We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staying at bigote” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Bigote

Save Saved
You added Hotel Don Bigote to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Don Bigote
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer de Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
HULL
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“staying at bigote”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

we have stayed at don bigote now 4 times i find it a very good hotel the staff are very friendly the food is good and fresh it is a good location to the beach and near the local bus stops and all local shops would i stay there again you bet just booked to go in may 5th 2013 looking forward to seeing all the staff again

Room Tip: pool side gets the better sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    312
    153
    65
    53
See reviews for
77
264
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the Don Bigote in August 2012. We didnt pay a lot but we did expect the hotel to be better than it was. The room was tiny and smelt fusty. The furniture was falling apart and the door wasnt secure. The hotel has obviously been used by groups of youngsters who are there for the clubs, but nothing seemed of any quality. We had stayed at the D'or Tobago the year before and that was a much nicer hotel in comparison. I would highly recommend the D'or Tobago but unless you dont mind a really run down hotel i wouldnt recommend the Don Bigote.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tredegar, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Booked to go here again this year in August time, definately a place to stay if your a young couple or part of a large group and right opposite Lively Majorca which has been filmed for the Magaluf Weekender programme. Returning with another couple just hope that its as clean, tidy and friendly as last year. People writing the bad comments must have high standards as you pay very little to stay in this hotel so you cant really expect a luxury hotel. The beds are clean and the rooms are cleaned everyday if required. You dont have to pay for aircon and the water is also hot. You have a safe in your room in the wardrobe which you pay for but have a deposit back at the end of the holiday and you can rent a fridge although its not a neccessity. Your really close to everything and magaluf is within walking distance and theres a mcdonalds within 10 minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

stayed here a few times now. food is basic but good quality, room cleaned everyday. yeah the first couple of floor are mostly for groups on stag or hen do's so you do get noise at night by the security do try n keep it down. would reccomend asking for a room higher up as we had no problems. didnt mind paying for drinks with evening meal as this has always happenend when booked half board.

Love this hotel and cant wait to stay again!!!

Room Tip: higher than 2 nd floor and with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marske-by-the-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a week. Upon arrival I had asked another holiday maker what was it like? and they assured me that it was nice and they have stayed several times before. The reception was nice but the receptionist was not that good at speaking English and gave me the key to where I was stopping.

ROOM

I had entered the room and was in shock at what stood before me. A room that was big enough for a single bed but was somehow a room with a double bed. This made the room small as there was also a table taking up the floor space too. The door had a huge dent in it and the bathroom was bigger then the room its self. The room was also very dark and dingy.

The Balcony was facing a main road that never slept so we couldn't get any peace. Passer by's were looking at us.

FOOD

I didn't mind the food but it was very repetative example Monday - Chips, Tuesday - Chips, Wed - Chips but there was a mixture of say corn beef pie or pasta or spaghetti bol. Then there was a man in a suit who came round offering you a drink that you had to pay for.

PEOPLE

With it being a 18 - 30's hotel there was a lot of rowdiness and on the 1st night there were people running round the corridors naked and the doors had to be slammed to shut so all night there would be shouting, swearing, music blaring and people running round naked.

ENTERTAINMENT

On a few nights there was karioki (can't spell it) and that was it along with bingo. The bar was nice and the bar staff were friendly,

LOCATION.

This I couldn't fault as it was smack in the middle of Palma Nova and a short 10 min walk away from Magaluf. Round the corner was the nightlife, bars, pubs, shops etc.

Overall I wouldn't recommend staying here if your planning to just stay in the hotel for the week but if you want to just sleep in it then you won't get any sleep. Stop somewhere else and I gurantee it will be better then this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel near everything 10 min walk to magaluf itself, bar around corner from hotel, food is okay not the best but its okay, staff are polite and good, very clean rooms are cleaned to a great standard by the maids even when the rooms a mess! Bar's cheap in hotel and pools a decent size, great hotel for a budget holiday

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

if your looking for a lively hotel look away!. It might be cheap but you don't get much out of it. your close by to everything which is a plus.

Hotel staff were good. me and my mates made a big mess the night before and after we had got back to our room from the beach the next day, our room was spotless!

Food was terrible so i advise you eat outside.

if your on a budget then this hotel is the one for you..

Room Tip: Very cheap
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Don Bigote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Bigote

Address: Carrer de Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Bigote 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Don Bigote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Bigote Hotel
Hotel Don Bigote Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Don Bigote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.