We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertainment!!! what entertainment?????” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hi! Palmanova Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hi! Palmanova Hotel to your Saves list
Hi! Palmanova Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Miguel de los Santos Oliver 13, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Entertainment!!! what entertainment?????”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel is very clean and the staff were all very very friendly in the reception, bars, kitchen and dinning area but the 3 people who are there to 'entertain' you are the worsed we have ever encountered at any hotel ever.
The female"entertainer" was plain rude to some people and made it quite plain she did not like kids or any one really, she strutted around and could not wait to get whatever activity finished as quick as possible!
The evening "entertainment" was inside and was told by the staff this is all year round because the hotel is in a residental area and even in October this room is very very hot, it does not have any air con in this part.
There were some nights when entertainment were brought in and on these nights it was excellent, we saw a brill Elvis tribute, a chap who sang Micheal Bubbel songs and the Sundaes who are 3 very talented and funny girls who sing like angels.
The leader of our "entertainment" team had the most incomprehensable voice I have ever encountered and was generaly disinterested in what they were supposed to be doing.
Finaly there was James, he did seem the most interested in what he was doing and did try to make things fun but without the others being in any way enthusiastic,he was fighting a losing battle, I felt a little sorry for him.

We were on the 6th floor overlooking the pool and also had a fab view of the sea as well.
The rooms were of a good size and our wardrobe had large sliding mirrored doors, very useful.
The bathroom was a good size with shower over the bath.
The safe was the old key type which is in the back of the wardrobe and cost 50 euros for the 2 weeks, which I feel is very steep, why do we have to pay for this? It annoys me every time!
We rarley saw the cleaning staff as they appeared to sort our rooms out by magic every time we were out, which was all sorts of different times of day! Fresh towels appeared every day and beds were made up or changed every day.

There are quite a lot of sunbeds but unfortunatly there are only a few of the new "sit up" types, the rest are quite uncomfortable and grubby. The pool was spotlessly clean but at this time of year a little chilly!

The food served in the dinning area is hot, tasty and there is a huge choice of foods, always plenty of salads, chips, 3 meats,veg, pastas and at least 1 fish dish and another potatoe dish, desserts are lots of cakes, fresh fruit, yogarts,ice creams, some times there is even rice pudding!!! Red / white wine and water is available for All inclusive guests at lunch and dinner to help yourself to, for anything else you need to go to the pool bar in the day or after 6pm the main bar.


On the whole this hotel is lovely, very close to the beach in a nice quiet area just behind the Golf Fantasia (large mini golf place), the shops bars and resturaunts are within very easy reach and it is approx 30 mins to walk to Magaluf, if you are going to be entertained then do not go here.

There should be a good rating because it is better than average but not very good.

Dont be put off by others who say it is rubbish as it is certainly not, it has people returning year after year, we talked to some who have been returning 12 years running, 8 years running and loads who have been there for the last few years.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    282
    173
    66
    54
See reviews for
286
274
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St.helens , England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have stayed at the 'palmaNova' at the same time last year (Oct 20>27).It hasn't changed, and i mean that in a good way.
It's a spacious clean hotel with a great location.The beach is 3 mins away (Out of the rear gate entrance by the pool.Keep the very lovely 'Crazy golf' on your right hand side and it will lead to the main strip/street.)Magaluf is a 30min stroll heading right.
Lots of Bars,shops and pubs along the way.
The beach itself is nice and clean and great for young families.
The hotel is a good size with great entertainment on throughout the day.Normally starting at 10.30 with a game then almost every hour or so, breaking for a quiz at 12.30.Games consist of Archery,Pistol shooting,Air rifle shooting,crazy golf, Hoopla,Giant Connect4, Shuffle board,killer darts/pool and many more.GET INVOLVED, its great fun and YOUR ON YOUR HOLIDAYS :-)
The food is good with plenty of choice for breakfast (Self service full English if req)
Lunch and Evening meals are fab with lots of choice (inc red/white wine on tap).
Hard working waiters man the tables and the bar staff are efficient.
The maid visited every day and made the beds.
There is some sort of entertainment on every night, some night better than others. Kiddies disco at about 8.30 and possibly a quiz of some kind.There are some decent acts/singers.We enjoyed The Michael Buble tribute act and 'The Sundaes' were superb.Great singers with a twist of comedy.
All in all a good break.
Good points:-
Great location
Clean
Short transfer from Airport (25mins)
Good value for money
Food (7/10)
Drinks (7/10) San Miguel on draught,Spirits ... so so. Wine ok.
Entertainment (day & night)

Bad points:-
Obstructed view in lounge for stage.
Pool not big enough for the amount of guests it will have in summer.
Paying for Wi-fi
Lifts, creaky

TIPS:-
You can pick up a 'Wi-Fi' signal if you sit in the main Reception,or in the dining area (front left)
other than that its payable (5 euros a day) or 15e for the week.So you can get it in your room or by the pool.
Well Thats it.This Hotel is 3* and you get what you see.
It is good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Palmanova for 4 days half board. Hotel was very well presented and in a great location (just a few minutes to the beach if you go out the gate by the pool). First downside for me was the location of our room. Our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking a grubby block of flats but i have to say that we were not bothered from noise so that was a positive. Room was cleaned daily and fresh towels left. My second downside was the quality of the food, it was always quite cold and tasteless and unfortunately i felt it let the hotel down a bit. In saying that we had a lovely break and for a 3 star hotel it is worth a stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Having been to the Hi Gardenia Park, we thought we would try a Hi hotel in Majorca. We booked the Mimosa but ended up being moved here. It's the same story, people paying 3* prices and moaning they want 5*. This was an all inc week for relaxation in the last week of the season, and we got what we wanted. Food was ok and similar to the gardenia. What was missing was gravy and the tomato sauce for the pasta. Not a bad choice overall. Veal was the best and even steak & kidney pie 1 night. Drinks were the usual, white & red wine on tap with meals, nice. Beer & spirits from the bar till midnight. Rooms a bit noisy and beds were firm, cleaned every day and all the staff were friendly and helpfull. Entertainment was cheesy fun, overall good value all inclusive hotel with a nice sun terrace.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel on 2 previous occasions we thought we knew what to expect but i`m afraid to say that this is likely to be our last visit. I realise that the closer to the end of the season your visit is, there is less likelihood of a wider choice of food but I must say it was of a far lesser standard than usual.I`d also suggest that the management try upping their prices to attract a different class of customer too as we have never stayed in the hotel at such a quiet time of the season with so many drunken Clampetts. As we were travelling with my young son, I even had to get out of bed and bang on the door of the next room to stop some drunken dragon from singing at the top of her voice and just to confirm their stupidity they had a member of staff banging on their door the following night !!

On a positive note, the staff as always were very friendly and most helpful and cleanliness was of the usual high standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

just returned 26th oct. hotel lovely and clean,staff very friendly and helpful.we were all inclusive and the choice of food was plentiful, towels in our room changed twice and room cleaned every day. the only thing i would say is the tvs could do with updating as we had sky news on and it kept bre aking up. a small fridge in the room would have been a bonus,but overall we were very impressed with this hotel

Room Tip: choose a room that overlooks the pool as ours faced the road we didnt get any sun and it was quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benalmadena
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

the good points first-----very clean, most staff very good, thats it !!!!!

now the not so good, we had a late flight, and as we were half board, not all inc, i telephone to as for snacks in our room, told " not a problem"
upon arrival we were told our snacks were in the bar ! we left our cases in reception and made our way to the bar,( not hard to find, just follow the horrendously loud musice) two small warm ham and cheese sandwiches wraped in cling film wow !! i then had to que in line and shout to order our drinks, served in plastic containers, coffee in polystyrene cups, when i complained, they stated that all inclusive guests were served this way, i told the bar man i was not all inclusive and we were then given cups and real glasses for our drinks.
due to this, the noise and kids running around, we never drank in the hotel again for the rest of the week.
our room was overlooking the main road with lot of traffice noise, we were on the 5th floor and could hear the noise from the bar untill about midnight, not good, the next morning we requested a different room, and were told it would take 2 days, it took three!! it was cleen but the walls are so thin you could just about hear next door folding their news papers pages !!!!!

as for the dinning room, the only time we had hot food was first day, we went to dinning room soon as doors opened, if you went in 15 mins after that, you only got warm food, this was every meal, every day, even the plate warmers were cold. and it was chips with every thing, very boring menu.as we live on main land spain, we were shocked at how expensive palmanova was, prices ranged from 2.50 to 4.75 euros a pint, and in one lounge bar i paid 11.70 euros for two vodka and cokes, and the coke came out of a pump, not a bottle !!!!!
a pint of carling on the beach was 4.25 euros, in my local on main land i pay 2,50 euro a pint and 1. 30 a bottle of local beer, and we have some bars selling sn miguel for 1.50 euros a pint.
a taxi from the airport was 42.00 euros, for our return trip it was, after a haggle, 31.00 euro for same distance, ask before you ride !!!!!!

Room Tip: request a pool or sea view to get away from traffice noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hi! Palmanova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi! Palmanova Hotel

Address: C/ Miguel de los Santos Oliver 13, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#12 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hi! Palmanova Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sensations by the sea, and a relaxing atmosphere make this hotel an excellent choice if you are looking for leisure and entertainment both during the day and in the evening. You can enjoy a marvelous holiday as a family, with your partner or with friends. Located only 250 metres from the beach next to the promenade in Palmanova. Refurbished in 2006. 210 rooms, with balcony, air-conditioning (heating/cooling), SAT TV, safe rental, bath, shower, toilet. 1 adult pool, 1 children's pool, game room, a conference room (maximum 60 pax) is available, exceptional program of children's entertainment and entertainment for adults. You can enjoy magnificent golf and water sports facilities only a few metres away. Water parks nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hi! Palmanova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmanova Hotel Palma Nova
Palma Nova Hotel
Hotel Palma Nova Majorca
Hi! Palmanova Hotel Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hi! Palmanova Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.