We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“october break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hi! Palmanova Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hi! Palmanova Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hi! Palmanova Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Miguel de los Santos Oliver 13, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“october break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Palmanova for 4 days half board. Hotel was very well presented and in a great location (just a few minutes to the beach if you go out the gate by the pool). First downside for me was the location of our room. Our room was at the front of the hotel overlooking a grubby block of flats but i have to say that we were not bothered from noise so that was a positive. Room was cleaned daily and fresh towels left. My second downside was the quality of the food, it was always quite cold and tasteless and unfortunately i felt it let the hotel down a bit. In saying that we had a lovely break and for a 3 star hotel it is worth a stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    249
    160
    61
    54
See reviews for
259
245
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Having been to the Hi Gardenia Park, we thought we would try a Hi hotel in Majorca. We booked the Mimosa but ended up being moved here. It's the same story, people paying 3* prices and moaning they want 5*. This was an all inc week for relaxation in the last week of the season, and we got what we wanted. Food was ok and similar to the gardenia. What was missing was gravy and the tomato sauce for the pasta. Not a bad choice overall. Veal was the best and even steak & kidney pie 1 night. Drinks were the usual, white & red wine on tap with meals, nice. Beer & spirits from the bar till midnight. Rooms a bit noisy and beds were firm, cleaned every day and all the staff were friendly and helpfull. Entertainment was cheesy fun, overall good value all inclusive hotel with a nice sun terrace.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel on 2 previous occasions we thought we knew what to expect but i`m afraid to say that this is likely to be our last visit. I realise that the closer to the end of the season your visit is, there is less likelihood of a wider choice of food but I must say it was of a far lesser standard than usual.I`d also suggest that the management try upping their prices to attract a different class of customer too as we have never stayed in the hotel at such a quiet time of the season with so many drunken Clampetts. As we were travelling with my young son, I even had to get out of bed and bang on the door of the next room to stop some drunken dragon from singing at the top of her voice and just to confirm their stupidity they had a member of staff banging on their door the following night !!

On a positive note, the staff as always were very friendly and most helpful and cleanliness was of the usual high standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

just returned 26th oct. hotel lovely and clean,staff very friendly and helpful.we were all inclusive and the choice of food was plentiful, towels in our room changed twice and room cleaned every day. the only thing i would say is the tvs could do with updating as we had sky news on and it kept bre aking up. a small fridge in the room would have been a bonus,but overall we were very impressed with this hotel

Room Tip: choose a room that overlooks the pool as ours faced the road we didnt get any sun and it was quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benalmadena
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

the good points first-----very clean, most staff very good, thats it !!!!!

now the not so good, we had a late flight, and as we were half board, not all inc, i telephone to as for snacks in our room, told " not a problem"
upon arrival we were told our snacks were in the bar ! we left our cases in reception and made our way to the bar,( not hard to find, just follow the horrendously loud musice) two small warm ham and cheese sandwiches wraped in cling film wow !! i then had to que in line and shout to order our drinks, served in plastic containers, coffee in polystyrene cups, when i complained, they stated that all inclusive guests were served this way, i told the bar man i was not all inclusive and we were then given cups and real glasses for our drinks.
due to this, the noise and kids running around, we never drank in the hotel again for the rest of the week.
our room was overlooking the main road with lot of traffice noise, we were on the 5th floor and could hear the noise from the bar untill about midnight, not good, the next morning we requested a different room, and were told it would take 2 days, it took three!! it was cleen but the walls are so thin you could just about hear next door folding their news papers pages !!!!!

as for the dinning room, the only time we had hot food was first day, we went to dinning room soon as doors opened, if you went in 15 mins after that, you only got warm food, this was every meal, every day, even the plate warmers were cold. and it was chips with every thing, very boring menu.as we live on main land spain, we were shocked at how expensive palmanova was, prices ranged from 2.50 to 4.75 euros a pint, and in one lounge bar i paid 11.70 euros for two vodka and cokes, and the coke came out of a pump, not a bottle !!!!!
a pint of carling on the beach was 4.25 euros, in my local on main land i pay 2,50 euro a pint and 1. 30 a bottle of local beer, and we have some bars selling sn miguel for 1.50 euros a pint.
a taxi from the airport was 42.00 euros, for our return trip it was, after a haggle, 31.00 euro for same distance, ask before you ride !!!!!!

Room Tip: request a pool or sea view to get away from traffice noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dewsburyYorkshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We usually stay at sister hotel the Mimosa,but it was full, Came back 23rd Oct after 10nights stay. !st impession mm looks okay. We emailed for low floor pool view, thats what wegot. The roomwas clean and spacious. Maids did goodjob,sheets changed twice and towels every day.The bar staff were very nice and jolly,There was no entertainmrnt as such, odd games and 2 singers, No Bingo, Much better at Mimosa. The entertainment roomwas a very funny shape with pillars, so if you wanted to see "shows" you couldnt at the back. Now the Resturant, our first few days the food was cold, plates cold. We all filled in forms then hey presto we got warm plates and he food was warmer. We had 3 complaints--!st was no Prridge for brekkie--"2nd No brown sauce--3rd NO GRAVY sowhat do you have with dry pie! and Mash ! I asked manager and he said Gravy is only on Carvert nights. We had all these 3 things in the MimosaPark, which is run by same company! They were also slow to fill food up when empiy, god help them in peak season.Fruit was limited and what was there was Rockhard, kept a nesturine in drawer for 2days to ripen! The sun bed rush was a laugh, some out at 7-30 when just coming light. Then some left all day with towels on until 3pm. The toasties in the snax was my highlite as i had them every day. Hotelnear to beach if you go out of gates, but they close at 11pm so then on a night you have a long walk round, and it is very quiet and scary, so only went out 2twice. Dont know if we will stay here again, we like the location of Mimosa better, nearer to Magaluf.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms were warmer has the sun most of day in Autumn
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Just back from our 4th year at the Palmanova hotel. Yes it's true there was a bug but it was all over the resort and sometimes these things can't be helped.
As usual we all had a great time made even better by the fact that many regulars are there every May and October.
For the 4th year running there was a good choice of food every day. Never disappointed.
The rooms were cleaned every day but the sheets every 3 days. This is ok considering you DON'T change your sheets at home EVERYDAY!!!!!!!!!
Rob, James and Natalie done a great job with all the kids and Mark "Elvis" Nixon was the greatest!
This is a 3* star, friendly hotel and only a 2 minute walk to the beach, bars and restaurants.
If you are lucky enough to end up in Palmanova you can't miss Thursday night at the local Sunset bar where "Big Jos" does a tribute to Niel Diamond.
We are already booked for next May and October.
See you soon Palmanova Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hi! Palmanova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi! Palmanova Hotel

Address: C/ Miguel de los Santos Oliver 13, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#12 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hi! Palmanova Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sensations by the sea, and a relaxing atmosphere make this hotel an excellent choice if you are looking for leisure and entertainment both during the day and in the evening. You can enjoy a marvelous holiday as a family, with your partner or with friends. Located only 250 metres from the beach next to the promenade in Palmanova. Refurbished in 2006. 210 rooms, with balcony, air-conditioning (heating/cooling), SAT TV, safe rental, bath, shower, toilet. 1 adult pool, 1 children's pool, game room, a conference room (maximum 60 pax) is available, exceptional program of children's entertainment and entertainment for adults. You can enjoy magnificent golf and water sports facilities only a few metres away. Water parks nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Fastbooking and Otel so you can book your Hi! Palmanova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmanova Hotel Palma Nova
Palma Nova Hotel
Hotel Palma Nova Majorca
Hi! Palmanova Hotel Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hi! Palmanova Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.