We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap & very cheerful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hi! Palmanova Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hi! Palmanova Hotel to your Saves list
Hi! Palmanova Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Miguel de los Santos Oliver 13, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Wirral, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“cheap & very cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just spent a week at the Hi Palmanova Hotel with 3 grandchildren aged 10,12&16 not one complaint from any of them. The whole staff at this hotel were excellent from the reception to the bar staff the waiters and the cleaners whoever trained them in customer relations has done a real good job not once did we see a grumpy cleaner bar staff or waiter and there were some awkward customers. Hotel guests were mostly British with the occasional Russian and Spaniard. Food was the usual buffet style excellent choice at breakfast, lunch & dinner normally consisted of a couple of choices of meat, a fish dish, with pasta & potatoes of some sort, lots of salad and 5-6 choices of desserts.Only once in 21 meals did we think the selection was poor.The entertainment staff Rob,Sophie & Jazzy all worked extremely hard to include everyone without being pushy and kept our 3 boys happy every day, I personally didn't see the evening entertainment due to the fact the room they performed in was stiflingly hot but the boys all seemed to enjoy it.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would recommend it to any of our friends, My one and only complaint is the sunbeds the sign states no reserving but if your not there by 7am you will be left searching for a spot.I always thought this was a trait of the Teutons but not one in sight it was are fellow Brits that were marching down to the pool from 5am .and happy to brag about it.We were a little concerned with some of the reports of rowdiness but we didn't find any examples of it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    283
    173
    66
    54
See reviews for
286
274
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nicola1604
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

stayed at this hotel 6th july to the 16th july (cut our stay short on day 6) had to pay to move to a family hotel - the hotel was clean and food was ok, having 2 teenager daughters and my 10 year old son I was absolutely disgusted at the fact this hotel was suitable for families and couples but Thomas cook decided to send large groups of 18-30 - parties all night every nite, no entertainments well apart from the knacked men on balconies, no inflateables allowed in pool, no poolside music as it disturbed the locals, people arguing and fighting. I have holiday in Palma Nove for 12 yrs and have never ever had to complain but this hotel was terrible, my husband ended up paying to get us moved to the Sol Mirlos Tordos Flintstones themed hotel which was absolutely fantastic, seriously people stay away from this hotel .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Manager at Hi! Palmanova Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We were sorry to hear that your holiday was ruined by so many factors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at the palma nova from 12th-27th July. Once again had a great time. This is our 10th time over the years at this hotel and as always my wife, daughter(17) and myself thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. This is a family hotel and yes Thomas Cook did send a lot of young groups which did for the first 4 days keep us awake with them returning at 5am banging doors and shouting. However, the hotel staff definitely kept on top of the complaints and we saw a few having to be evicted due to their behaviour. As the week went on more families arrived and the hotel returned to the way we remember it. The bar, reception, entertainers and cleaning staff are all very friendly and helpful. Would we recommend this hotel, definitely and we hope to return next year as our daughter would love to celebrate her 18th at her favourite holiday resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Manager at Hi! Palmanova Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
It was with greatpleasure that we read your positive comments about the hotel and the staff. Thank you for taking the time to write this .
We look forward to seeng you all next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

After reading reviews we were a bit concerned about certain parts of this holiday such as needing to get up at 6 for a sunbed and complaints about food . But we were pleasantly surprised , I was getting up at about 7.30 to get a sun bed and finding beds still available past 8.00 ! Also the food was of good variety and always hot . The entertainment staff off Sophie , Jazzy and Rob were brilliant keeping everyone ( who could get off their sun bed ) entertained in the day with archery , shooting , table tennis , water polo etc . And in the evenings getting guests involved in various quizzes and games in heat that was hard enough to sit in let alone be on stage . The bar staff in all the hotel bars were friendly and there was never many queues .
The rooms were clean and air con worked very well , only bad point here was the lack of a hair dryer which we had to hire from reception.
The only real negative about our stay at Hi Palma Nova is the lack of air conditioning in the main bar , it was so hot !! This caused most people to sit outside making it all the more harder for the entertainers trying to entertain a half empty room of sweaty guest's

Room Tip: Ask for pool view higher is better , but only 2 lifts that are a bit slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Manager at Hi! Palmanova Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much for such positive feedback about your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife,my son and myself have just returned after a week [19th - 26th July] all-inclusive.The hotel was always clean and maids cleaned and changed towels,etc every day.Decor maybe a little dated but ample.
Food was always good ,with plenty of choice.Not sure how people in other reviews can say otherwise,there was always options of meats,fish,pasta,etc.
Sunbeds not as bad as others have made out to be,we always got a sunbed even at lunch time,however the best ones were usually snapped up around 6.30 - 7-00 am,with people leaving towels on them and sometimes not even using them until late afternoon and occasionally not at all.
We were on the 6th floor with a sea view which was really nice.Other reviews mention noise and loads of youngsters being a nuisance.We heard some noise occasionally,but nowhere near as bad as some people are making it out to be.In general there were more adults and families than youngsters,who were generally not as bad as some people make them out to be.
A great location,2 minutes walk fro the beach and not too near the more noisy part of Palma nova [Towards Magaluf],but close enough to walk to in a short time.A taxi to Magaluf was approx 5 or 6 Euros.
The entertainment throughout the day was usually quite good,although the night time was not so good,mainly aimed at small children or Karaoke,which we were not so keen on.
Overall we had a really good holiday and were able to relax when we wanted to,we went on trips and went out some nights as we like a variety,which others if they did not like the entertainment,etc could have done.We enjoyed the hotel facilities and have no complaints other than maybe the lifts were a bit slow sometimes.
We would definitely recommend this hotel,but with regards to people slating the hotel they pay for a 3* hotel yet expect 5* quality.This was a nice,clean hotel with friendly helpful staff.What more do you want ?

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony sea view on a higher floor and go all-inclusive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Manager at Hi! Palmanova Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for such positive feedback about the hotel and your hiliday.
It is good to know that you felt the standard and price of holiday were compatible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Arrived with 4 adults and 15 yr old son and 2 yr old grandaughter. On first impressions it was good.

Food was ok for a 3 star.

In our first week the hotel was full of irresponsible groups rather than familys as advertised.

Entertainment was rubbish. Through the day there was nothing for kids, no music around the pool and on a night the poor entertainment was inside in an unairconditioned room which made it impossible to sit in with temperatures of 25 to 29 degrees.

We ended up sitting outide dodging flying objects and water bombs being slung off balconies by the young groups that ruled the hotel and pool day and night

We was pleased to come home and would never recommend this hotel to anyone we know.
I do not usually write reviews but after spending £4000 for 11 nights here I feel it has to be said.

There is some dispute going down with a residential block which overlooks the hotel and the noise which means no music through day, inside entertainment on a night which has to end at 11.30pm. Not what your looking for on a family holiday.....most disappointing :-(

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Manager at Hi! Palmanova Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are sorry that your holiday was such a disappointment it is a shame that the yourger clients cannot respect the family guests and behave properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Everything was as we would have liked (except) the hotel had groups of youngsters who were loud, rude, and who would have been better suited to a young peoples only hotel, spoke to several couples who all said the same would not return because of loud swearing cheeky yobs. what a shame, because this was the only fault found.All staff aimed to please. Oh the safe cost 30euros a week with a 5euro return at end of holiday.

Room Tip: we asked for high floor,quiet room 789 no probs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Manager at Hi! Palmanova Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
It is good to know that you felt the hotel and staff were up to sterdand.
It is such a shame that we lose clientsbecause of young people respecfor others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hi! Palmanova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi! Palmanova Hotel

Address: C/ Miguel de los Santos Oliver 13, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#12 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hi! Palmanova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sensations by the sea, and a relaxing atmosphere make this hotel an excellent choice if you are looking for leisure and entertainment both during the day and in the evening. You can enjoy a marvelous holiday as a family, with your partner or with friends. Located only 250 metres from the beach next to the promenade in Palmanova. Refurbished in 2006. 210 rooms, with balcony, air-conditioning (heating/cooling), SAT TV, safe rental, bath, shower, toilet. 1 adult pool, 1 children's pool, game room, a conference room (maximum 60 pax) is available, exceptional program of children's entertainment and entertainment for adults. You can enjoy magnificent golf and water sports facilities only a few metres away. Water parks nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hi! Palmanova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmanova Hotel Palma Nova
Palma Nova Hotel
Hotel Palma Nova Majorca
Hi! Palmanova Hotel Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hi! Palmanova Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.