We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as everyone makes out.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Bigote

Save Saved
You added Hotel Don Bigote to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Don Bigote
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer de Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not as bad as everyone makes out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked this hotel as a cheap last minute few days away, once we had booked, the reviews that were being written put us off so much, we even considered changing our booking, but eventually decided against it as we got such a good deal. As a couple aged between 27 and 35, we enjoy a good time, but this was a short break away from the children, so wasn't looking forward to all the screaming girls/rowdy boys etc. Check in was easy, friendly enough man on reception, not very smiley but not rude either. We were on the 5th floor, with a pool view as requested, yes rooms are small and basic, but that didn't bother us one bit, we only planned on sleeping there, at least they were very clean. The first night we heard abit of banging, but the next day realised this could be due to the balcony door...so noisy to open and close. Breakfast was fine, full breakfast, cereal, toast, fruit, yoghurts and even buns for the more fussy. Juice, tea, coffee etc. Didn't try the tea, but the coffee was lovely. The staff were constantly clearing plates and tables, very clean. We spent the first 2 days at the beach, €4.50 for a sunbed..and as the guy said, you have it all day and all night! Lovely and peaceful on the beach, again very clean. Dinner was great too, a mixture of everything, soup, pasta, rice, salad, meat, fish and of course chips. Loads of desserts. Again constantly cleaning the tables. You do have to pay for drinks in the evening, but a bottle of water or Pepsi isn't that expensive. Had great nights out in Palmanova....drinks dead cheap too. Everyone so friendly and welcoming, loved it here (our 2nd time in Palmanova) Heard nothing during the night, and the air con was brilliant too. It does state that it only works in the evening, but ours was on whenever we put our card in...no matter what time. The 3rd day, we stayed by the pool, as we had to vacate our room by 12 noon. Wasn't keen on the idea, but it was absolutely fine, old couples, a few families (older children 7ish plus, no toddlers) and a few groups. There was one girl constantly shouting and screaming to attract the attention of a group of boys, didn't bother us though...the boys weren't very interested either!! The bar plays music which we liked, even the older generation were tapping their feet. Once we had checked out of our room, we stayed by the pool for the remainder of the day, before requesting to use the courtesy room.... No problem, handed us the keys, no charge and gave us 30 mins, to shower etc. After worrying about what we had booked and reading the petty reviews, I would definitely book this hotel again, perhaps not with little children, but older one's I would. Had no problems at all, so what if there's the odd bit of noise, the hotel is close to all the bars in Palmanova so bound to be a little, nothing put us off. I liked the fact there was a mixture of guests as I would've felt slightly out of place if it was just completely full of kids, can't fault the hotel or area.
We got a taxi to and from the airport, around €34 although on the way back to the airport, we were stuck in loads of traffic due to an accident, so ended up being €42 which couldn't be helped and the taxi driver was very apologetic. Palma airport is huge, bigger than I remember. Love Majorca, and Palmanova, a gorgeous island, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    308
    148
    63
    52
See reviews for
77
258
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Room was very basic as couldn't access all furniture,bathroom was reasonable and the cleaners did a good job. Reception staff were hard to understand and not always as helpful as what you needed them to be. Very noisy at night time and the early hours when the younger people were coming back to the hotel back from Magaluf. The food was to a good standard an the two lifts available were very small to fit five people in as it says. A welcome letter would of been nice to inform us on the food times, any excursions available and the rules of the hotel. The pool was nice and always able to get a sun lounger, the bar staff was very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

jst back from the don bigote hotel my husband 60 and I am 55 and we had a brill time its what u make of a holiday and altho half of the kids r young we had a brill holiday glad a didnae listen to reviews fae people that didnae like it as we had no problem wae staff kids r only enjoying there holiday like every1 else. and we were all kids at 1 time and when u think of yer own kids on holiday they pay to enjoy so a don't know what people moan at the food was good also and the maids wer excellent and we heard one guy moan cos they had no mushrooms on for breaky ha ha does he eat them every morning back home a don't think so people need to get a life couldnae complain and wud go back again big thanks to don bigote

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Me and a friend stayed at this hotel for four nights 24th-27th July. If you are choosing this hotel, you are choosing it because it is cheap so what some people are expecting I am not sure! The rooms although small are clean and mopped daily etc. And yes, the air con is only on through the night but this is the time you need it to be able to sleep, if you have it on in the day, you need to remember you're on holiday and get out and about!! The staff, if you are nice to them, are nice back in return. We arrived really early around 12 noon and even though the rooms should not have been available till later they did everything they could to get us a room on the side of the hotel we wanted as soon as they could which turned out to be in only half an hours time. We only had breakfast and found a good amount of choice, no problems at all. Although me and my friend are 33 and 40, the younger people staying in the hotel (of which there are a lot, due to the proximity to Magaluf) were not rude and kept themselves to themselves. Yes the hallways were quite echoey so some doors had the tendancy to bang on occcasion. We made the decsion if you cant' beat them join them! We never went into magaluf (too old!!) but there were so many other local bars (Stadium and Banana Joes to mention a few) close buy that there was still a lot to do till the small hours and we had no problems sleeping. If you want a cheap and cheerful hoiday, a base to sunbathe, go out and actually enjoy yourself ignore the bad remarks and book yourself in. We would stay again for sure

Room Tip: select pool side room if you can! quieter and you get the sun all day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Booked to stay at this hotel from 20th to 30th July. First night arrived late at night was tired and looking forward to a good night's sleep but that wasn't happening due to some girl crying outside our room and slamming the fire exit door, next night was someone trying to kick the door in, shouting and swearing, and same again on the 3rd night, did ring down to reception to complain but nothing really happened. Room was okay although small likewise with the bathroom. Had a pool view which was okay for the morning, not in the afternoon when the people who had a late night had woken up. Never visited the pool as wouldn't have felt comfortable. After 3 nights we decided we were moving hotels, which cost us £130 and we moved to self catering from half board which left us with very little money. We moved to interur hawaii apartments which was absolutely lovely. We came home early due to having no money left after moving hotels, which wasn't our fault. Wouldn't recommend this hotel to anybody unless your under the age of 30 and are expecting to be up all night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We are both 21 year old girls.. hotel is a good location close to beach and night life.. food is shockily filthy, never have stayed in a disgusting hotel full of the rudest staff members, there excuse being they are family run hotel.. we woke up for breakfast once as there is no choice.. security just try and kick people out randomly.. a very very noisy hotel with people banging and shouting.. not for little children so i wouldnt stay here unless you want children to hear vile things people shout from balconys... would rather [--] in my hands and clap they stay hear again.. altho rooms were very clean nice job maids!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Spent a week here in July with loads of 21 year old lads. Only bad points are the double and twin rooms are tiny, the aircon barely works and only operates between 6pm and 8am. You have to pay extra to get a fridge put in the room and the hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the strip. Would only recommend the hotel for young people, not really suitable for families and older people. Apart from that rooms are cleaned daily. The pool area is good and clean. The food is decent with a variety of dishes each night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Don Bigote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Bigote

Address: Carrer de Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Bigote 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Don Bigote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Bigote Hotel
Hotel Don Bigote Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Bigote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.