We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3* hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hi! Palmanova Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hi! Palmanova Hotel to your Saves list
Hi! Palmanova Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Miguel de los Santos Oliver 13, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Swansea
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good 3* hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here last July with Thomas Cook with some friends.

Arrived fairly late in the day, reception staff gave us All Inclusive wrist bands straight away and were advised to go the restaurant straight before it closed. Not being a fussy eater, I found there was a good selection of salads, cold meats and breads and hot foods, such as chicken, fish and pasta, something for everyone.

Service at the bars in the hotel was good and a good selection of drinks, wine, beer, spirits and soft drinks always available, but you were limited to ordering 3 drinks per person per visit to the bar. All drinks outside were in plastics.

Pool was very lively during the day, with lots of activities to do during the day.

Excellent location, 15-20 minute walk to Magaluf if you wanted to go there in the evening for the nightlife, with it's many bars and nightclubs. Also lots of bars and restaurants along the way, as some nights we ate out.

Also a prime spot for 18-30 so might not be ideal for some, but was not a problem was me.

Would recommend to others. All in all, was very good value!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Gerente at Hi! Palmanova Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We highly appreciate thatyou tookthe time to let us know about your impresionof your stay.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    276
    171
    65
    54
See reviews for
286
266
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked a late deal to this hotel in August, we booked a week all inclusive and had a great time.

The food was very good and plentiful, and there was always plenty of places to sit considering how busy it was. There was an excellent array of meat every night and was always nicely cooked, for example there were steaks, chicken, pork and even venison one night, a lot better than we were expecting! For any vegetarians there were still plenty of options, for exammple a vegetarian lasagna. Breakfast was what I enjoyed most, there was so much to eat, sausages, scrambled egg, beans, bacon, toast, cereal, pastries, fruit and even a coffee machine which made great cappuccinos and lattes, and in the morning a complimentary glass of champagne!

The accommodation was very good too, it was clean, spacious and had a very good view of the sea and mountains. The air conditioning was very useful and for a 3 star hotel we were really impressed.

Location was really good too, our transfer was about 20 minutes, so for anyone who gets travel sickness then this holiday is ideal, it was under a 2 hour flight, and 20 minute transfer, you can't really beat that. For things to do around the accommodation there was plenty for us, we mainly went to the beach most days which was great too. We also had a trip out to the Western Waterpark, which our rep sorted out for us, the ticket gives you a bus into the waterpark, and as it was so close to the hotel we got a taxi back which cost about €5 which was ideal, so for anyone who likes waterparks then I fully recommend this one.

Overall we had a great holiday, after reading the negative reviews we were expecting a couple of faults but we really couldn't find any. If you go here with an open mind and want to relax then you'll have a great time like we did.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiHotels, Gerente at Hi! Palmanova Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are very happy that you had a grat time in Palmanova and at our hotel.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have been to this hotel every year for about 5 years in a row, I think depending on what time of year you go depends on the type of holiday you have. I went at the beginning of July for a week , for a last minute break with my mum before heading home to get married, so I just wanted to relax but obviously taking into consideration it was the beginning of the summer holiday so would be extremely busy.
I cannot fault the hotel what so ever checked in to the hotel and allocated a bedroom which was clean and tidy, yes the walls are paper thin but that is not necessarily a complaint. The food was decent and what you would expect for a three star hotel. The entertainment did not interest me but was suitable for families.
The bad points was at 4am on the first night all you could hear were lads running up and down the corridor screaming there heads off banding doors, this continued every night of our holiday. When going for breakfast in the morning it wasn't surprising to be greeted by the stench of urine along with corridor or a person sleeping where they had collapsed the night before. During the day groups of people screaming and swearing around the pool which I didn't necessarily mind but they were at lot of children around which was defiantly not appropriate. On the third day when I go out of bed at 9am and headed to the balcony i found a couple doing things on the balcony which should be done in the privacy of the bedroom, there were kids watching this. When going to see the Thomas Cook Rep Chris ( a complete waste of space) advised magaluf was overbook so the groups booked on 18-30 holidays were allocated to our hotel, We requested to be moved to a different park of the island but this could only be done for £500 which was ridiculous. I am not complaining about the people being transferred to the hotel at the end of the day these groups had booked club 18-30 holiday and that is what they wanted and should have been getting, it was the way Thomas Cook Rep handled the situation. Chris the Thomas Cook rep was more concerned about gaining his on commission from the big clubs to get the young ones in and not bothered about the rest of the guests who did not want that type of holiday. The hotel works on all inclusive wrist bands and guests under 18 were allocated with a different color so staff knew who not to serve alcohol to, the rep was advising them to remove them to get served alcohol which was ridiculous as some of these people certainly did not need anymore alcohol!!!!!

I felt extremely sorry for the hotel as they seemed extremely disheartened with there jobs and this is a complete change from the previous years.

Room Tip: Email before you travel requesting a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Myself & my boyfriend, both 20...stayed a the Palma Nova Hotel on the 25th August for 7 nights. We arrived at the hotel at 10am however our room wasn't ready until 1pm...but were given our all Inclusive bands the moment we arrived & were allowed to put our luggage in a room behind reception, so it wasn't that bad a wait. When our room was allocated, we found we were on the top floor, floor 7 - in the very last room on the corner of the block with views of both pools, a sea view & sort of side view of the main road - fantastic room ! The room and hotel in general were very clean, the maid changed our beds every two days and replenished our towels every day. The rooms were basic but very spacious with good wardrobe space and a good sized balcony. Safety deposit boxes were 20 euros with a 10 euro deposit.
The all inclusive programme was good, even the fussiest of eaters would be able to find something - breakfast was decent with cereals, toast & fry up food. At dinner there was always a wide variety of salads, pastas, meats & nice desserts & fruit too. The only thing I think the hotel is missing on the All Inclusive is a snack bar at the pool - it can be a bit of a pain in the afternoon having to dry off to sit down in the restaurant for lunch so maybe that could be introduced. The drinks were quite good, soft drinks, a small selection of cocktails, locally branded spirits & san miguel on tap - it is a standard 3 star so don't go expecting your cocktails in a crystal glass.
The pool area was always really busy but never rowdy or too noisy - the sunbed situation is a bit of a joke and if you dont want to spend your days lying on the ground then you need to join the 7.30am sunbed dash everyday ! The location of the hotel is fantastic, literally 1 street back from the lovely beach with a selection of bars & shops along the front. Its around 15/20 minutes from Magaluf if you want to venture in - we got a taxi along some nights which cost around 4/5 euros. We didnt really participate in any hotel entertainment, during the day there was a lunchtime quiz, waterpolo & some things for kids - at night there was usually the kids mini disco then a show with bingo & quizzes some nights. The animation team seemed nice enough and didnt push anybody into taking part however I can't really comment much on the standard of entertainment as we were out most nights.
Lastly, I would just like to mention how hard the staff at the hotel worked on the second last day of our holiday when Majorca was hit with a really bad storm, due to the hotel being situated on a slight slope - the entertainment area & dining room as well as around the pool area were flooded when the thunder storm hit. The staff worked very hard clearing up the mess left from the storm & tried there best to get the dining/entertainment that evening back to some sort of normality as quickly as possible so all credit to the bar & dining staff.
Overall If you're looking for a decent 3* hotel in a good location, decent food & drinks and want good value for money then this hotel is ideal for a budget holiday :)

Room Tip: Top floor rooms facing the pool have the best views & are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pieksamaki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel rooms very clean but not so special. But pool area was very good especially for kids. Breakfast was also rich and tasty. Location was perfect and there was quiet at nights. There were good entertainment for kids and adults every night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel is very clean and the staff were all very very friendly in the reception, bars, kitchen and dinning area but the 3 people who are there to 'entertain' you are the worsed we have ever encountered at any hotel ever.
The female"entertainer" was plain rude to some people and made it quite plain she did not like kids or any one really, she strutted around and could not wait to get whatever activity finished as quick as possible!
The evening "entertainment" was inside and was told by the staff this is all year round because the hotel is in a residental area and even in October this room is very very hot, it does not have any air con in this part.
There were some nights when entertainment were brought in and on these nights it was excellent, we saw a brill Elvis tribute, a chap who sang Micheal Bubbel songs and the Sundaes who are 3 very talented and funny girls who sing like angels.
The leader of our "entertainment" team had the most incomprehensable voice I have ever encountered and was generaly disinterested in what they were supposed to be doing.
Finaly there was James, he did seem the most interested in what he was doing and did try to make things fun but without the others being in any way enthusiastic,he was fighting a losing battle, I felt a little sorry for him.

We were on the 6th floor overlooking the pool and also had a fab view of the sea as well.
The rooms were of a good size and our wardrobe had large sliding mirrored doors, very useful.
The bathroom was a good size with shower over the bath.
The safe was the old key type which is in the back of the wardrobe and cost 50 euros for the 2 weeks, which I feel is very steep, why do we have to pay for this? It annoys me every time!
We rarley saw the cleaning staff as they appeared to sort our rooms out by magic every time we were out, which was all sorts of different times of day! Fresh towels appeared every day and beds were made up or changed every day.

There are quite a lot of sunbeds but unfortunatly there are only a few of the new "sit up" types, the rest are quite uncomfortable and grubby. The pool was spotlessly clean but at this time of year a little chilly!

The food served in the dinning area is hot, tasty and there is a huge choice of foods, always plenty of salads, chips, 3 meats,veg, pastas and at least 1 fish dish and another potatoe dish, desserts are lots of cakes, fresh fruit, yogarts,ice creams, some times there is even rice pudding!!! Red / white wine and water is available for All inclusive guests at lunch and dinner to help yourself to, for anything else you need to go to the pool bar in the day or after 6pm the main bar.


On the whole this hotel is lovely, very close to the beach in a nice quiet area just behind the Golf Fantasia (large mini golf place), the shops bars and resturaunts are within very easy reach and it is approx 30 mins to walk to Magaluf, if you are going to be entertained then do not go here.

There should be a good rating because it is better than average but not very good.

Dont be put off by others who say it is rubbish as it is certainly not, it has people returning year after year, we talked to some who have been returning 12 years running, 8 years running and loads who have been there for the last few years.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.helens , England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have stayed at the 'palmaNova' at the same time last year (Oct 20>27).It hasn't changed, and i mean that in a good way.
It's a spacious clean hotel with a great location.The beach is 3 mins away (Out of the rear gate entrance by the pool.Keep the very lovely 'Crazy golf' on your right hand side and it will lead to the main strip/street.)Magaluf is a 30min stroll heading right.
Lots of Bars,shops and pubs along the way.
The beach itself is nice and clean and great for young families.
The hotel is a good size with great entertainment on throughout the day.Normally starting at 10.30 with a game then almost every hour or so, breaking for a quiz at 12.30.Games consist of Archery,Pistol shooting,Air rifle shooting,crazy golf, Hoopla,Giant Connect4, Shuffle board,killer darts/pool and many more.GET INVOLVED, its great fun and YOUR ON YOUR HOLIDAYS :-)
The food is good with plenty of choice for breakfast (Self service full English if req)
Lunch and Evening meals are fab with lots of choice (inc red/white wine on tap).
Hard working waiters man the tables and the bar staff are efficient.
The maid visited every day and made the beds.
There is some sort of entertainment on every night, some night better than others. Kiddies disco at about 8.30 and possibly a quiz of some kind.There are some decent acts/singers.We enjoyed The Michael Buble tribute act and 'The Sundaes' were superb.Great singers with a twist of comedy.
All in all a good break.
Good points:-
Great location
Clean
Short transfer from Airport (25mins)
Good value for money
Food (7/10)
Drinks (7/10) San Miguel on draught,Spirits ... so so. Wine ok.
Entertainment (day & night)

Bad points:-
Obstructed view in lounge for stage.
Pool not big enough for the amount of guests it will have in summer.
Paying for Wi-fi
Lifts, creaky

TIPS:-
You can pick up a 'Wi-Fi' signal if you sit in the main Reception,or in the dining area (front left)
other than that its payable (5 euros a day) or 15e for the week.So you can get it in your room or by the pool.
Well Thats it.This Hotel is 3* and you get what you see.
It is good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hi! Palmanova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi! Palmanova Hotel

Address: C/ Miguel de los Santos Oliver 13, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#11 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hi! Palmanova Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sensations by the sea, and a relaxing atmosphere make this hotel an excellent choice if you are looking for leisure and entertainment both during the day and in the evening. You can enjoy a marvelous holiday as a family, with your partner or with friends. Located only 250 metres from the beach next to the promenade in Palmanova. Refurbished in 2006. 210 rooms, with balcony, air-conditioning (heating/cooling), SAT TV, safe rental, bath, shower, toilet. 1 adult pool, 1 children's pool, game room, a conference room (maximum 60 pax) is available, exceptional program of children's entertainment and entertainment for adults. You can enjoy magnificent golf and water sports facilities only a few metres away. Water parks nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hi! Palmanova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmanova Hotel Palma Nova
Palma Nova Hotel
Hotel Palma Nova Majorca
Hi! Palmanova Hotel Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hi! Palmanova Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.