We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore negative comments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Bigote

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Don Bigote to your Saves list
Hotel Don Bigote
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer de Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ignore negative comments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just had a week half board at this Hotel and had read some pretty scary reviews. Try the Hotel for yourself. There was just the two of us. Found the staff in Reception, cleaners, Restaurant all very pleasant and helpful. Food varied and good with hot plates!! As 70+ my husband and I found there was lots of young people but no trouble and we would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Room 328 overlooked the road almost above main entrance. The road was busy and noisy but we had no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    350
    190
    73
    64
See reviews for
92
313
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just got back from a 3 night stay and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is alittle dated but rooms were adequate size and very clean. Maid service every day. Food was basic but something for everyone and deserts were lovely. Pool area clean, spacious and plenty of sun loungers. Ideal location, near to beach and bars/restaurants but couldnt hear any loud music etc on a night. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just got back from the Don Bigote, was pleasantly surprised to find that it`s not a bad hotel after all! Some of the negative reviews had started to worry me before I went, but the hotel is clean, ideally located and the bar is cheap. The food was good most nights with plenty of choice, and the deserts were lovely. My only quibble was lack of scrambled eggs for breakfast, but not a major concern. Yes the rooms are a bit tired and dated, but aren`t too bad a size, the balconies are ample for two people and relatively private, and the pool area is quite spacious. If I ever return to Palma Nova, would definitely give this hotel another go.

Room Tip: opt for a pool view room if possible, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambrige
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

just got back from palma nova don bigote hotel first time in this hotel didt no what to exspect rooms basic very clean have cleaners in every day went half bourd food was good pool good will defently go back again mixed age groups it wasen;t noisey was on 6th floor over looking pool hotel good value for money had a week got back 11/5/2013 carnt wait to go back banna joes bar walking distance very good .

Room Tip: we was on 6h floor over looking pool facing road to noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have just returned home after another great stay at the Don Bigote. We travelled as a group of 22 age range 22 - 59 and all had a great time. The hotel is spotless and the rooms are cleaned everyday. Yes the hotel is a little noisy on a night as there are quite a lot of stag and hen groups but this didn't bother us as we knew what to expect as this was our third stay here . The food is nice. I would recommend Amigos Bar across the road from the hotel, the owner, Raphael and his wife Maria, are very welcoming and very entertaining. Also, Castaways just around the corner is very cheap, €2.20 for 2 pints and is nice. We will definitely be returning to the Don Bigote.

You need to remember that you are not paying 4 star prices and so you are not getting a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side will be quieter on a night, you can here the coaches coming and going on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Ive actually stayed here twice.. The first time we booked to stay here, it was bad... The second time we went as a group/party and didnt know our hotel until we arrived. When I looked up and saw Don Bigote, I wanted to cry. This place is GRIM.

The place is SO unclean, especially if your staying on the higher floors, cleaners seem to get lazy whilst going up! The beds have stains and there was hair all over the bathroom on both occassions. The pool is also just as dirty. Im by no means a clean freak, but i have never stayed anywhere as grim as this.

The bar was good and fairly priced. Both times went room only so never ate any of the food. Im all for basic rooms - when I go on holiday i rarely spend any time in the room, I just use it to sleep, but this is beyond basic.

Ive returned to the island 5 times since, and the only hotel I would rule out ever returning to is this one. I recommend the hotel next door - Aquasol - not much more expensive and a lot nicer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a hen party, the location of the hotel is good, the outside area and pool are great, the inside bar looks like the best room of a 1990s pub with its wood interior and red upholstery. The hotel rooms are very basic 2 single beds a fitted wardrobe with sliding door and a dressing table. The rooms definitely need a make over. The bathroom had a bath with a shower over it, it has seen better days but was functional. There was a small balcony. There was no television or tea making facilities in the room. The room was cold as we couldn't turn the air conditioning off, but the room was cleaned every day and towels changed. As previously reported the hotel is well known for hen and stag parties so the noise levels at night are rowdy when the parties are all making there way back to their rooms. The good bits of this hotel are the staff who are helpful and the food which was good to say it was mass produced. We were also very pleased with the location 2 minutes walk to the beech and 10 minutes walk to the strip in Magaluf. We paid £290 each person for 3 nights so was quite expensive. Palma Nova and Magaluf are beautiful venues but probably wouldn't stop at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Don Bigote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Bigote

Address: Carrer de Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Bigote 2*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Don Bigote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Bigote Hotel
Hotel Don Bigote Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Bigote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.