We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fergus Tobago

Save Saved
You added Fergus Tobago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fergus Tobago
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Martin Ros Garcia 1 | 1 Urb. Torrenova, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Hotel d'Or Tobago)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“PERFECT STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have just returned from a three night stay at the Fergus Tobago,
All though Magaluf has all closed down for the winter the hotel was still open.

The hotel was great the location at the end of the strip was perfect.

When I arrived at the hotel I was greeted by friendly reception staff with a great smile, so first expectations met
The room I had was on the 3rd floor and was very clean and overlooking the sea, The room was cleaned everyday and the whole hotel
Was kept very clean at all times.

The Restaurant opened for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner, the food quality was great with plenty of choice at all meals.
To say that Magaluf was basically closed and not too many people around the hotel had entertainment in the evening, Probably not on the scale as summer
But still it had something.

In general this hotel is a good 3 star hotel and I think that this is important to remember, its not 4 star and doesn’t pretend to be 4 star.
All the staff are friendly and the hotel is good for families couples and groups.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A L, Manager at Fergus Tobago, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear apjnnp,

We are delighted to read your review, especially to see that you describe your stay with us at Hotel Fergus Tobago as "perfect". We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay, even in low season when limited amount of activities are on offer in the resort of Magalluf.
A big thank you on behalf of all our staff, from reception to housekeeping, for your kind words and compliments.

Hoping to see you again next year, and sending you our very best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    73
    41
    27
    30
See reviews for
34
65
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

After reading the reviews on this hotel, we decided to go ahead and book as we've read negative reviews about hotels before and had a good experience regardless. The staff were friendly, and helpful, the hotel very dated, the area was good and the beach was literally 2 mins walk which was fab.
I am not usually a negative reviewer as I have given 4 other reviews, but this time I feel I have no choice!
The day we arrived, there was a bad storm and our balcony doors leaked a lot of water, so did the room next door where our sons were staying. As we sat in the bar, there was water coming thru the ceiling and they had to section it off covering it with blankets! Also one of the guests had his roof collapse in his room whilst he was in the bathroom! When he told reception, they shrugged and said that it was a storm and couldn't be helped!
We could hear our sons talking at night, as the walls are thin but luckily there was no-one next to them or us on the other side.
If you are looking for a hotel for an elderly couple/group, then this hotel is fine. The entertainment is bingo or ballroom type dancing. We went across the road one night for the entertainment there. But most of the bars were closed for the season as we were October/November. The age at this hotel ranged from about 60-90 years, we had the only children at 14 & 18 years!
There was a lot of elderly Spanish people there and we found them to be rather rude. They were pushing in at meal times, and the day we had calamani, 3 ladies in front of me decided to pile their plate up with this alone so when I got there, I had 2 small pieces!
Moving onto the food, they had a microwave available which was handy as the food wasn't too hot.
Also whilst on the food, we have stayed at other 3* hotels in spain and we found there to be plenty of choice but here, there was a lot of fish and usually 2 dishes of meat, mostly chicken. We had potatoes one day and chips the rest. We were there for 4 days. One dinner, we had kidney slices, the leftover kidney was cut into small pieces and put with chicken for the evening meal! Other leftovers were spotted in other dishes too! We had dicky tummy's 2 evenings! There wasn't a good choice of desserts either. And sorry to go on, but the glasses and plates frequently hadn't been washed properly.
Rooms were clean but both me and my husband have both come home with bad backs due to the horrible old springy mattresses. We have stayed in hotels that have the foam mattress, which are cheap but comfortable.
So I'm not pleased to say that this hotel was disappointing to say the least. It was a good bargain price but you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A L, Manager at Fergus Tobago, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Les W,

We regret to see that you found your experience with us disappointing, and would like to offer our sincere apologies. It is indeed unfortunate that during your stay there was a storm of very large proportions, which caused floods and major damage throughout the whole island of Mallorca. However, we do feel quite lucky that we only suffered minor problems, which we did our best to resolve as quickly as we could.
We also must acknowledge that during the months of October/November the resort of Magalluf is at low season, therefore we understand your disappointment by the lack of activities as many bars, restaurants and bussinesses had closed down for the winter.

Please accept our kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have stayed at the Tobago a number of times and we can honestly say it gives great value for money The rooms are clean and spacious and all the staff are very helpful and friendly It is in an excellent location and the pool area as plenty of sunbeds but could do with a few more brollies highly recommended

Room Tip: great views from higher rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A L, Manager at Fergus Tobago, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear kenWolverhampton,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay, we are delighted to hear that you have visited many times in the past and still choose to return to us, and that each time our staff has made you feel welcome and has contributed to the quality of your vacation!

Until your next visit, we pass on our kindest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANCASHIRE
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is amazing, it is probably one of the best hotels ever!

After staying at Fergus Tobago back in June, we decided to come back to visit again in October, as usual the hotel was fantastic, can't say one fault to it! The rooms are spacious, bathrooms are decent, the outdoor area is nice and quiet and the food is pretty much the same each day, but there is plenty to choose from and it tastes lovely! The hotel is only seconds away from the beach and Magaluf strip is only about a 2 min walk from the hotel (cannot hear noise at night).

The hotel staff are great, always smiling and happy to help out and always greet you as you enter the room.

Big shout out to; Jose the manager, Said the security man, Luis and Dani on reception, Juan and Kristoffer the barmen, Goncalo the entertainer and the rest of the Tobago staff!

from - Shauna, Shani and Amy! (Literally only just returned home today!)

Room Tip: All rooms are great, and look the same unless your in a ground floor which is smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A L, Manager at Fergus Tobago, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Shani Shauna and Amy,

It is wonderful to hear that you had a fantastic time with us during both of your visits this year, and we certainly hope you return to us again next year! I would also like to personally take this opportunity to thank you for the special mention of myself, and on behalf of all the staff, they would like to extend their gratitude and kindest regards!

We all look forward to seeing you again! Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hexham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Ideal hotel for relaxing, staff from all areas reception through to maintenance friendly and helpful
all week. There for our 24th wedding anniversary and could not have asked for much more than good food more than enough choice. Drink was as normal but this time any drink not on inclusive list was half price.
ideal for those who like a beach or pool side holiday as the beach was all of 40 paces from the exit of the pool . then two more beaches within easy distance (flat walk too).
Suitable for those who like to chill or to party as the hotel was quiet but 200 yards up the road is magaluf strip say no more. (went twice.)
Was waiting for Bruce Forsyth to turn up on the first two night as it seemed to be the French equivalent to strictly come dancing but they seemed to enjoy it.

Room Tip: as near to the ground floor as possible only for lift purposes as they are slow and limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A L, Manager at Fergus Tobago, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear TREE4467,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Fergus Tobago as your accomodation in celebrating your 24th wedding anniversary. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time during such a special occasion, and your kind words regarding our staff being friendly and helpful are much appreciated.

Until next time, our kindest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The food was ok plenty of choice. Staff friendly and helpful. Room cleaned daily. all inclusive 11am to 11pm. I think some people want 5 star treatment for 3 star prices, it was fine. Would go back again. We loved the cat that sleeps outside the front of the hotel ( for the last 17 years! )We stayed from Sept 28th to Oct 5th room 403.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A L, Manager at Fergus Tobago, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Debbie S,

Thank you very much for writing about your experience with us at Hotel Fergus Tobago, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us as a good holiday location.
In addition, we are delighted at your mention of Mosh the cat, he has certainly been a permanent fixture with us for many many years, and has by now achieved quite a large fan base!

We hope you return to us again soon, best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts Derby
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here 28th Sept to 5th Oct, Good all round, cant see why people can find so much to fault, there is no perfect hotel, and when they moan about the food served they should remember they have just travelled over a thousand miles, they might find things are done a little different !

All staff pleasant, room clean and serviced every day, food good for me, loads of choice and plenty of it. Beer was good, hot drinks the same, shorts dont do it for me but i saw plenty of others making the most of them.

Had a problem with the toilet flush, fixed in minutes of reporting.
There was a couple moaning all week but i think they were just mad that they paid loads more money out than other people and they did not get all inclusve.

Stay again, YES, Come on be realistic and stop picking fault.

Room Tip: Give it a go and dont believe all the scare stories, if it was that bad they wouldnt be open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A L, Manager at Fergus Tobago, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear AMT65993,

We are delighted to receive your review, it is wonderful to hear we were successful at contributing to your vacation in being so enjoyable. We would also like to extend our gratitude for your comments about our staff's efficiency in fast problem solving, and we would love to receive you again in the future!

The Best of Wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fergus Tobago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fergus Tobago

Address: Martin Ros Garcia 1 | 1 Urb. Torrenova, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Hotel d'Or Tobago)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 38 hotels in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fergus Tobago 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fergus Tobago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Or Tobago
d Or Tobago Hotel
Hotel Tobago Palma Nova
Fergus Tobago Palmanova, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fergus Tobago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.