We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for!!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hi! Palmanova Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hi! Palmanova Hotel to your Saves list
Hi! Palmanova Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Miguel de los Santos Oliver 13, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Firstly may I say all staff were excellent, courteous, polite and seemed to be working under ridiculous constraints from the management.

Hotel itself was very clean at all times.

I have just returned from a weeks 'lads' holiday from here.

Yes the food was average but unless you are the pickiest person in the world you will find something to eat,.(you get what you pay for)

The all inclusive drink wrist band is a pain, showing you're wristband doesn't always work, and even the staff admit it is causing a problem but if you work with it you're ok.

The location is excellent only 20 min walk from Magaluf with plenty of bars on the way.

Entertainment is around the pool or balconies, with stage based fun at night time. How the girls keep smiling is beyond me, they seem to be worked extremely hard to entertain their guest's.

Hi 5 to Sophie and Tillie. :-)

As synopsis, Great hotel, Great entertainment team, average food, poor management, great location. 8/10.

Room Tip: Don't go if you're not a fan of peace and quiet, but also not if you like rowdiness;. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Manager at Hi! Palmanova Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
What a great, honest review Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    288
    178
    66
    54
See reviews for
289
278
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Let me start by saying I am not a whinger and whiner, and I understand you get what you pay for... We just back from a week here, and we went cos my parents recommended this hotel, they have been several times and really rated it. Ok, I will start with the positives (of which there are plenty)

Arrived, we requested a high floor room, and we were lucky enough to get this and also a pool/sea view. Room was fine, clean with a nice little balcony.

Staff, thin on the ground- but all were nice. The girl with long dark hair who works evenings collecting glasses and showing people how to use the dam drink machines was lovely, always had a smile even though she looked like she was doing the work of 3 people.

Location, loved it! Its set back from the seafront in a quiet residential area, away from the noise of the seafront but less than a 5 minute very pretty walk to the beach, bars and restaurants.

Food, well I am a really fussy eater but I found something I could eat everyday. I surprised myself, I actually really enjoyed the Mexican themed night, the chilli was really nice (coming from me that's praise indeed) I even went back for second helping.

A quiet hotel, perfect for older folks and families with young children.

All good so far.... but - and this is a VERY big BUT!

The bars are self service, roughly 25% of the 2 bars (the pool bar is open during the day, then when this closes the hotel bar opens) is 'sectioned off' for all inclusive guests where you have to scan your wristband to get in and the drinks are machine dispensed.. Now what this means in practice is:

VERY limited choice - if it isn't in the machine you can't have it! Usually in AI hotels you can have all the local stuff, the unbranded bailys for example, or have the barman whip you up a cocktail, not here!!!
The short machine is VERY slow dispensing only a tiny amount, you don't see the bottle, and the vodka and gin run out frequently.
Long queues - as the machine take so long, not great for the infirm - or impatient, most nights we were in the queue for 20 mins waiting.
Job loss!!
This self service takes away from the holiday, personally I found something very undignifying about going through a turnstyle, I felt like the 'poor relation' with my hand out. 75% of the bar is manned by one guy, for 'paying guests', but we have paid - upfront for all inclusive!!
The paying area of the bar is empty, while the AI guests are treated like cattle. I might add here, I am not a big drinker - and the turnstyle queue is for any drink.

Bars are a focal point, you see a friendly face, if your on your own you can sit at the bar and have a chat to barperson, all that ambiance is missing from this hotel in there quest to cut jobs and save money. Well I wont be going back, and I spoke with several repeat guests who said the same.. Shame really as this hotel has many plus points.

Room Tip: Some rooms have pool/sea view, these are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Manager at Hi! Palmanova Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
.Thank you for your positive comments.
The new self service system has been in place due to research that proves it is beneficcial to clients and if used correctly works very efficietly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Going to stay at this hotel in may can someone let me know if hairdryers are in the bedrooms and how much it costs for a safe deposit box thanks.. Cant wait really looking forward to our holidays most of the reviews are really good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Manager at Hi! Palmanova Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Pleased you have holiday there are no hairdryers in rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Having a late holiday we needed a break. What a pleasant holiday it was. The pool was nice to cool down [shame for few young yobs who thought the owned the pool] The location was good 3 minute walk to the beach. A slow 10 minute walk to the in bars of Palma nova and shops. The food was so-so to say the least for the first few days [cool and pathetic] to say the least but improved as the holiday carried on. Well worth the stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Manager at Hi! Palmanova Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments.
W appreciate that siometimes other clients can cause problems.
Pleased you enjoyed yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Hi Palma Nova with my friend looking for a rexlaxing holiday, and this hotel is just that. Its set in a quite residential area just set back from the main prom. behind Fantasia Golf. I wld say this hotel would suit older folks and families but not for lively youngsters. The hotel itself and the bedrooms were kept really clean with fresh towels most days. The food was ok mostly english style meals streak pie, roast beef etc but with plenty of salad, cold meat n pasta, you could also help youself to wine or cold water anything else came from the bar. At the pool there was also a self service bar with all drinks on tap, the only thing was that they dont play music round the pool because the neighbours dont like the noise !!!! but that didnt stop the entertainment gang who have quizzes and games all day as well as at nite when they put on a show. All in all we had a lovely relaxing holiday and the staff were really friendly and out Thomas Cook rep was lovely .

Room Tip: Pool facing room on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Manager at Hi! Palmanova Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Had a great time here and they brown cow coctails were to die for, would love the recipe so I can make them at home!!!! The staff were great and so were the fascilities. Please could you send me the recipe pretty please.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Manager at Hi! Palmanova Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
So pleased that you had a good time. thank you for your great comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed here 3 times now and its very good...never had any issues..The rooms have always been very clean and fresh...always found the staff friendly and food is fine something even for people who are fussy (like me) plenty of nice restaurants along the seafront if not. The pool area is slightly small which means it gets busy but the beach is less than a minutes walk. Ideal location and out the way of the noise from magaluf..Will be staying here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Manager at Hi! Palmanova Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
We really appreciate such positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hi! Palmanova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi! Palmanova Hotel

Address: C/ Miguel de los Santos Oliver 13, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#13 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hi! Palmanova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sensations by the sea, and a relaxing atmosphere make this hotel an excellent choice if you are looking for leisure and entertainment both during the day and in the evening. You can enjoy a marvelous holiday as a family, with your partner or with friends. Located only 250 metres from the beach next to the promenade in Palmanova. Refurbished in 2006. 210 rooms, with balcony, air-conditioning (heating/cooling), SAT TV, safe rental, bath, shower, toilet. 1 adult pool, 1 children's pool, game room, a conference room (maximum 60 pax) is available, exceptional program of children's entertainment and entertainment for adults. You can enjoy magnificent golf and water sports facilities only a few metres away. Water parks nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hi! Palmanova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmanova Hotel Palma Nova
Palma Nova Hotel
Hotel Palma Nova Majorca
Hi! Palmanova Hotel Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hi! Palmanova Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.