty of sun loungers, although they did tend to be taken up by about 11am as people started to roll out of bed. There was a small on-site food hut that served toasties, pizzas, chips etc for very reasonable prices as well as cold drinks, slushes and alcohol. You could pay for wi-fi in the hotel although I'm not really sure of prices for this because we didn't use it ourselves.

Breakfast was great - there was a wide variety of foods including toasts, cereals, fruits, pastries, full english etc and it was all buffet-style so you could get as much or as little as you wanted.

Overall the hotel could be made a lot better by extending out some of the rooms and giving them a bit of a revamp but everything else was perfectly ok and to be honest, for the amount of time we actually spent in the rooms, it didn't really matter about them too much for us as long as they were clean.

Would definitely consider staying there again if I were to go on this type of holiday in the future.

Room Tip: Some rooms were definitely bigger than others (you could see when other guests had their doors open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

went from 17th until 28th august 2013 rooms were basic breakfast was the same every day so got boring after a week and was sick of sausage and beans evening meals were very good with a lot to choose from. would recommend eating out on a sunday night food not so good think its there day of rest then. the staff in dining area were not very friendly but I would be the same if I was doing that job day in and day out. the cleaners in the rooms were very hard working, the pool area was great . All in all a good place to stay for the money not to much noise a bit dated im nearly 50 and had no problems if you want peace and quite go and have a holiday in a old folks home

Room Tip: keep away from first two floors and lift area if you want a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a stag do! The rooms aren't great at all if anything very cramped! Staff at reception just always seem grumpy and don't engage whatsoever. The pool is nice apart from the constant repetitive music channel that is played and plays the same adverts over and over again! Plus side the barman at night can't remember his name is very welcoming and friendly guy loves his job and it shows. He should work somewhere which would be more appreciative of him! Hotel could be doing with a bit of refurb to bring it into the 21st Century

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Don Bigote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Bigote

Address: Carrer de Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Bigote 2*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Don Bigote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Bigote Hotel
Hotel Don Bigote Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Bigote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.