We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Bigote

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Don Bigote to your Saves list
Hotel Don Bigote
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer de Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You get what you pay for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

As booking 3 days before travelling with friends staying in the hotel when we arrived; it did me and the missus just right! BUT YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!

The meals some nights were really good where other nights was just plain starving!!One night was just all pork, not good if your muslim!

Also one dinner, I had a dirty knife so I swapped it without making a fuss for a waiter to come to me and say "No good?" then obviously curse me to his co worker in Spanish, it's okay though because I was going home to a good job while he will clean plates for the rest of his life!

Apart from one rude reception staff (well more stern than rude) everyone else was nice and welcoming, theres a bar staff who will get you drunk for free on shots that would be illegal at home!

On day of arrival I asked for a sea room view and the receptionist said "I have beautiful room for you" and to be honest, it was an all sea view being able to see make the mountains out from the balcony!

Air coditioned worked perfectly and quite, our floor was quite, cleaner there every morning saying "Ola" so all in all a good holiday with a good hotel.

Would stay here again :)

Room Tip: Room 600, over looking the mountains and sea and being able to make out ibiza
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    327
    169
    67
    54
See reviews for
83
292
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you are part of a young group of friends and are going to Palmanova to make the most of Magaluf being less than one mile away – this hotel is perfect for you. There is a nice pool area that bangs out the tunes and has lots of beautiful people around it.

If you are anything other than a group of clubbers this hotel is not for you. I went here with my husband for a week. We spent bearly any time in the hotel as the beautiful beach is at the bottom of the road. We would usually get up eat breakfast (full English and continental style buffet), then head off to the beach the whole day before coming back for a quick change and going out for a nice meal in one of the many restaurants in Palmanova.

From around 7pm the noise in the hotel rises – music is blaring from every room while everyone gets ready to head off to Magaluf. Everything quiets down around midnight but picks back up again around 4am when there are a lot of drunks coming home. We could here people vomiting, arguing and banging into every door on their way past. On our last night 2 rooms were completely trashed after a large fight. Unfortunately the hotel night security are unable to keep a handle on the noise and it is highly likely you will be sleep deprived. We were moved on our last night after our 3rd complaint to staff due to people banging on our door or surrounding doors at 4am.

Steer clear if you want a relaxing holiday – certainly not suitable for children (90% of the swimming pool is 3 meters deep and everyone stands and drinks in the tiny shallow end)

Room Tip: Ensure you don't have a room opposite lift or stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Well, got back from my 2week stay here last night, my god! I will NEVER return to Don Bigote again, the food is cold, and repeated daily, the rooms are small although cleaned daily, very basic, bed, table, bathroom. But the worst for me by far is the NOISE! Absolutely horrendous! Screaming, shouting, groups running from room to room, and one night even a sterio was put on the landing and blasted at midnight! Staff are OK. Bar is overpriced, all in all. Crap hotel, wouldn't recommend it atall.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here as a group of 4 on a girly holiday between the 17th-24th of July. Reading the reviews before going we were skeptical however we found the majority of negative reviews were from families/older people. If you are going for a party holiday it is perfect. The rooms are basic and small but has everything you need and are cleaned daily even when one friend was passed out on the bed, the maid still cleaned around her. We hired a safe but even without one we'd be confident our stuff was fine. The air con however only comes on from 6pm till 8am so during the day the room gets hot, but we tended to be out during the day anyway so wasn't a problem. Strip is a 10-15 minute walk but is straight forward epecially walking the beach way, we tended to get a taxi for 4 euros to the strip around 12 when it began getting busier. If you want to avoid the wrath of Magaluf through the day, Palma Nova is a lot nicer eg. cleaner beach etc. so you get the best of both worlds. Either way you'll have a great time!

Room Tip: Rooms on road side are noisy but good for balcony creeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Well after reading lots of negative reviews my husband and I were very anxious. We went for my 40th birthday for 3 nights leaving our children behind. We enjoyed our break, hotel needs to be a bit updated but was very clean, food okish but as we were only there short time we ate out a lot. Staff were friendly enough and pool area good size. We were lucky with our room it was situated on the side so only heard some noise but heard other guests saying it's best to be on the higher levels so you don't hear as much noise. There were lots of groups of lads and girls but most of them were ok except for a huge party of lads who came on our last day, language was awful and they were drinking bottles of beer while in the pool. If your a couple looking to go for short break then this hotel is ok but wouldnt stay for a week, it's definitely for young groups and I definitely wouldn't take my children there but if your young and looking for somewhere clean to stay then this hotel is suitable for you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Rooms cleaned every day. Great choice and selection of food. Location excellent. Rooms a bit small and quite a few young ones stay in this hotel but if you are on level 6 or 7 its quieter.good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Me and 5 friends stayed at this hotel between 7th-14th of July,my friend had read reviews and was worried,our first night we had to stay at the hotel across the road due to our flight being delayed and there were no more available rooms,but the next day (Hungover) we made our way to the Don Bigote,at first we were a bit worried as the rooms were small and they managed to fit 3 single beds into it,the first night of dinner wasnt really that nice to be honest but got majorly better as the week went on,great location as you are close to the Magaluf strip,shops and a short walk from a sort of Town centre,all most every night we started our nights at Banana Joes which is a sort of Bar with a nightclub vibe,they also showed the football ,which we were interested in,all in all great hotel,mainly for your 18+ as it sometimes gets a tad noisy,the main thing is you get what you pay for if you pay 2* prices,you dont get 5* dining/room quality,cant wait to go back soon

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Don Bigote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Bigote

Address: Carrer de Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Bigote 2*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Don Bigote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Bigote Hotel
Hotel Don Bigote Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Bigote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.